Lauren P. (lvp) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Anne of Green Gables
Anne of Green Gables
Author: L. M. Montgomery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 333
Review Date: 2/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very good read. I would recommend it for ages 13 and up. Just because this book has somewhat of an older style writing.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 3/2/2011


I started this book many years ago when I was younger and didn't find it very interesting then... It might be because I'm not a big fantasy/scifi reader. I did find it interesting though that the code on the cover can b decoded, and that by doing this the reader can decipher the code at the bottom of the pages throughout the book.


Big Red
Big Red
Author: Jim Kjelgaard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/6/2011


I thought this book to be just ok. It's a sweet book about a boy and his dog. I would recommend it if you enjoyed "Lassie", "Old Yeller",or "Where the Red Fern Grows".


Black Beauty
Black Beauty
Author: Anna Sewell, Betty Evans (Adapter), Audrey Daly (Adapter), John Berry (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/6/2011


This children's book is sweet. It is from the perspective of a horse and all he goes through from the beginning of life to the end. At times it can be a tear jerker.


Born of Illusion
Born of Illusion
Author: Teri Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/6/2013
Helpful Score: 2


When I saw "Born Of Illusion" online I had to have it. This book seemed right up my alley, equal parts paranormal and historical romance, but I couldn't have been more wrong. I found myself trying to finish this book just to get it over with. The plot of this story bad great promise, I just believe it could have been executed a little better. This book actually reminds me of how "Miss Peregrine's Home for Imaginary Friends" was written. It was painfully slow with so little information that dragged on and on until the last quarter of the book.

Anna is a good character, but she strings two men along and never decides, many of the characters are never fully developed, secrets about the Society Of Paranormal Research are never revealed, and it becomes quite predictable towards the end. I don't know if I'm just growing out of teen novels or I've just had bad luck with the last few I've read, but frankly if this is the future of teen fiction I'm a little worried.


The Boyfriend List (Ruby Oliver, Bk 1)
The Boyfriend List (Ruby Oliver, Bk 1)
Author: E. Lockhart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 2/6/2011


I really enjoyed this book. Its a good teen or beach read and it was quick and kept my attention.


A Bride in the Bargain
A Bride in the Bargain
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/19/2011


I absolutely adore this book and I think I've found a new favorite author! Lately with the books I've been reading I've had trouble getting into them... They didn't keep my interest or the words just didn't flow. This book however was the complete opposite. I found myself reading one hundred pages at a time without taking a single break and I was really drawn into the story and It's characters. I have to admit Anna made me a little annoyed at times, but that's part of what kept me reading. I wanted to know if she came to her senses.
This book is a picture of a true historical romance novel. I would even go as far as to say it's reminiscent of Gone With the Wind.


A Bride in the Bargain
A Bride in the Bargain
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 5/2/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I absolutely adore this book and I think I've found a new favorite author! Lately with the books I've been reading I've had trouble getting into them... They didn't keep my interest or the words just didn't flow. This book however was the complete opposite. I found myself reading one hundred pages at a time without taking a single break and I was really drawn into the story and It's characters. I have to admit Anna made me a little annoyed at times, but that's part of what kept me reading. I wanted to know if she came to her senses.
This book is a picture of a true historical romance novel. I would even go as far as to say it's reminiscent of Gone With the Wind.


Chopsticks
Chopsticks
Author: Jessica Anthony
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Just so readers are aware, this book states that it's a novel, but in reality it's a YA picture book. I was skeptical at first when I picked this book up at a local bargain outlet. I was thinking to myself, "What a cool concept, a romance novel shown in pictures, but do I really want to pay for a picture book?". I set the book down, not two weeks later I was buying the same book for twice as much online. Regretting that I didn't buy the book when I had the chance.

This book was actually amazing. It takes longer to "read" than I would have expected. I found that I was examining every photo and illustration to get more information about the modern romance of Gloria, a piano prodigy under the thumb of her overprotective father and Francisco, the son of a well known wine maker.


Cloud Dancer
Cloud Dancer
Author: P. A. Bechko, Peggy Bechko
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/25/2011


"I got this book when I was about 12. Not knowing that is was a Harlequin... The cover was just plain purple with a mountain picture. The back cover description seemed innocent enough, it didn't even say it was a Harlequin. Very adult sex and very explicit!"


Criss Cross
Criss Cross
Author: Lynne Rae Perkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/12/2011


"When I read this book I thought it was a good read, but for some reason I ended up reading it twice and asking myself "have I seen this movie or read this before?". I had a complete blank on this book and to this day I can only remember slight parts. This book may have gotten an award, but for some reason it left no impression on me what so ever..."


Criss Cross
Criss Cross
Author: Lynne Rae Perkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/6/2011


When I read this book I thought it was a good read, but for some reason I ended up reading it twice and asking myself "have I seen this movie?". I had a complete blank on this book and to this day I can only remember slight parts. This book may have gotten an award, but for some reason it left no impression on me what so ever...


Daily Groove A Big, Fat, Scary Devotional
Daily Groove A Big, Fat, Scary Devotional
Author: Scott Mauck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/6/2011


This book is a cool devotional for teens, teen guys I must add. I ordered this for myself thinking it was for both guys and girls, but when I started reading the little stories they were all about how to deal with girls and your bros,even the genre section in the copyright said christian prayer/teenage boys/devotionals.

I got bored with it and put it back on PBS quickly just because I couldn't relate, but if you are ordering this for yourself, a son, grandson, etc. this would a great devotional for you or him.


Flipped
Flipped
Author: Wendelin Van Draanen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 6/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't wait to write a review about half way through this book stating how much I was annoyed with it and it's alternating chapters. After I got into the story however, I realized how much it was really needed. The different points of view really made me realize how much people are different and how much I was just like Juli when it came to being googley eyed over a boy and maybe just how annoyed he got with me. It really is a cute and very real book.


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 2/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book. I even explained some of the parts to my fiance and he agreed that they are very true about men. It truly gave me an insight into men's minds and hearts and helped to make our relationship stronger.


For Young Women Only: What You Need to Know About How Guys Think
Review Date: 2/6/2011


I read this book a few years ago, before I was engaged and I really liked this book. I would recommend it to any young woman who just doesn't understand that "crush" or best guy friend. I loved it so much I've recently read For Women Only.


Freaks: Alive, on the Inside!
Freaks: Alive, on the Inside!
Author: Annette Curtis Klause
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/25/2011


I really liked this book. It was an above average novel about love, adventure, mystery, and the circus. I liked the historical aspect of it and it's definitely one of my favorite books by Annette Curtis Klause. I favor it over The Silver Kiss, which I also put on pbs, and to be honest I'm a little sad I gave them up...


Ghost Hunt: Chilling Tales of the Search for the Unseen
Review Date: 7/28/2011


I saw this book in the YA section at my library and I was really excited. I had no idea the TAPS team had written a series of books (three for tweens and two for adults) and I love the show Ghost Hunters. This book (one of the tween series) was ok. It was written for the younger crowd and you can tell. The stories aren't very scary and though Grant and Jason (founders of the TAPS team) were represented in each ghost story they weren't very believable, I found them kind of childish.

I would recommend this book for children or young teenagers. For more mature and scary stories try reading "Seeking Spirits" or "Ghost Hunting".


Ghost Hunt: Chilling Tales of the Unknown
Ghost Hunt: Chilling Tales of the Unknown
Author: Jason Hawes, Grant Wilson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/28/2011


I saw this book in the YA section at my library and I was really excited. I had no idea the TAPS team had written a series of books (three for tweens and two for adults) and I love the show Ghost Hunters. This book (one of the tween series) was ok. It was written for the younger crowd and you can tell. The stories aren't very scary and though Grant and Jason (founders of the TAPS team) were represented in each ghost story they weren't very believable, I found them kind of childish.

I would recommend this book for children or young teenagers. For more mature and scary stories try reading "Seeking Spirits" or "Ghost Hunting".


He's Just Not That into You: The No-Excuses Truth to Understanding Guys
Review Date: 4/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


When I first saw this book on pbs I was excited, I love self help books dealing with relationships, so I ordered it. When I received the book and read the contents I realized I'd been duped. This books title says it a book about understanding guys, but in reality it's a book on how to get out of a bum relationship and I happen to be in a great one, so it's going right back on pbs without a word read... If you're looking for a book that really explains whats going on in your man's head try reading Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus or For Women Only.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: