Robert S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/18/2014


BORING! This book went no where, the science was bad, there wasn't an outcome..How this got on any ones best sellers list is a mystery.


Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Author: Michael J. Fox
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 10/30/2009


I love Michael J. Fox. BUT this book is bad, if you take the word Parkinson's out of it, it would be a pamphlet. I was disappointed it covers so little of his life even thought it portrays itself as an insight into his life.


An Embarrassment of Mangoes : A Caribbean Interlude
An Embarrassment of Mangoes : A Caribbean Interlude
Author: Ann Vanderhoof
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very good book having lived in the Caribbean I found this a very accurate telling.


Beloved
Beloved
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 11/14/2009


OK I really wanted to like this book, but after struggling through the first 1/2 I gave up. I think the story was very interesting but the writing was horrid. I can tell if I like a book as I can't wait to get back to it. This one I couldn't wait to stop reading!


The Big Needle
The Big Needle
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/2/2010


Not his best effort


The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 9/18/2012


Great Book!


The Calcutta Chromosome
The Calcutta Chromosome
Author: Amitav Ghosh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/22/2010


I really liked the writing, but the story was not very good.


Call for the Dead (George Smiley, Bk 1)
Call for the Dead (George Smiley, Bk 1)
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/13/2009


Just started reading LeCarre, as this is his first book I thought it was pretty good. Didn't understand why he needed to write a report at the end repeating a lot but clearing up a few things. over all a nice read.


Casino Royale: A James Bond Novel
Casino Royale: A James Bond Novel
Author: Ian Fleming
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Very disappointing.


The Catcher in the Rye
The Catcher in the Rye
Author: J. D. Salinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1933
Review Date: 8/4/2009


What a disappointment! How anyone ever thought this was a great book is beyond me. Bad writing, terrible story line, if there was a story line. I keep waiting for something to happen NOTHING EVER DOES!


Digital Fortress
Digital Fortress
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 10/4/2009


a little bit dated but overall a good read


The Good Earth
The Good Earth
Author: Pearl S. Buck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 500
Review Date: 7/7/2009


very interesting, we have no idea what poverty is!


Helter Skelter
Helter Skelter
Author: Vincent Bugliosi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/5/2009


lots of detail


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 790
Review Date: 11/28/2014


YUCK.... this is one of the worst books I have every attempted to read. Slow isn't the word, still maybe. You don't really care about any of the characters. If this was a best seller the author must have a lot of relatives


The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch, Bk 4)
The Last Coyote (Harry Bosch, Bk 4)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 10/6/2012


another good Connelly book


Laughing Whitefish
Laughing Whitefish
Author: Robert Traver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/15/2009


Very similar to Anatomy of a Murder but with a different case to work, and in a different time. Lots of UP and Marquette history.


The Lazarus Project
The Lazarus Project
Author: John Bayer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 1/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I found the writing very good until it trend into a since-fiction book with force fields and demons!


Lies that Chelsea Handler Told Me (Borderline Amazing/A Chelsea Handler Book)
Review Date: 10/30/2013


OK not the best book I have ever read but not the worst either.


The Neon Rain (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 1)
The Neon Rain (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 1)
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/29/2012


Seemed a bit wordy


Nerve
Nerve
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/9/2012


Another good Francis book


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: