Rebecca G. (kitschweb) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
Bedazzled: Joy / Impulse / Trust
Bedazzled: Joy / Impulse / Trust
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz, Vicki Lewis Thompson, Rita Clay Estrada
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/30/2007


First sentence:
Ryerson decided that there was only one major drawback to being stood up by Deborah Middlebrook: he was not getting the chance ot indulge the enormous sense of releif he was feeling.
Sequel to: Fulfillment (Barbara Delinsky)

Early stories (book is copyright 2002, but stories are all from 1988) so not as polished as much of the authors' later work. I liked the Krentz (quoted above) best, though vastly prefer her historicals to her modern work...


Best of the Best Vol. 5: The Best Recipes from the 25 Best Cookbooks of the Year
Review Date: 1/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I love this series - it's like getting a year's worth of cookbooks in a single volume!


Beyond Desire
Beyond Desire
Author: Emma Holly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 5/25/2007


Just a note for those who don't already know...This title is a two-in-one reprint of Emma Holly's two "romantica" historicals, Beyond Seduction and Beyond Innocence. I love Emma Holly's work, but I have to say that she does contemporary better than historical (and I typically prefer historicals). Don't get me wrong, both books are enjoyable, romantic, erotic, and all that - they just don't have the fire of contemporaries like Cooking Up a Storm or Menage. It's as though she wrote the historicals because someone told her they would sell well, but it's not really where her interests lie.


Big Machines (DK Readers, Level 1)
Big Machines (DK Readers, Level 1)
Author: Karen Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/29/2006


cute level 1 beginning reader - my son loved this book!


Blood Memory (Mississippi, Bk 5) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/7/2006


This ISBN is unabridged on 16 compact discs. Held my interest all the way through and surprised me at the end, though the story is pretty gruesome!


Brother Cadfael's Penance: The Twentieth Chronicle of Brother Cadfael (Brother Cadfael Mysteries (Audio))
Review Date: 6/19/2006


*love* these mysteries and am so relieved they got Derek Jacobi as the reader! (note this ISBN is an abridgement, though I'm not sure that's disclosed in the details)


City of Falling Angels
City of Falling Angels
Author: John Berendt
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This ISBN is unabridged on 11 CDs. Didn't capture my interest the way Midnight in the Garden did, but still a good listen (especially, I think, if you've actually been to Venice!)


Comets
Comets
Author: Melvin Berger, Gilda Berger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/29/2006


beginning reader with great illustrations! part of a six-book series on the solar system...


Compass American Guides: Alaska's Inside Passage, 2nd Edition
Compass American Guides: Alaska's Inside Passage, 2nd Edition
Author: Ann Chandonnet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2010


The author clearly loves Alaska and it shows. I just got back from a two week family cruise and found her guidebook invaluable (and small enough to carry around in my shoulder bag, which is nice). I found I disagreed with her very rarely, most notably on the quality of food to be found in the various towns she describes. Note that if you are from pretty much any city in the lower 48, you'll be appalled by the both the cost of a meal and the lack of good restaurants (not to mention the complete absence of salmon, which I was looking forward to, on all the menus). There may be something in Juneau, which I wasn't lucky enough to see, but in the smaller towns, expect to pay $20 or more for very average meals at diner-type establishments. I also was disappointed by our trek to the "Petroglyph Beach" in Petersburg - after walking an hour from the marina to the beach and slogging through freezing tide pools at low tide, we were only able to find one small face and a pair of feet. I was excited to find them, but I think you'd have to be pretty into the quest to be anything but disappointed - the Petroglyph Beach at Wrangell is a much better bet with something like 40 carvings to be found. In either case, make sure you go at low tide!

Another small complaint is that since the author raves about everything it's difficult to gauge what is a must-see and what isn't. To that end, here are some of my favorites from the trip:
1. The Museum at Wrangell was wonderful and a bargain at less than $10 admission for adults. It also has a very nice gift store where you can find local garnets, birch syrup, t-shirts and books from Ketchikan artist Ray Troll, and other inexpensive gifts for the folks back home.
2. I can't rave enough about the Sing Lee Alley Bookstore in Petersburg. It was fantastic, friendly, and by the time I got there I was desperate for books. Wonderful collection of Alaskana (including very giftable children's books), as well as a totally unexpected inventory of other books to rival any other independent bookstore I've seen.
3. I was also very impressed by the public library in Petersburg. I was on a private boat (not a commercial cruise) so Internet access was a terminal problem. The very friendly public library had fast, free wi-fi and a great selection of magazines to browse while I was waiting for a particularly large download.
4. The Alaska Raptor Center in Sitka is worth visiting if you're interested in birds of prey. You'll get used to seeing bald eagles and the like perching in trees in Alaska (where the species has never been endangered), but the Raptor Center, which is really a hospital for injured birds from all over North America, is a good place to see the majestic birds up close.
5. Tracy Arm Fjord is worth visiting if you get the chance and have the time. It's several hours of cruising through Tolkienesque landscapes (we're talking 2,000-foot granite cliffs heading up into the mist and harbor seals lying on blue icebergs) to the twin Sawyer glaciers. Each of the glaciers calves huge chunks of blue ice into the water every hour or so.


Dead End Dating (Dead End Dating, Bk 1)
Dead End Dating (Dead End Dating, Bk 1)
Author: Kimberly Raye
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 11/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Cute Maryjanice Davison clone about a Gucci-obsessed vampire who opens a matchmaking service in Manhattan. Hilarity ensues as she tries to match a moteley assortment of vamps, weres, and humans while on the trail of a serial killer who preys on lonely women...


Dracula (Classics on Cassette)
Dracula (Classics on Cassette)
Author: Bram Stoker, Richard E. Grant
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/19/2006


Abridged on two cassettes. Nice reading by Richard E. Grant (who played Dr. Seward in the movie)!


Earth
Earth
Author: Melvin Berger, Gilda Berger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/29/2006


beginning reader with great illustrations - part of a six-book series on the solar system (includes Solar System, Shooting Stars, Comets, The Sun, The Moon, and Earth)


Eating in: The Official Single Man's Cookbook
Eating in: The Official Single Man's Cookbook
Author: Rich Lippman, Jose Maldonado
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/30/2006


The romantic bachelor's illustrated guide to better dating through cooking. Great gift for college students!


Fear Nothing (Moonlight Bay, Bk 1) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/9/2006


This ISBN is unabridged on 10 cassettes (approx 12 hours!).


Four Ingredient Cookbook
Four Ingredient Cookbook
Author: Joanna Farrow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2007


Gorgeous photos and every recipe has only 4 ingredients (and the authors didn't cheat an use weird ingredients either). Fun and simple cookbook for those of us who don't always (ever!) have time for 40-ingredient recipes.


A Guide to the Impressionist Landscape: Day Trips from Paris to Sites of Great Nineteenth-Century Paintings
Review Date: 9/4/2006


fun guide with maps and lots of photos juxtaposing impressionist landscapes with photographs of their site today


The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Author: Douglas Adams
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/19/2006


unabridged on 4 cassettes and read by the author - I don't enjoy author readings as much as professional readers, but it's always interesting to hear the author's voice!


How Can They Possibly Think Like That???
How Can They Possibly Think Like That???
Author: Lynn, Ellsworth Taylor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/10/2007


From the publishers:

"How Can They Possibly Think Like That???" is the simplest, most fundamentally sound approach to personality profiling ever created. Praised by business owners, psychologists and human resource directors as brilliant and practical, this resource guide will serve any group who wants to increase their effectiveness as individuals and as a team.

The index is easier to take than any other is on the market. It can be self administered and evaluated within ten minutes, allowing this profiling system to be used in short focus business situations: new employee interviews, conflict resolution, departmental restructuring, employee evaluation for promotion. Other profiles require hours to take, weeks to have evaluated and years to develop a comprehension of the results. Spend an afternoon with this guide, and you will come away with knowledge you can effectively use the rest of your life.

Even the more complex and comprehensive assessments don't come close to matching the personality knowledge gained from the practical applications of the CVI system. Individuals will quickly discover and relate to their Spiritual Cornerstones (Core Values). They will be able to understand to what extent these cornerstone values dictate how we think and act and how different we are form others with different cornerstone values.

The Primary Social Values help individuals readily see themselves in practical settings, identifying their strengths and weaknesses. Each person is better able to understand how his or her personality strategy works, as well as the how's and why's behind negative behaviors.

The Way We Act illustrates the idiosyncrasies of each personality profile and the mechanisms which occasionally make each of us ineffective, especially in the business world.

Finally, The Basis for Success section clearly illustrates the different strategies each personality style uses in order to achieve personal success. It is easy to see where conflicts arise between persons with strong foundations in one personality style or another. Beginning with our Spiritual cornerstones and ending with our strategies for success, the committed reader will discover a wealth of new understanding for personal growth, development of better relationships and greater personal power with people.


The Immense Journey : An Imaginative Naturalist Explores the Mysteries of Man and Nature
Review Date: 1/10/2007


From the back cover: In an unusual blend of scientifc knowledge and imaginative vision, Loren Eiseley tells the story of man. Anthropologist and naturalist, Dr. Eiseley reveal's life's endless mysteries in his own experienced, departing from their immediacy into meditations on the long past, wandering--intimate with nature--along the paths and byways of time, and then returning to the present.

[Note: My 1959 Vintage edition has a different cover] Interesting attempt by a scientist to put his ponderings on the meaning of life into words.


Lady Knightley's Secret
Lady Knightley's Secret
Author: Anne Ashley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/29/2006


Miss Elizabeth Beresford has become an heiress upon her grandmother's death. Her sister, Evadne, thought she was very clever when she engineered that Elizabeth would be trapped overnight in the cellars with Evadne's brother-in-law. Except that the plot misfired and it was Sir Richard Knightley who became entrapped with Elizabeth! Richard was not unwilling to marry, for Elizabeth had changed beautifully from the young girl he remembered. It was Elizabeth who was reluctant, for she loved him and there was something she couldn't tell him...


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: