Svetlana M. (Svetgirl) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The Chinese Bell Murders (Judge Dee)
The Chinese Bell Murders (Judge Dee)
Author: Robert Van Gulik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/30/2010


I love Robert Gulik. He was a great writer and his Judge Dee books are amazing. I highly recomend them to everyone.


The Chinese Lake Murders (Judge Dee)
The Chinese Lake Murders (Judge Dee)
Author: Robert Van Gulik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/30/2010


I love all of Judge Dee books and this one is no exception. They really are mysteries and you do not guess the end until the end comes and even then until the explanation is provided. I highly recomend all of them.


The Distant Echo
The Distant Echo
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 11/30/2010


I think that Val McDermid is very good writer and has a great imagination. I liked this book and it has me in it's grip for quiet a while.


The Elusive Mrs. Pollifax (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 3)
The Elusive Mrs. Pollifax (Mrs Pollifax, Bk 3)
Author: Dorothy Gilman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/20/2008


A fun little story, and a nice addition to the Pollifax saga.


A Family Affair  (Nero Wolfe, Bk 45)
A Family Affair (Nero Wolfe, Bk 45)
Author: Rex Stout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/30/2010


This was one of the most surprising mysteries I had with Nero Wolfe. I was shocked to find out who the murderer was and had not even an inkling. Very interesting.


The King's Coat (Alan Lewrie, Bk 1)
The King's Coat (Alan Lewrie, Bk 1)
Author: Dewey Lambdin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/30/2010


This is the best of the series so far and it is really good. The story is interting and this is very exciting before as you read the series the authors fills it quiet deftly and we get a full character that you love and start rooting for. Definately a must read if you like adventure books with historical background.


The King's Commission (Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie, Bk 3)
The King's Commission (Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie, Bk 3)
Author: Dewey Lambdin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 11/30/2010


This is Sharpe Light, but still very good and extremely dashing. There is some sex, but mostly there is a lot of adventure and lots of fun. I highly recoment it. The historical details very very interesting. It is a little before Sharpe but the same type of thing.


Murder by the Book (The Rex Stout Library)
Murder by the Book (The Rex Stout Library)
Author: Rex Stout
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/5/2010


Another Great from Rex Stout. The story really is amazing and quite worth investing the time to read it. 5 Stars


Name of the Rose
Name of the Rose
Author: Umberto Eco
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 6/25/2009


This is one of Umberto Eco's best novels. The story itself is compelling and even though it does not zip along it is extremely interesting. When you finish the book you are very happy you finished it and the book will stay with you for a very long time.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 508
Review Date: 11/30/2010


Ok. This really is a guilty pleasure. Sometimes you just have to have the doughnut even though you can feel your arteries hardening as you eat. She is a good writer.


The Red Pavilion (Judge Dee)
The Red Pavilion (Judge Dee)
Author: Robert van Gulik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/30/2010


Highly imaginative and original. Very well written. Can't do better. Read it as soon as you can get your hands on it.


Strange Affair (Inspector Banks, Bk 15)
Strange Affair (Inspector Banks, Bk 15)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/30/2010


Very interesting and refreshingly not formulaic. I really was in the dark and enjoyed not knowing where this is going next. Definately recomend this.


The Summer of the Danes (Brother Cadfael, Bk 18)
The Summer of the Danes (Brother Cadfael, Bk 18)
Author: Ellis Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 11/30/2010


Very interesting and very surprising. These books are historically accurate (in general) so it was a very interesting read.


Voodoo River (Elvis Cole, Bk 5)
Voodoo River (Elvis Cole, Bk 5)
Author: Robert Crais
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 5/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


As far as Robert Crais books goes this one is very good. This is in the private eye Elvis Cole series and the action is moving along nicely here. I highly recommend this one.


1 to 14 of 14