Denneane C. (denneane) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
The 100 Thing Challenge: How I Got Rid of Almost Everything, Remade My Life, and Regained My Soul
Review Date: 10/4/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What a great concept and great book! While I don't plan on embarking on the Challenge I do think it's a great idea. The book explains the rules for the challenge, why the author decided to take on this project and what he learned through the process.

A quick, easy, read. One that makes you think and leaves a lasting impression.

I'd definitely recommend it.


Animals Make Us Human: Creating the Best Life for Animals
Review Date: 11/27/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Anyone who has horses, dogs, cats, cattle, etc. should read this book. Temple Grandin is an incredible researcher who views the world through the animal's eyes. A CSU professor Grandin has valuable insights for every horse owner.


Assassins (Left Behind, Bk 6)
Assassins (Left Behind, Bk 6)
Author: Tim F. LaHaye, Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 4/23/2012


A must read! The great follow up to "Left behind"


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 8/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A heart wrenching look at the storm known as the "Children's Blizzard". Powerful and moving. Not for the faint of heart. An incredible true story with thought provoking images and the amazing will to survive.


Coal Black Horse
Coal Black Horse
Author: Robert Olmstead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/17/2011


"Robert Olmstead has been compared to Cormac McCarthy and rightly so. A great book that I couldn't put down. Robey was a courageous and endearing character that you couldn't help but cheer for. If you're a fan of Cormac McCarthy you'll enjoy Coal Black Horse."


Coal Black Horse
Coal Black Horse
Author: Robert Olmstead
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/26/2011


Robert Olmstead has been compared to Cormac McCarthy and rightly so. A great book that I couldn't put down. Robey was a courageous and endearing character that you couldn't help but cheer for. If you're a fan of Cormac McCarthy you'll enjoy Coal Black Horse.


Come Again No More
Come Again No More
Author: Jack Todd
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/3/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Reminiscent of Larry McMurtry in Lonesome Dove, Cormac McCarthy or Kent Haruf. Brilliant! I loved this book, did not look forward to having it end. Todd's characters are human, with very human failings but you relate to them and love them anyway. I had never read a Jack Todd book before but I loved this novel and will certainly look for his other works.


Forever
Forever
Author: Pete Hamill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 3/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A beautiful fairy tale spanning the ages and depicting the history of New York City. I loved this book! I kept wondering if the time span would make it to the tragedy of September 11 and was so thrilled with the outcome. Well done, Mr. Hamill.


The Gargoyle
The Gargoyle
Author: Andrew Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/19/2011
Helpful Score: 1


When I purchased this book I did so on a whim. It was not the book I expected it to be and I was so pleasantly surprised. It's an unlikely love story with fables and history and tragedy interwoven into something incredibly beautiful. I couldn't put it down. A tribute to the human spirit and finding love in the most unlikely places.


If... (Questions For The Game of Life)
If... (Questions For The Game of Life)
Author: Evelyn McFarlane, James Saywell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 12/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What a great conversation starter this book is. With three teenagers at home we make it a habit to eat dinner together at the dining room table every night that somebody doesn't have something else going on outside the house (basketball practice, wrestling practice, lessons, etc.) Keeping my kids engaged was easier with the help of this book.

Rather than just "how was your day?" and the rote response of "fine." We take turns picking a question from the book and asking everyone at the table. It helped keep the lines of communication open and generated some lively discussions.

My kids even instigate this when we have "extras" over for meals. Anytime we sit down at the dining room table the kids will pick up the book (conveniently left next to the napkins) and read a question.

I'd highly recommend this for any household, but especially those households with kids.


In Tall Cotton
In Tall Cotton
Author: Charles G. Hulse
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/21/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Beautifully written however the subject matter is graphic. Worth the read but if you were offended by Brokeback Mountain this is not a book for you


Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Little Bee (aka The Other Hand)
Author: Chris Cleave
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 818
Review Date: 11/22/2010


One of the best books I've read. A glimpse into men, women, their relationships and the strength and power of love.

This is a book that I'd highly recommend. It's one that's stuck with me even months after finishing it. I couldn't put it down.


Room
Room
Author: Emma Donoghue
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 444
Review Date: 1/30/2012


A great book that leaves a lasting impression. Once I started reading it I couldn't stop. Very well written. A book you won't soon forget.


Silent Voices
Silent Voices
Author: Debbie Nau Redmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/14/2011


The heart wrenching true story of a family's struggle with schizophrenia in the 80's.

Misdiagnosis', apathy and misinformation lead to the frustration of dealing with a system not able to cope with this illness.


Summer People (P.S.)
Summer People (P.S.)
Author: Brian Groh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 8/3/2011


The main character in this book was not one I ever warmed to. This young man was characterized as being in limbo but I felt he just came across as juvenile and whiny.

The minister character was also not somebody I related to. Heaven help us if there are real ministers out there like this character.

I did finish reading the book but I can't say I'd recommend it. Kept hoping "Nathan" would have a big life revelation and just grow up but by the end of the book that certainly didn't seem to me to have happened.

I don't write many reviews but this book was so disappointing I felt I had to warn others not to waste their time.


We Were the Mulvaneys
We Were the Mulvaneys
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/19/2011


The story of an American tragedy and how it tore a family apart. It's a story of family, love, loss, heartbreak and what hope for what can put it all back together again. It's listed on the 1001 books to read before you die and rightfully so. One of Joyce Carol Oates' best.


The Well and the Mine
The Well and the Mine
Author: Gin Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 7/24/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! What a great first effort by Gin Phillips, I'll be looking for future books by this very talented author. The characters are authentic and relatable. You can almost smell the poverty and coal dust and will revel in the triumph of the human spirit.


Where Rivers Change Direction
Where Rivers Change Direction
Author: Mark Spragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Classic Mark Spragg. Spragg is a true horseman at heart with a love and feel for the west that surpasses even Larry McMurtry. I loved this book, and would recommend it to anyone searching for the romance of the true west and a love for the cowboy way of life.


1 to 18 of 18