Amy H. (emksmama) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1174
Review Date: 4/18/2007


Another excellent read from Patterson! Very good, chilling, and just when you think you know "whodunnit", you realize you're wrong.


3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1049
Review Date: 4/21/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Another excellent read by James Patterson!! This one was a bit harder, as one of the Women's Murder Club books is in danger, but the plot twists and Lt Boxer's perseverance kept me reading late into the night.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 868
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This was good, and had some twists and turns that I didn't expect. However, the ending left a lot to be desired...it seemed like it wrapped up entirely too quickly and left some unanswered questions into motive and consequences. However, it was a good addition to the Women's Murder Club series!!


6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
6 Rainier Drive (Cedar Cove, Bk 6)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 11/27/2006


This is another winner from one of my favorite authors! I love the whole Cedar Cove series, and really, I've never read a Macomber book I didn't love.


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 650
Review Date: 5/29/2007
Helpful Score: 11


This was phenomenal....it keeps you guessing right up to the end, and even then, you're left wondering if what you think happened really did. Very suspenseful, and focuses primarily on the male protagonist.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 4/15/2007
Helpful Score: 6


LOVED this book....a great tale of the enduring power of women's friendships and the love they share across the decades and through the births and deaths, marriages and divorces on their cul de sac.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 463
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia, the tiny town of Big Stone Gap is home to some of the most charming eccentrics in the state. Ave Maria Mulligan is the town's self-proclaimed spinster, a thirty-five-year-old pharmacist with a "mountain girl's body and a flat behind." She lives an amiable life with good friends and lots of hobbies until the fateful day in 1978 when she suddenly discovers that she's not who she always thought she was. Before she can blink, Ave's fielding marriage proposals, fighting off greedy family members, organizing a celebration for visiting celebrities, and planning the trip of a lifetime--a trip that could change her view of the world and her own place in it forever. Brimming with humor and wise notions of small-town life, Big Stone Gap is a gem of a book with a giant heart.


This was a neat book...the first I've read by this author, and I was pleased to see that she has a sequel to this (Big Cherry Holler) that's set 8 years after the conclusion of Big Stone Gap. Told in the first person, I really enjoyed the writing style. Books set in the late 70's but written post 2000 are rare, and this is truly a gem!


The Black Rose
The Black Rose
Author: Tananarive Due
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I have not read this book.


Blessings
Blessings
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 6


A beautiful, moving, well crafted novel that will leave you pondering the deeper meaning of what "family" means, and how love can grow between the most unlikely people. Savor the descriptions, the prose, and the feeling in every line.


Blood and Money
Blood and Money
Author: Thomas Thompson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 2/25/2007


I've not read this book.


Bogus Bride (Harlequin Historicals, No 361)
Bogus Bride (Harlequin Historicals, No 361)
Author: Emily French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/25/2007


I've not read this book.


The Bully (Bluford Series, Number 5)
The Bully (Bluford Series, Number 5)
Author: Paul Langan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I have not read this book.


Burke's Rules (Guardsmen of Denver, Bk 2) (Harlequin Historical, No 446)
Review Date: 2/25/2007


I've not read this book.


Cally And The Sheriff (Harlequin Historical, No 981)
Cally And The Sheriff (Harlequin Historical, No 981)
Author: Cassandra Austin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 2/25/2007


I've not read this book.


Comics Buyers Guide Marvel Comics Checklist & Price Guide: 1961 To Present
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I have not read this book.


The Cosmo girl's guide to the new etiquette
The Cosmo girl's guide to the new etiquette
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I have not read this book.


Dog-Friendly Dog Training (Howell Reference Books)
Dog-Friendly Dog Training (Howell Reference Books)
Author: Andrea Arden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I have not read this book.


Falling for the Enemy (Love That Man) (Harlequin Superromance, No 861)
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A little predictable, but it made for a good afternoon's read while nursing a head cold!


Fight Club
Fight Club
Author: Chuck Palahniuk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/23/2007


I have not read this book.


The Glass Flame
The Glass Flame
Author: Phyllis A. Whitney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/25/2007


I have not read this book.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: