DSavannah G. (dsavannah) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian
Author: Sherman Alexie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 5/30/2008


Quick easy read, very amusing. A sad story, but told in a hopeful way. Illustrations are great!


An Ocean Apart, a World Away
An Ocean Apart, a World Away
Author: Lensey Namioka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/1/2008


A quick read.... the story of a teen-age girl who chooses her career over a man, and goes across the ocean to study.... and in the process, learns the fallacy of stereotypes.


Baby Todd and the Rattlesnake Stradivarius
Baby Todd and the Rattlesnake Stradivarius
Author: Teresa Kennedy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2006


As I posted on Amazon: This is a really fun read.... The author has peopled her book with a bunch of true characters - a slightly crazy undertaker with a mummy in his chifferobe, a mystical, absent mother, a fiddle playing "special" boy, a conjurer woman with special healing powers, a bitter old woman, a dead man who comes back as a ghost, and on and on. It shifts back and forth between time periods and people, and it can get confusing as to who is doing what when and related to who. It would have been extremely helpful for the author to have included a family tree! But it all ties up neatly in the end, you figure out who is related and who is not (which pretty much everyone is related somehow, except for the town whore, who also happens to be the preacher's wife). The supernatural portions are centered around the Stradivarius and what happens to it, as well as the ghosts, conjurer, faith healer, etc. The book is well-written, and worth tracking down!


Behaving Like Adults : A Novel
Behaving Like Adults : A Novel
Author: Anna Maxted
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/11/2008


I really really loved this book. In some small way, it helped me on my journey as an adult wondering when I'm going to get it together (evidently never). Although the book deals with a serious topic, it remains conversational and easy to read.


The Betrayal (Cyteen, Bk 1)
The Betrayal (Cyteen, Bk 1)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/1/2006


The Cyteen series is my absolute favorite of Cherryh's. I read it a LONG time ago, and it's still stuck with me! HIGHLY recommended!


The Compleat Enchanter: The Magical Misadventures of Harold Shea (Harold Shea, Bk 1-3)
Review Date: 2/19/2006


Very amusing. A little dated (the stories were originally written in 1940 & 1941), but worth reading!


Dawn (Xenogenesis, Bk 1)
Dawn (Xenogenesis, Bk 1)
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 6/30/2008


I really enjoy reading Butler's work (and I'm sad there will be no more).... but Dawn is my absolute favorite. A taut, well-written tome on race, the other, differences, and what we're doing to our planet. Highly recommended.


Eats, Shites & Leaves: Crap English and How to Use It
Eats, Shites & Leaves: Crap English and How to Use It
Author: A. Parody
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/3/2007


Very amusing look at errors in written and spoken English.


Glass Dragons (Moonworlds Saga, Bk 2)
Glass Dragons (Moonworlds Saga, Bk 2)
Author: Sean McMullen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/12/2006


Great, sweeping story, likeable characters. Long book, but I wanted more!


The Grand Complication
The Grand Complication
Author: Allen Kurzweil
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/14/2006


Fascinating book!


The Harp of the Grey Rose: The Legend of Cerin Songweaver
The Harp of the Grey Rose: The Legend of Cerin Songweaver
Author: Charles De Lint
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/1/2007


a typical fantasy book, but not as powerful as de Lint's other (newer) work.


Inklings
Inklings
Author: Jeffrey Koterba
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/6/2009


Best memoir I've ever read.


Jim and Louella's Homemade Heart-fix Remedy
Jim and Louella's Homemade Heart-fix Remedy
Author: Bertice Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2008


I just finished "Jim & Louella's", and I gotta tell you, I LOVE this book!!! I love the simple style, humor, and the gentle lessons included in the book. All the sex talk wasn't offensive because it was presented in such a loving way.


L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol 10
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol 10
Author: Dave Wolverton (Editor), L. Ron Hubbard (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/23/2005


Some very interesting stories, and some that aren't so good.


L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol 14
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol 14
Author: Dave Wolverton (Editor), L. Ron Hubbard (Editor)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/23/2005


Interesting reading... Some stories are great, and some not so much.


Loop's Progress (Perennial fiction library)
Loop's Progress (Perennial fiction library)
Author: Chuck Rosenthal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/4/2008


very odd book.....


Me Times Three
Me Times Three
Author: Alex Witchel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 12/23/2005


A fun, cotton candy read.


One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
One Thousand White Women: The Journals of May Dodd
Author: Jim Fergus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 678
Review Date: 2/17/2007


gripping tale... heart wrenching ending.


Prentice Alvin (Alvin Maker, Bk 3)
Prentice Alvin (Alvin Maker, Bk 3)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 12/23/2005


I really enjoy all of the Alvin Maker books.


Selected Stories (Wordsworth Classics)
Selected Stories (Wordsworth Classics)
Author: Anton Pavlovich Chekhov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/10/2007


Lovely writing.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: