Bethany S. - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The 19th Wife
The 19th Wife
Author: David Ebershoff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 4/15/2013


I really enjoyed this book. It was a good read. I learned quite a bit.


The Body Farm (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 5)
The Body Farm (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 5)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 3/29/2012


Another good read from Patricia Cornwell


Deadly Decisions (Temperance Brennan, Bk 3)
Deadly Decisions (Temperance Brennan, Bk 3)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 405
Review Date: 8/2/2010


good book. i really enjoy reading Kathy Reichs' material in order.


Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Deja Dead (Temperance Brennan, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 553
Review Date: 3/11/2010


I enjoyed this book. I can tell it is her first book, as her style gets better with subsequent books.


The Dogs of Babel
The Dogs of Babel
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 3/6/2012


This was a delightful tale of love and how a husband comes to terms with the questionable circumstances of the death of his wife.

It was a relatively quick read, but I really enjoyed it. A very different subject matter than I am accustomed to reading. But a great break from the genre I typically read.

I highly recommend, regardless of the type of books one reads!


Hester: A Novel
Hester: A Novel
Author: Paula Reed
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/15/2013


I picked this book up at a discount store for almost nothing. I have not seen/read the original story since high school (which was nearly 30 years ago). I loved this book.

I enjoyed the main character and how the author developed the story after Hester Prynne's experience in New England.

I would recommend this book whether or not you are a 'fan' of the story. I was somewhat indifferent about The Scarlet Letter, but now wish someone would make a movie out of Hester so I could watch the two movies back-to-back!


The Improbable Adventures of Marvelous O'Hara Soapstone
Review Date: 4/14/2016


This was truly one of the most entertaining and enjoyable reads! It is a short book that lives up to it's name!


Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love
Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love
Author: Larry Levin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 10/22/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a delightful book written by a man who rescued a dog ... or a man who was rescued by a dog. It is a quick read and a fun story. I recommend it to any dog lover.


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1162
Review Date: 5/10/2011


I don't normally read books of this nature. I typically read forensic/mystery. But this book was an interesting change.

It was a little tough for me to really *get in to* the book at first. But once I got about 1/4 of the way through, I hated putting it down at all!

I strongly recommend this book and encourage anyone who is looking for something out of the ordinary to read it.


Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper -- Case Closed
Portrait of a Killer: Jack the Ripper -- Case Closed
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 8/2/2010


Patricia Cornwell certainly knows how to track down facts. She put in untold amounts of research, time and her own money to prove/disprove the guilt of the individual she feels IS Jack The Ripper.

I am a huge Cornwell fan, but did not enjoy this book. I would much rather spend my time reading her fiction works.

If you enjoy any type of historical non-fiction, you should enjoy this. For me, however, I'll stick with non-fiction.


Tripwire (Jack Reacher, Bk 3)
Tripwire (Jack Reacher, Bk 3)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 313
Review Date: 12/26/2011


This was the best Jack Reacher book so far. I look forward to reading the next one.

This book seems to make Reacher even more human than in previous installations.

I enjoyed the read.


We Are Our Mothers' Daughters
We Are Our Mothers' Daughters
Author: Cokie Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/17/2013


I **loved** this book! I always liked Cokie Roberts as a reporter. I may, or may not, agree with any beliefs she has. But this book was a great read, as a woman. I shared it with several of my girlfriends and they all enjoyed it as well!

I highly recommend it to women!


1 to 12 of 12