Alison S. (Zylyn) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
The Accidental Time Machine
The Accidental Time Machine
Author: Joe Haldeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/1/2007


Fun read!


Adventures in Time and Space with Max Merriwell
Adventures in Time and Space with Max Merriwell
Author: Pat Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was a fun read.


Alien Tongue (Next Wave, Bk 2)
Alien Tongue (Next Wave, Bk 2)
Author: Stephen Leigh, Rudy Rucker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/9/2008


I enjoyed this book, good characterization not only of humans but also the aliens.


The Anubis Gates
The Anubis Gates
Author: Tim Powers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/10/2007


If I knew more English history I'd probably enjoy this book even more, but all-in-all an excellent book, very enjoyable. Recommended !!!


Beyond Varallan (Stardoc, Bk 2)
Beyond Varallan (Stardoc, Bk 2)
Author: S. L. Viehl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 11/2/2006


Part of a long series, kept my interest.


Bios
Bios
Author: Robert Charles Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/19/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good story, kept my interest.


Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, Bk 4)
Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson, Bk 4)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 3


As I expected from the Mercy Thompson series, excellent read. This fourth book gives a little more background into the world and rules of the vampires, Mercy gets some experience with ghosts and much closer to Adam and the pack. I read this within a 24 hour period, almost forgot to eat!


Boneshaker (Clockwork Century, Bk 1)
Boneshaker (Clockwork Century, Bk 1)
Author: Cherie Priest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 3/14/2010


I didn't enjoy this book as much as I thought/hoped I would because I'm just not into the zombie genre. The characters were well-written and fleshed out (heh-heh) but did not grab my empathy. Or my interest much. This was one long underground quest in the dark with poisonous gas and animated corpses. Hey - would make for a great computer game! I've put Four and Twenty Blackbirds on my wish list 'cause Priest writes well and I'm willing to sample more. I just wasn't into the Boneshaker story. Only three stars from me.


The Borribles (Borribles, 1)
The Borribles (Borribles, 1)
Author: Michael de Larrabeiti
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Kept my interest, but not quite as "good" as the reviews I've read.


Brass Man
Brass Man
Author: Neal Asher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent- more on Skellor, Mr. Crane, Dragon and my favorite secret agent, Cormac. Recommend you read Gridlinked and The Line of Polity before Brass Man.


Burndive (Warchild, Bk 2)
Burndive (Warchild, Bk 2)
Author: Karin Lowachee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Good read.But be prepared for angst.


Cosmonaut Keep (Engines of Light, Bk 1)
Cosmonaut Keep (Engines of Light, Bk 1)
Author: Ken MacLeod
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good book, looking forward to the next in the series, Dark Light.


Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Cry Wolf (Alpha and Omega, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 857
Review Date: 10/17/2008


Loved it. I hope Mercy and Anna get together in some future books.


Dawn (Xenogenesis, Bk 1)
Dawn (Xenogenesis, Bk 1)
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/30/2006


Interesting.


Deepdrive
Deepdrive
Author: Alexander Jablokov
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/15/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Rather bewildering at first, but gets better as I came to understand the far future setting. Good read.


The Devil's Eye (Alex Benedict, Bk 4)
The Devil's Eye (Alex Benedict, Bk 4)
Author: Jack McDevitt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book, thought it was a typical Alex Benedict novel. Not as gripping as Seeker, but still a good mystery, clues laid out logically, quiet heroes. I hope McDevitt continues to write in this universe 'cause I like living there, if only for a few hours.


Dinosaur Summer
Dinosaur Summer
Author: Greg Bear
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Much as The Lost World by Doyle - Well written.


Dog Days (Dog Days, Bk 1)
Dog Days (Dog Days, Bk 1)
Author: John Levitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 7/18/2008
Helpful Score: 4


If you like the Dresden series by Jim Butcher you'll like this book.


Endurance (Stardoc, Bk 3)
Endurance (Stardoc, Bk 3)
Author: S. L. Viehl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 11/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Book three of a series. Somewhat formula, but still kept my interest.


Expendable (League of Peoples, Bk 1)
Expendable (League of Peoples, Bk 1)
Author: James Alan Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Pretty good, looking forward to reading Ascending.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: