Ned R. (ned) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Alone in the Crowd: An Inspector Espinosa Mystery (Inspector Espinosa Mysteries)
Review Date: 3/9/2014


I do enjoy the Espinosa books. They are good, entertaining reads. This book was not quite as well written as some of the others but it was still very enjoyable.


Astrid and Veronika
Astrid and Veronika
Author: Linda Olsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 126
Review Date: 5/12/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this unique book. It captivated me from the beginning. I was so involved in this story that I forgot this was the product of an author. I am passing this book on to my daughters and anyone else that comes to mind!


Bamboo and Blood: An Inspector O Novel (Inspector O Novels)
Bamboo and Blood: An Inspector O Novel (Inspector O Novels)
Author: James Church
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/27/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Inspector O has become one of my favorite characters in fiction. When I compare this to his previous books, it falls a little short. I read this twice but the plot strength was not quite as good as before. Even so, I still enjoyed it thoroughly.


Beautiful Ghosts (Inspector Shan, Bk 4)
Beautiful Ghosts (Inspector Shan, Bk 4)
Author: Eliot Pattison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/9/2012


Eliot Pattison writes so that you don't notice it. He involves you so thoroughly that reading becomes effortless. That said, this book does not quite absorb the reader as much as his previous books. It is still far better than other novels of this type.


The Final Solution: A Story of Detection
The Final Solution: A Story of Detection
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 5/12/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I am always amazed at the facility some writers have in using language itself to establish characters and scenes. Michael Chabon does this as well as any author. The problem is that this time, the language seemed to get in the way of the story. It is a first rate mystery but, again, the language.


Good Morning, Midnight
Good Morning, Midnight
Author: Reginald Hill
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 3/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Reginald Hill is a joy to read. His plotting is superb, his use of dialogue is better than most contemporary writers and his mixture of pathos and comedy advances his storyline. He creates images that stay with you from book to book. This is as good as any of his previous offerings.


The Hypnotist (Detective Inspector Joona Linna, Bk 1)
Review Date: 3/9/2014


This almost feels as though it were written to be made into a movie. A tremendous amount of action and some sex thrown in for effect. It moves right along and since the chapters are very short, you can stop anywhere to finish a chore or whatever. This can be a pretty disconcerting read at first, since the point of view is first person present but with different characters take the lead. That can lead to some initial confusion at the beginning until the reader becomes used to the writing. It was a very enjoyable book and I do recommend it.


The Inspector and Silence (Inspector Van Veeteren, Bk 5)
The Inspector and Silence (Inspector Van Veeteren, Bk 5)
Author: Hakan Nesser
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/7/2011


This is a more police procedural than some of his other works but he still instills the suspense needed to carry it to conclusion. Whether it is the author or the translator, the phrasing and language make this a book that brings pleasure.


The Princess of Burundi (Ann Lindell, Bk 1)
The Princess of Burundi (Ann Lindell, Bk 1)
Author: Kjell Eriksson, Ebba Segerberg (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 4/13/2012


Although a new setting, this works very well. This is one of the better Eriksson books.


The Skull Mantra (Inspector Shan, Bk 1)
The Skull Mantra (Inspector Shan, Bk 1)
Author: Eliot Pattison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 3/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is a well crafted book. It moves logically. The subplots are well integrated and this promises to be a good series. If you are a fan of Colin Cotterall, you will love this book.


The Tourist (Milo Weaver, Bk 1)
The Tourist (Milo Weaver, Bk 1)
Author: Olen Steinhauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/13/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first exposure to Steinhauer. It is a complex and entertaining book that caused me to search for more postings of this author.


1 to 11 of 11