Anick L. (islandgirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 114 - Page:
The 37th Hour (Sarah Pribek, Bk 1)
The 37th Hour (Sarah Pribek, Bk 1)
Author: Jodi Compton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/5/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Unusual plot, a fast read, great suspense.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 8/13/2006


A real page turner. Great plot with surprise ending. Another enjoyable novel from James Patterson.


Advent of the Savior: A Commentary on the Infancy Narratives of Jesus
Review Date: 9/9/2006


Excellent study of the infancy of Jesus in plain language.


All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 6/10/2016


The story line was not something that attracted me right away, but once I started, I was so engrossed in the story that I did not have any problems with the time shifts and the chapters alternating between the main characters. I felt transported into WWII and could feel the fatality of war and how innocents are drawn into the web of violence in spite of themselves. You cannot predict the end. I would recommend this book to any lover of historical fiction. A. Doerr is a great story teller.


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 8/10/2010


Having not read Grisham for a while, I thought it would be fun to read this one as I have enjoyed several of his books in the past: "Time to Kill", "The Firm", "The Client". I thought it was going pretty well until the ending just floundered completely as there was no ending. I almost wonder if Grisham got tired and just dropped the writing altogether. Disappointing to have a botched up ending.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 681
Review Date: 10/5/2006


A comedy with mysteries and miracles.


The Automatic Millionaire : A Powerful One-Step Plan to Live and Finish Rich
Review Date: 9/9/2006


A great book to start to plan financial security. Easy to read and gives lot of ideas to build wealth.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 6/28/2006


Good Plot, enjoyable read.


A Beautiful Mind: A Biography of John Forbes Nash, Jr., Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, 1994
Review Date: 9/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Moving and inspiring story of John Nash. It helps you understand the struggles of a schizophrenic.


The Best School Year Ever
The Best School Year Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Hysterical story! Easy and fast read. Enjoyed every page. Read 3 times at least.


Better Homes and Gardens Crocheting and Knitting
Review Date: 7/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful variety of projects for both beginners and advanced. Colorful afghans, pillows, rugs, table settings etc.


Better Homes and Gardens Patchwork and Quilting
Better Homes and Gardens Patchwork and Quilting
Author: Editors of BHG
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/20/2006


A colorful assortment of projects. Excellent for the beginner quilter. Contemporary projects such as the bandanna bedspread.


Bird's-Eye View
Bird's-Eye View
Author: J. F. Freedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Great thriller, a page-turner. Good plot and suspense. Enyoable read overall.


The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 1/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Well written story, but not my favorite from Amy Tan. I enjoyed the story of the mother's past better than the current struggles of the antagonist. I would definitely recommend the book. It held my attention to the end. Beautiful depiction of the life in China before communism took over.


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 583
Review Date: 1/19/2009


This was a very strange book. Although the story teller is gifted in telling the details of the story and making you feel that you are there with the main characters, you have this ominous feeling that something bad will happen. You hope that the life of the main character will change for the best. I was hooked to the story but I did not care for the ending, without this being a spoiler. Well written but sad.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 997
Review Date: 2/2/2016


I was disappointed that this was not a legal novel but some sort of spy novel with a scenario that was so unlikely that it made no sense at all to me. I think Grisham shook stick to courtroom drama.


Calorie Counter
Calorie Counter
Author: Maggie Pannell
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 8/25/2006


Handy Dandy Guide to Calorie counting. Pocket book format so can tuck in a purse.


Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul
Review Date: 8/26/2006


Followng the Chicken Soup stories, a collection of uplifting stories for teens.


The Complete Idiot's Guide to Etiquette, Second Edition
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Etiquette, Second Edition
Author: Mary Mitchell, John Corr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/2/2009


I bought this book for my teenager, but we have beeen skimmimng the book and found it easy to read and a quick and enjoyable reference book. It is a must for every household. I recommend for teenagers and adults too. I plan for each one of my kids to have one and to take with them. From writing a proper thank you note or condolence card to making an introduction, this book addresses all the essentials of gracious living.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4394
Review Date: 10/5/2006


Great Read. At first I thought it was a bit quirky, but once I got into it, I could really get into the characters. It was an enjoyable and original story. A book hard to forget.


1 to 20 of 114 - Page: