Nancy B. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Charleston Receipts
Review Date: 10/3/2014


This is a lovely book. As well as being full of very good recipes, I've learned a great deal about Charleston as well.


A Fierce Radiance
A Fierce Radiance
Author: Lauren Belfer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/8/2016


What an interesting, well-written book!


Game Day: My Life on and off the Field
Game Day: My Life on and off the Field
Author: Derek Jeter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/30/2014


Reading this book was a pleasure, especially given all of the additional press surrounding his retirement.


Homer's Odyssey: A Fearless Feline Tale, or How I Learned about Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat
Review Date: 5/20/2014


Reading this book was a profound emotional experience for me. Since I read the book, I have been circulating my own copy on loan, and I have ordered a copy to pass along to a friend who is devoted to rescuing cats. She and her group of volunteers have done a great deal of good, but none has expressed better than Gwen Cooper the miracle that the rescue of a cat with special needs can bring to a human life. When I read Cooper's account of her personal 9/11 experience in Lower Manhattan, I had to skip to the end of the book to be sure that Homer did not perish so that I was able to keep reading. Not only is Cooper an excellent writer, but also a person who understands completely what sharing one's life with an animal can provide.


The Immigrants
The Immigrants
Author: Howard Fast
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2012


This book provides the basis for Howard Fast's series documenting a century of living on the West Coast. It is well researched and engaging.


Linnea in Monet's Garden
Linnea in Monet's Garden
Author: Cristina Bjork
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/27/2015


This book is truly delightful. First, it's a wonderful story in general. Second, it is a good travel story about Paris. Third, and probably most important, it provides a great deal of information about Monet, his life, his family, and his legacy.


The Long Way Home
The Long Way Home
Author: Robin Pilcher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/12/2014


I did not dislike this book, but I do not care as much for his work as I do for that of his mother. He does not develop characters as realistically as does she and his plots tend to be superficial.


Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Lost & Found (Rocky Pelligrino, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Sheehan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 486
Review Date: 12/21/2013


This book was a delight. I learned a great deal about canine behavior, as well as about the need for people to "breath deeply" when they recover from tragedy and are forced to move on with their lives. I also learned a lot about archery, both as a sport and as a part of Native American culture. Best of all, unlike many animal books, the wonderful dog does not die at the end of the story.


Love Saves the Day
Love Saves the Day
Author: Gwen Cooper
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/17/2017


This book is just as good as Homer's Odyssey.


Love Saves the Day: A Novel
Love Saves the Day: A Novel
Author: Gwen Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/8/2014


I was profoundly moved when I read "The Odyssey of Homer" - Cooper's memoir about her beloved blind cat - so I was fearful that I would be less favorably impressed by a venture into fiction. "Love Saves the Day" is a truly beautiful story. Cooper permits the central character, Prudence the Cat, to have a "voice." Clearly, Cooper has a great understanding of and sensitivity for cats. As I read Prudence's "words," I was, at times, moved to tears by my heightened understanding of what our wonderful feline family members may be thinking. I recommend this book without reservation. I hope there may be another such book from Cooper in the future.


More Muffins : 72 Recipes for Moist, Delicious, Fresh-Baked Muffins
Review Date: 8/22/2014


This little book is every bit as good as their earlier books on scones and muffins.


The New Woman : A Staggerford Novel
The New Woman : A Staggerford Novel
Author: Jon Hassler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/27/2014


"The New Woman" was a breath of fresh air in a dismal winter. That the title page said "A Staggerford Novel" was a bit of a clue that the characters in the book were not necessarily new to this novel. Sure enough, Agatha McGee, now 87 years old, and a retired schoolteacher seems to have been a character in earlier Hassler novels. She's a charming but redoubtable lady making the transition from her lifelong home to an apartment in a complex for Senior citizens. Her adventures as she adapts to the changes in her life are interesting to read about. As opportunities present themselves, I am likely to read other Hassler pieces.


A Newbery Christmas
A Newbery Christmas
Author: Martin H. Greenberg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/18/2014


This is an excellent collection (not really a surprise, given that they all won Newbery awards) of holiday-themed short stories. Some, of course, are more appealing than others, depending upon what the reader brings to the stories. Overall, they embrace and relate numerous levels of society and cultures.


The Puppy Who Wanted a Boy
The Puppy Who Wanted a Boy
Author: Jane Thayer, Lisa McCue (Illustrator)
Book Type: Library Binding
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/17/2015


What a charming story. Our little nephew just loved it and was delighted that he could take it home with him.


Savannah Style
Savannah Style
Author: Junior League of Savannah
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/27/2015


This is an especially fine cookbook, providing good background information about Savannah as well as some excellent recipes. I've barely scratched the surface, but the five or six recipes I've tried have not disappointed.


The Sight of the Stars
The Sight of the Stars
Author: Belva Plain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/2/2015


Typical of Belva Plain's work, this is a well-developed, credible saga of several generations of an American family which began with an immigrant. I thoroughly enjoyed the book.


Stranger in the Woods: A Photographic Fantasy
Stranger in the Woods: A Photographic Fantasy
Author: Jean Stoick, Carol R. Sams II
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/21/2015


This is a delightful book that children will enjoy. The photography is excellent. The story is a simple one, humorous and complementing the photos. It could serve as a wonderful bedtime story.


Sweet Salt Air
Sweet Salt Air
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/27/2015


This is a delightful book for summer reading. I also learned a great deal about MS and its treatment.


Totally Teabreads/Quick and Easy Recipes for More Than 60 Delicious Quick Breads and Spreads
Review Date: 9/24/2014


Having made much use of the earlier books by Albright and Weiner, I was a bit disappointed in this one. I expected more variety.


The Twenty-One Balloons
The Twenty-One Balloons
Author: William Pene du Bois
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 8/29/2014


This whimsical book is a delight. I had it ready in the house when my grand-daughters, ages 8 and 11, came this summer and they loved it.


1 to 20 of 20