Paula G. (Paulathegreat) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 87 - Page:
Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 2/23/2016


This book was ridiculous. Alice comes off as bratty and sexually precocious. Dodgeson as a pedophile. Both would be insulted by this book.


Amen, Amen, Amen: Memoir of a Girl Who Couldn't Stop Praying (Among Other Things)
Review Date: 1/10/2014


She is OK as an author, but really annoying as an narrator. She literally reads periods in the middle of Every sentence and inflects in a snotty adolescent sort of way.


Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture
Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture
Author: Michael A. Bellesiles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/3/2015


The author claims to use documents that were destroyed in the San Francisco earthquake of 1906. That means he didn't just misread the documents, he didn't even try to find the documents to research because he knew his thesis wasn't backed up.

When his friend offered to review the data to help him clear his name, he didn't return their calls because he knew the data didn't exist.


Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture
Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture
Author: Michael Bellesiles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/3/2015


The author claims to use documents that were destroyed in the San Francisco earthquake of 1906. That means he didn't just misread the documents, he didn't even try to find the documents to research because he knew his thesis wasn't backed up.

When his friend offered to review the data to help him clear his name, he didn't return their calls because he knew the data didn't exist.


Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture
Arming America: The Origins of a National Gun Culture
Author: Michael Bellesiles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/3/2015


Henry,
The author claims to use documents that were destroyed in the San Francisco earthquake of 1906. That means he didn't just misread the documents, he didn't even try to find the documents to research because he knew his thesis wasn't backed up.

When his friend offered to review the data to help him clear his name, he didn't return their calls because he knew the data didn't exist.


As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as A Girl
As Nature Made Him : The Boy Who Was Raised as A Girl
Author: John Colapinto
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 3/31/2015


Heartwrenching.


The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 7/7/2016


Racist. AntiAmerican. Ignorant.


The Best Little Girl in the World
The Best Little Girl in the World
Author: Steven Levenkron
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/4/2015


Well written.

For a psychology book written in 1979 (in the Freudian period)it is very realistic. Mostly from the point of view of the patient.

Minor characters were somewhat cardboard. (the black hospital room mate, the parents, the siblings)


Better for All the World: The Secret History of Forced Sterilization and America's Quest for Racial Purity
Review Date: 1/22/2017


I am fascinated by the Buck case and the eugenics movement. However, this book was just hard to read. I don't know why. It just seemed patronizing and self righteous to me.


Bold Spirit : Helga Estby's Forgotten Walk Across Victorian America
Review Date: 3/21/2012


The beginning was a little slow, but at the end it paid off.
I would have liked to know her. She was stubborn and independent, but I really think she did do it for her family.


The Boy Who Came Back from Heaven: A Remarkable Account of Miracles, Angels, and Life beyond This World
Review Date: 2/28/2015


The boy in this book has recanted.


The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science
Review Date: 1/7/2017


I wish I had this book when my aunt had her stroke. This is a fascinating look at brain science and the potential of changing and healing our brains.


Celia, A Slave
Celia, A Slave
Author: Melton A. Mclaurin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/10/2013


This book is well written and will hold your interest.

However, I think what is significant is what isn't looked at.
The book is profoundly ignorant in ways such as the author uses modern rape studies to guess what Celia must have must thinking when her master first came to her bed. Someone who was raised in slavery will not see herself or the world the same way as a modern feminist who is raped in a parking garage.
He does not think or seem to consider about the effect of bondage on her perception. If one is raised to think her purpose in life is to serve and to please the master, what will be the effect on her psyche if he wants sex. Contemporary sources report that being the master's concubine was a position of status. Celia may have thought that she had it made. Or she may have been even more in despair because she knew she was bound to this man until she displeased him enough to make him sell her.
Other parts of the book show similar lack of deep thought on the issue.


The Children's Blizzard
The Children's Blizzard
Author: David Laskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 6/29/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Very compelling.
It is not an easy read. Partly because of the amount of detail and research. Partly because it is about the horrible deaths and suffering of children.
However it is an important book.
As Americans, we too often forget the price that was paid to make us the super power we are. We also too often listen to people who demonize our ancestors, who were really just poor people trying to survive and make a better life for their children.


The Church Invisible: A Journey into the Future of the UK Church
The Church Invisible: A Journey into the Future of the UK Church
Author: Nick Page
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/26/2013


This book makes some good points. However, I am concerned that Mr. Page presents the church as another social organization. He does not address at all the spiritual side of church-death.
The questions section does not once ask "Are you praying for new members?" or "Are you praying for the Holy Spirit/revival?" Nor does it ask "Does your church strive to do the will of God in spite of the cultural barriers?"
The modern church is seen as irrelevant to seekers because it is irrelevant to members. We claim to have "something the world can not give", yet people like Mr. Page want to advance the church by the same ways the world advances. Meantime, people are dying for want of a church that moves in the power of God.


City Kid
City Kid
Author: Mary MacCracken
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/23/2015


This is the kind of book I would have written before I taught disturbed children. It is idealisticly romantic, but completely unrealistic.


City Kid
City Kid
Author: Mary MacCracken
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/23/2015


This is the kind of book I would have written before I taught disturbed children. It is idealisticly romantic, but completely unrealistic.


The Clumsiest People in Europe : Or, Mrs. Mortimer's Bad-Tempered Guide to the Victorian World
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I found it interesting that the author's note takes the same tone about Ms. Mortimer as Ms. Mortimer took with the world.


Confessions of a Prep School Mommy Handler: A Memoir
Confessions of a Prep School Mommy Handler: A Memoir
Author: Wade Rouse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 6/29/2014


Whiney and bitchy. It is funny in places, but the intention is to hurt people who annoyed him. Really, most of the book is just another gay guy whining that everyone in the entire world doesn't condone his sex life.


Review Date: 4/3/2016


In spite of the description, this book is really mostly about the love of God.


1 to 20 of 87 - Page: