Marjorie H. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 285 - Page:
The Accidental Bride (Bride, Bk 2)
The Accidental Bride (Bride, Bk 2)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 2/21/2006


part of the brides series; a good read.


Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Always (Forever Trilogy, Book 3)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 10/9/2005


Jude Deveraux books are always good; I've exceptional enjoyed this trilogy.


Bachelor Tax (Harlequin Historical, No 496)
Bachelor Tax (Harlequin Historical, No 496)
Author: Carolyn Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/13/2006
Helpful Score: 5


Carolyn Davidson Americana stories are meaningful, morally rich and surprisingly sensous-and they almost alwaays feature tall, dark and handsome heroes. Continuing in that vein is the Bachelor Tax, and endearing marriage of convenience story about a least likely to marry "bad boy" rancher who tries to avoid a local bachelor tax by proposing to the one woman he's sure will say no--the prim preacher's daughter. Also throws in two mistreated kids to make a really good read. I enjoyed it.


Bad Business (Spenser, No 31) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/1/2007


unabridged


Bad Neighbors (Large Print)
Bad Neighbors (Large Print)
Author: K. K. Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/19/2006


Story of an already stressed family; being gradually taken over by the new next door neighbor, trying to make this family her own.


The Baynes Clan: Montana Horseman
The Baynes Clan: Montana Horseman
Author: John S. McCord
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 12/28/2005


If you haven't read any John McCord books, you're in for a treat. These remind me of Louis L'Amours series about the Sacketts. It's the first book of a series about the Baynes clan; father and sons. I highly recommend it.


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 879
Review Date: 1/5/2006


I haven't found a book of hers yet that I haven't enjoyed. They lift your spirits if you're down. Funny with a good story.


Better Off Wed (Annabelle Archer, Bk 1)
Better Off Wed (Annabelle Archer, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Durham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 2/24/2006


The murder of a particularly difficult mother-of-the-bride has cast a pall on wedding planner Annabelle Archer's latest triump--and suspicion falls heavily on her sometime-business partner and friend Richard Gerard. Annabelle knows that even her trusted wedding emergency kit won't be able to salvage their careers if she and Richard can't find the real culprit.


Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 2)
Beyond Tuesday Morning (9/11, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 8/4/2006


A terrible tragedy; one woman's discovery. A chance to love again.


A Bicycle Built for Two: Meet Me at the Fair (Zebra Ballad Romance)
A Bicycle Built for Two: Meet Me at the Fair (Zebra Ballad Romance)
Author: Alice Duncan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/21/2006


this is a good historial romance; lets you look in the life styles back then; the hardships and the very interesting facts of the early fairs. I enjoyed it.


Big Gamble, The (Kevin Kerney)
Big Gamble, The (Kevin Kerney)
Author: Michael McGarrity
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/18/2006


this is an unabridged 7 hour long play; 5 cassettes. From the back:
when a fire in an abandoned fruit stand in rural Lincoln County reveals the murdered body of a woman gone missing from Santa Fe years ago, Police Chief Kevin Kerney finds himself cooperating with his estranged son, a man he hardly knows. Deputy Sheriff Clayton Istee. While Kerney digs into the woman's past, hoping to find clues that will lead to a credible suspect, Clayton must unravel two more homicides that seem on the surface totally unrelated.
As Kerney chases down clues that raise questions about the legitimacy of a highly regarded modeling and talent agency. Clayton works to discover the identity of a murder suspect alleged to have ties to prostitution and illegal gambling.
Set against the backdrop of the high mountains of southern New Mexico, where gambling is big business and private sexual encounters for VIPs can be discreetly arranged. Kerney and Clayton must go up against the rich and politically powerful opponents who are willing to protect their reputations at all cost.


The Big Scoop (Harlequin Flipside, No 30)
The Big Scoop (Harlequin Flipside, No 30)
Author: Sandra Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/15/2006


Sally Darville's Fabulous Plan for Saving the Town:
1) Treat taste buds with new flavors of ice cream. It makes people happy; it makes for news; both of which mean more publicity.
2)Invite award-winning journalist Jack Gold to visit.
3)Ignore his bad temper, his impatient ways, the fact that he's a hottie...Focus on his mind, not his...oh, that body...
4)Enlist friends and family to keep Jack from leaving until he gets the story, And only the story!
5)Do not seduce Jack (After all, the man's going to leave you for the next big scoop.)


Review Date: 2/13/2006


follow a vampire hunter who can be as deadly as her prey. Meet a downhome southern girl who's found out, much to her chargrin, that vampires are her type. Feel the euphoria of fear in the shadow of a reluctant Queen of the Undead. Step closer to the hot-blooded edge of passion as a strange new mythology of the night is unveiled. Five authors; Laurell K. Hamilton, Charlaine Harris, MaryJanice Davidson, Angela Knight and Vickie Taylor make for one good read.
s


A Bite to Remember (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 5)
A Bite to Remember (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 5)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 601
Review Date: 12/10/2006


another good vampire book by Lynsay Sands.


The Black Country (Murder Squad, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/20/2014


I'd never heard of this author before; but enjoyed the BOT very much, plan to look up and read others and new ones to come. Enjoyable mystery.
Margie H.


Black Water (Merci Rayborn)
Black Water (Merci Rayborn)
Author: T. Jefferson Parker
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2014


I started this thinking it might not be that good; but it was, very good!!


Black Water (Tango Key, Bk 2)
Black Water (Tango Key, Bk 2)
Author: T. J. MacGregor
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/20/2006


I always look forward to any new T.G.MacGregor. This isn't new ; but it's good.On the back cover; For years, children have been disappearing without a trace in the Florida Keys. And no one, not even the FBI, has suspected that it could be the work of a single twisted psychopath. Now, with her daughter gone--abducted by a killer consumed by a desire to change his past and his future--one mother will do whatever it takes to find her child, even if it means following her through the darkest passages of the unknown, to a place where each choice has terrifying consequences no one can possibly forsee. I really liked this book; one of those you don't want to put down.


Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Blessed is the Busybody (Ministry Is Murder, Bk 1)
Author: Emilie Richards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 9/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


this is the first in a new series; I really enjoyed it and plan to continue reading the others when they come out.


Blessings from the Good Earth
Blessings from the Good Earth
Author: Buddy Schrader
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 10/2/2006


I can't rate this book since I haven't taken the time to read it. It was a gift to me and looks good but I know myself and I'll proably never get around to it. Has 13 pages of health and home remedies, and neat old black and white pictures``. It's a young boy's story of the depression in Gonzales, Texas. The author has presented a wonderful account of rural life in Central Texas during the middle of the 20th century. It was a period of strong moral values and family ties with a sense of community responsibility in America.


Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, Bk 5)
Blind Alley (Eve Duncan, Bk 5)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 469
Review Date: 10/9/2005


good read.


1 to 20 of 285 - Page: