Bonita M. (lovescoffee) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 51 - Page:
The Good Mother
The Good Mother
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is only the second undamaged book I've ever thrown away. It was that bad.


A Grave Talent (Kate Martinelli, Bk 1)
A Grave Talent (Kate Martinelli, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/9/2016


This is great mystery literature. It begins a little cliche, but by the end of the second chapter, I was hooked. The characters are unique and appealing...unless you are a psychiatrist. There are frank breaches of therapeutic boundaries, but, hey, it's fiction. The plot has twists and turns, a subtle hint or two will have you doubting your intuition. An odd thing I noticed is the writing style shifts in the last quarter of the book. I found it mildly annoying, but I'm glad I didn't stop! If I didn't already own such a huge pile of TBRs, I would be searching for the sequel.


Hallowed Murder (Jane Lawless, Bk 1)
Hallowed Murder (Jane Lawless, Bk 1)
Author: Ellen Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/10/2012


I didn't finish it. I just couldn't get into it.


Hemlock Bay (FBI Thriller, Bk 6)
Hemlock Bay (FBI Thriller, Bk 6)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 4/5/2009


Subplots mesh very poorly. Writer didn't do her homework. The whole reference to the escape from the criminal psych ward made me laugh out loud! Totally ignorant of psych policy and procedure. The writer doesn't even seem to know how long milk, cereal and apples keep! I wouldn't recommend it.


High Hearts
High Hearts
Author: Rita Mae Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/21/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Wondering if this is a good book? I've read it before and bought it to read it again... and again! It's on the same par with Gone With the Wind.


I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
Author: Maya Angelou
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was so much more than I expected. It made me laugh, made me cry, and made me feel homicidal. I loved it!


The Inspector Barlach Mysteries: The Judge and His Hangman and Suspicion
Review Date: 9/21/2010


Don't judge a book by it's cover! The first story made me laugh a few times. Neither of these stories is scary. They're suspenseful. I wasn't even close to guessing the endings until the last few pages, and even then, there's a twist! Loved this book!


Labyrinths: Selected Stories & Other Writings (New Directions Paperbook)
Review Date: 1/13/2013


Not my cup of tea. So cerebral, it made my brain hurt.


LITTLE BEAR
LITTLE BEAR
Author: ELSE HOLMELUND MINARIK
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/10/2012


One of my favorite books as a child. A must-read!


Looking for Mr. Preston
Looking for Mr. Preston
Author: Laura Antoniou (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/19/2009


After the first few interviews and biographical pieces, it became redundant. Preston was a talented author who mentored new gay authors. Okay, I get it. I don't have to read it twenty times. I flipped to the back of the book and read the fiction inspired by Preston and found them totally enjoyable.I give the nonfiction portion a two and the fiction portion a four.


Love Speaks Her Name
Love Speaks Her Name
Author: Laura DeHart Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/21/2010


Although the main character disappointed me a few times, the story definitely did not! It's filled with intrigue and suspense with just the right touch of romance. There were a couple of bloopers, but not the annoying kind. The kind that made me giggle. Not one I'd read over and over, but makes me want more by this author. A fun read!


Loving Her
Loving Her
Author: Ann Allen Shockley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/23/2009


Not your usual Lesbian fiction. This is literature.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Loved this book! I was expecting the book to focus on the intersex individual, but actually most of the family (three generations), play a prominent role. Very enjoyable. Difficult to put down.


The More Than Complete Hitchhiker's Guide
The More Than Complete Hitchhiker's Guide
Author: Douglas Adams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/16/2009


Strange, witty and hilarious. I loved it!


Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 4/7/2009


I'm not a big sci-fi fan, but I couldn't put this one down. It's written like a memoir with tantalizing hints throughout the book. The only thing I didn't like was toward the end when the girl is reminiscing about reminiscing! But it was only mildly annoying.


Once upon a Dyke: New Exploits of Fairy Tale Lesbians
Review Date: 4/13/2012


I laughed all the way through this book! Always thinking to myself, "I KNOW her!"


The Rampa Story
The Rampa Story
Author: T. Lobsang Rampa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Didn't like this as much as his others. Seems to be a bit full of himself in this one.


Saturday
Saturday
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 4/7/2009


Minute by minute account of one day in the life of a neurosurgeon. I hated the first half of the first chapter. It gets much better after that. I especially enjoyed the play-by-play in the operating room. It's very technical, but put in terms even a layman can understand. It was sometimes easy to tell what might happen next, but there are still a few curveballs. I will definitely read more of this author's work!


A Separate Peace
A Separate Peace
Author: John Knowles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/11/2009


I'm so glad I had to read this in high school! Knowles makes it so easy to see yourself and examine your own potential actions faced with the same situation. I enjoyed it enough to buy and read the sequel, Phineas.


The Slave Ship: A Human History
The Slave Ship: A Human History
Author: Marcus Rediker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Not at all what I thought it would be. If he had left out some of the dimensions, perhaps I wouldn't have felt like I was reading a description of Noah's ark. I was expecting a much more moving account. Left me feeling like there must be something wrong with me. Every other book about slavery I've read has made me cry. This one nearly bored me to tears.


21 to 40 of 51 - Page: