William E. - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
Age of Conan: Hyborian Adventures Official Strategy Guide (Official Strategy Guides)
Review Date: 6/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This product did not impress me at all. It was basically an extended game manual. A little useful, but nothing invaluable.


The Ancient Engineers
The Ancient Engineers
Author: L. Sprague de Camp
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/21/2007


Excellent! this book is way more interesting and engaging than the title suggests. I only picked it up because I have read L. Sprague De Camp's Conan books and wanted to see what he offered in way of non-fiction. I am so glad that I did!
With this book, you get a broad view of engineers and the inventions that forever changed and advanced human civilization. He gives plenty of historical reference to give a clear time line in your mind of these progresses. A great resource for any history or engineering buff.

5 Stars!


Answers to Tough Questions Skeptics Ask About the Christian Faith
Answers to Tough Questions Skeptics Ask About the Christian Faith
Author: Josh McDowell, Don Stewart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/25/2007
Helpful Score: 6


The title of this book is very misleading. I was hoping for some sort of intelligent answers to some very real questions and concerns that skeptics have. All the author did was talk about how the Bible says this or the Bible says that. The author talks a lot about evidence and proof but fails to present any outside the Bible.


Anthem
Anthem
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 8/12/2010


Great fictional story highlighting the problems and dangers of communism. The main character rediscovers the forbidden concept of "I". Good stuff and a quick read.


Bart Simpson's Guide to Life: A Wee Handbook for the Perplexed
Bart Simpson's Guide to Life: A Wee Handbook for the Perplexed
Author: Matt Groening
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 12/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A cute, funny little book. Lots of colorful comic art. Nothing too great but worth a read. Also a quick read. Perfect for when you are in the mood for something light or waiting somewhere.


Battle Cry (Robotech, Bk 2)
Battle Cry (Robotech, Bk 2)
Author: Jack McKinney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Book two of the Robotech series. I like these books more than I thought I would. The story is action packed with a continuing story line. The whole "Miss Macross" pageant thing was a little monotonous for me but the the story is really taking me in. I am going to read the third book now to see what happens. The book is a quick read and entertaining. No deep thought involved. Great for those times I want to take a break from philosophy, science and history reading. Fun!


Battlehymn (Robotech, No 4)
Battlehymn (Robotech, No 4)
Author: Jack McKinney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/23/2008


The Robotech saga continues! This volume puts a new spin on things with the Zentradi warriors having problems with warriors defecting to live with the humans! I can't wait to see what happens next!


The Big Domino in the Sky: And Other Atheistic Tales
The Big Domino in the Sky: And Other Atheistic Tales
Author: Michael Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/21/2007


This book is good but not great. Michael Martin is a very intelligent writer with many valid points. The problem is that fiction is not really his strong point. Several of the tales were very entertaining, some were okay and a few were not so great. The message of the book is not missed at all, so that helps redeem the unimaginative fiction.


The Biology of "Star Trek"
The Biology of "Star Trek"
Author: Robert Jenkins, Susan Jenkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/20/2007


Very interesting. This book delves into the biological aspects of Star Trek. The topics of interest are whether or not many of the things portrayed in the various Star Trek series are actually possible or likely. Some of the answers may surprise you as they did me! I recommend this book to anyone who is an avid Star Trek fan. Those not familiar with Star Trek will not get all of the references used.


Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Blink : The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 367
Review Date: 1/13/2011


In Blink, Malcolm Gladwell does not exactly cover anything new (modern psychology has covered this topic extensively), but he does present the material in a refreshing and entertaining way. The idea of the snap judgment or intuition being a product of some very complex calculations on the part of the subconscious is a fascinating topic of discussion.


The Bloody Crown of Conan (Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2)
The Bloody Crown of Conan (Conan of Cimmeria, Book 2)
Author: Robert E. Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent! No one writes Conan stories quite like the original! Robert E. Howard's tales are action packed, full of evil villains and fair helpless maidens. The best story in the volume is "The Hour of The Dragon". This is the best Conan story I have yet to read! 5 Stars!


By Force of Arms
By Force of Arms
Author: William Dietz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/27/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great action sci-fi entertainment. Dietz adds plenty of political schemes and maneuvers without making the plot bulky and hard to follow. There are plenty of battles and crash landings to keep it exciting. Very well rounded. Also a quick read. Good stuff. Check out the whole series.


The Conquest of Gaul
The Conquest of Gaul
Author: Julius Caesar, S. A. Handford (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Tons of historical details for the history nerd. Written by the man himself, Julius Caesar. It is of course, quite biased in his favor. This book is interesting because it is the only surviving account of a major campaign written by any of the Gre...at Generals of antiquity. Caesar was a man of many talents and this book was, at the time of its writing, just another of his many political tools and ploys.


The Constitution of the United States : An Introduction, Revised and Updated Edition
Review Date: 11/30/2010


Excellent reference for studying the constitution. It has the original text with annotations as well as simplified text to help understand the meaning. I used this to study for a test over the constitution in my college government class and passed with flying colors.


Darth Bane: Path of Destruction (Star  Wars)
Darth Bane: Path of Destruction (Star Wars)
Author: Drew Karpyshyn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was awesome! I had not read a Star Wars novel for several years and I missed them so I picked this up and was not disappointed! Darth Bane is the prophesied one who breaks the Sith in order to rebuild them back to their former glory. Plenty of Sith philosophy and action.


The Darwin Awards: Evolution in Action
The Darwin Awards: Evolution in Action
Author: Wendy Northcutt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 10/4/2007


Funny! This book details many "lucky" winners who have won a Darwin Award for taking themselves out of the gene pool by their own stupidity. These people have been killed doing the most stupid and thoughtless things that you can imagine any human being doing. Even gives the sources of the information so you can get more info if you wish. Some of these made me laugh out loud to myself.

4 Stars


The Declaration of Independents: How Libertarian Politics Can Fix What's Wrong with America
Review Date: 10/9/2011


A libertarian book that is actually optimistic in tone! The authors remind us that government is not the answer to our problems nor can it hold us down. Let's declare independence from politics! Excellently refreshing break from the normal doom and gloom vision of ever expanding government.


Doomsday (#6) (Robotech, No 6)
Doomsday (#6) (Robotech, No 6)
Author: Jack Mckinney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 6/23/2008


This is the last of the "first generation" of Robotech. Lots of main characters are killed off. The book ends on a grim note. Humans seem to have no hope. The next book begins the "second generation". This one is not the best book in the series.


Ender's Game (Ender, Bk 1)
Ender's Game (Ender, Bk 1)
Author: Orson Scott Card
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 958
Review Date: 6/21/2009


I can see why this is considered a classic. Quite interesting.


The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, Part 1)
The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings, Part 1)
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 11/24/2009


What can I say about this book that has not already been said? It is a classic, plain and simple. Tolkien is the father of the modern fantasy tale.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: