Lynne T. (mignon) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 188 - Page:
The Accidental Bride (Bride, Bk 2)
The Accidental Bride (Bride, Bk 2)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 7/28/2017


I really liked the characters in this story. I was glad to see some of the characters from the first story spilled over into this own. Hope I am not giving to much away, but I was glad that for once one of the characters didn't do anything stupid to move the story along. Recommend.


The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet, Bk 4)
The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet, Bk 4)
Author: Madeline Hunter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/30/2014


In my opinion this story was not Madeline Hunter's best effort. The basis of the story was lacking. No Spoiler-the summary on the back cover tells you that Lady Lydia is being blackmailed. Lady Lydia was portrayed as an intelligent young woman in her 20's. She was so intelligent she kept doing stupid things. She was a daughter and sister of a Duke, whose best friend was a Duke. If she was so intelligent, she would have known that Dukes can take care of things like blackmail. Her excuse was that she didn't want her brother to berate her over her book. Well, he was going to that anyway because she kept getting caught doing the stupid things. It amazed me that by the end of the book she seemed to get her intelligence back. I think I would have liked it better if Ms. Hunter had taken a different tack after the blackmail was introduced. If you have read the three other books in this series, you might want to read it. You will find out the truth about Lakewood. It's up to you!


An Affair Of Honor (Signet Regency Romance)
An Affair Of Honor (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Candice Hern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/22/2013


Disappointed


After the Abduction (Swanlea Spinsters, No 3)
After the Abduction (Swanlea Spinsters, No 3)
Author: Sabrina Jeffries
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 12/31/2017


Lots and Lots of filler-so really fast read. The story is fine, but without filler could be really 'short'! Of course, it is a series so on to the next installment. My husband asked if these books were written on a formula. Answer: 'Yes', but like a soap opera. I have to stay tuned!


The Alehouse Murders (Templar Knight, Bk 1)
The Alehouse Murders (Templar Knight, Bk 1)
Author: Maureen Ash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 8/29/2016


I am into another medieval mystery series. My library friend keeps recommending and I keep reading her recommendations. This story takes place in the 1200's with the main character being a Knight Templar. I have read some about the Templar's, but this one is on a more personal level and I like learning at that level. It seems more real. It is interesting to me that the people of the time had the same concerns as we do. However, they didn't have the modern conveniences to aid them in their journey. I like Bascot and the characters that will support him in this series. This is the first book so I have just now been introduced to them. I am looking forward to knowing them better and seeing how Bascot deals with the decisions he must make about the Templar Order. Recommend


All I Ever Needed (Zebra Historical Romance)
All I Ever Needed (Zebra Historical Romance)
Author: Jo Goodman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 9/25/2017


I love this series. It has a little bit of everything: intrigue, suspense, romance, some humor. It is not a fast read. There is a lot of dialog between the characters. Normally, this would be filler that I would skip. However, all of the conversations contain information that moves the story forward. It is really interesting how Ms. Goodman overlays the time period from book to book. It gave me a reminder of how the previous story fit into the next one. Recommend!


Along Came a Duke (Rhymes with Love, Bk 1)
Along Came a Duke (Rhymes with Love, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Boyle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 5/30/2013


This has to be one of the silliest books I have read in a long time. I think it was supposed to be funny, but fell way short. The story line and the hero, heroine, and their cast of characters were fine, but the thread that tied them together was not. Of course, now that I know the characters I will have to read the next installment. I guess I am just curious to see if this saga can be redeemed in it. I marked it 'liked' because of the characters and the plot.


Amber (Jewel, Bk 3)
Amber (Jewel, Bk 3)
Author: Lauren Royal
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/19/2016


Last book of the trilogy. I normally read in the Regency Period. However, after receiving a free e-book I decided to finish this 1600's series. I can't say that it was written in the period, but I got some sense of the 1660's. You will think when you get to through the first fifty pages that you are going to fast read your way through this love story. I thought the happily ever-after was at the beginning. However, hold on to your hat. The story picks up and you will have to hurry to keep up. There will be some surprises, well maybe a lot of them. Hope you enjoy the read. Recommend


Angel's Rest (Eternity Springs, Bk 1)
Angel's Rest (Eternity Springs, Bk 1)
Author: Emily March
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 8/18/2014


I thought I might be reading Nora Roberts, Jude Deveraux, Janet Chapman. This first book of the Eternity Springs series has captured me. Of course, it being the first book of 9.5 books, all of the characters are introduced and the scene is set. Gabe's and Nicole's story is a little redundant at times, but you'll get through it for the 'happy ever after'. I am hoping that Ms. March takes pity on me, the reader, and will give me a 'Gabe and Nicole' update from time to time. Recommend!


The Anodyne Necklace (Richard Jury, Bk 3)
The Anodyne Necklace (Richard Jury, Bk 3)
Author: Martha Grimes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 1/3/2018


I am totally hooked on Richard Jury and am starting to read my way to the most current book. There is a good mystery, good characters, and some humor in each story. It is light/fast reading, but sometimes it's good to get a break from the more complicated stories. Reading Martha Grimes puts me in mind of the style of Agatha Christie. In fact, the promo touts her to be the next Christie or Sayers. Recommend.


Arabella
Arabella
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/26/2017


I love reading Georgette Heyer (Hair). Arabella did not disappoint. There were times in the story that were tedious and boring, but easily skipped...but not too many. The characters were fun and romantic in keeping with the period. I love that I can actually read a 'Regency' story and get a sense of the language and the culture without adding all of the sex and angst. Recommend if you need a break from the 'modern' version of a Regency Romance story.


The Arrangement (Survivors' Club, Bk 2)
The Arrangement (Survivors' Club, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 8/11/2014
Helpful Score: 2


I am not sure how this happened, but this is the second time I have read this book. I am really glad I did! I had forgotten all of the details and needed to be reminded of them. I think Vincent and Sophia are two of my favorites in this series. Of course, I cannot think of on Hero or Heroine that Mary Balogh has created that I have not liked. I even liked some of the minor characters and hope they get their story told one day. Recommend!


The Art of Taming a Rake (Legendary Lovers, Bk 4)
The Art of Taming a Rake (Legendary Lovers, Bk 4)
Author: Nicole Jordan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/30/2016


One thing about this series-it is a fast read for 399 pages. Most everything I needed to know about the relationship between the H/H was covered in the first chapter. From then on everything was rehashed again and again. Of course, 'the seduction' was included in the rehashing. The mystery was the glue that kept it together. Therefore, I skipped all of the rehashing and read the meat. It took part of one day (on and off) to finish this story. Recommend for the characters and their stories. However, you might think about the 'skip' reading technique to move things along.


The Art of Temptation
The Art of Temptation
Author: Lauren Royal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 10/11/2016


Last one in the series. Do not despair; everyone gets their happy ending. Of course, you knew that already. I loved how it all turned out. Recommend!


The Bargain
The Bargain
Author: Jane Ashford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/29/2016


It was a strange story with strange characters. However, I was glad to have read it. I recently read 'Heir to the Duke' and this is a prequel. Ms. Ashford made note of the fact she had written 'The Bargain' earlier, 1997 to be exact, and she thought it would be interesting to tell the other brothers' stories. I would have thought that would have been a given, since they all appeared in 'The Bargain'. They all played some part in the younger brother's (Alan) story. I am glad if finally dawned on her to continue with this family saga.


Beau Crusoe (Harlequin Historical, No 839)
Beau Crusoe (Harlequin Historical, No 839)
Author: Carla Kelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 1/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first Carla Kelly book that I have read. Someone on Mary Balogh's chat site had recommended her books. This was a good recommendation for I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It has a good balance between humor, romance and drama. I think you will like it. It does include a subject that could be offensive to you...beware. I will not reveal it because it will ruin the story.


Because of Miss Bridgerton (Bridgertons, Prequel)
Because of Miss Bridgerton (Bridgertons, Prequel)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 4/20/2016


I just do not know how Julia Quinn does it. She can take the most common plot and capture your attention. I love the humor she brings to a story. There were several places where I had to laugh out loud. Most of the time I was smiling. I also love all of the Bridgerton's. I have got to go back and see how Billie fits into the Bridgerton Family Ancestry Chart. Waiting for the next installment. Recommend.


Bedding Lord Ned (Duchess of Love, Bk 1)
Bedding Lord Ned (Duchess of Love, Bk 1)
Author: Sally MacKenzie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/3/2014


Definitely a light read. Draggy at times and a really quick 'happily ever after' ending. The author never convinced me that the hero felt that 'the second time around' was going to be better than the first one. Some of those draggy pages could have been used to convince him and me that he was getting a better deal this time. I still want to find out what happens to the other characters. I'll stick it out until I do.


Bethlehem Road  (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, Bk 10)
Bethlehem Road (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, Bk 10)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 4/10/2015


This was one of Ms. Perry's better stories. You will begin to doubt if the mystery will be solved by Thomas or Charlotte. Even though I had a suspicion of who the culprit was, I was surprised in the end. I guessed right, but didn't know the motive. I am not sure, even now, the whole story and I doubt I ever know. We were also treated to letters from Emily from her honeymoon on the Continent, a minus in my opinion. They added nothing to this story, but acted as filler so we could learn about Paris, Venice, and Florence. Oh well, on to the next installment. Still recommending this series!


Between the Devil and Desire (Scoundrels of St. James, Bk 2)
Between the Devil and Desire (Scoundrels of St. James, Bk 2)
Author: Lorraine Heath
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 1/17/2018


Well, I am hooked on another series. I really didn't think I would like Jack's story, but I really did. There is a little romance with all that goes along with it and a little mystery. Also, I like that the characters of this story are moving along with each book. Look forward to the next one! The story moves quickly, but there are a few scenes that could have hit the cutting room floor. They seemed only to lengthen the story not strengthen it. Recommend.


1 to 20 of 188 - Page: