Wendy P. (wpoohd) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
Alice Bliss
Alice Bliss
Author: Laura Harrington
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/16/2013


A poignant novel about a teenage girl and her relationship with her father; then how the relationship changes when her father is shipped off to war. This tells the heartwarming and heartbreaking tale of day to day life of a family that includes a soldier. The rich details help you empathize with all the characters.


Back to the Bedroom
Back to the Bedroom
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 6/21/2006


I picked this up because I enjoy the author, her characters are usually delightfully quirky. A quick read.


The Bluest Blood (Amanda Pepper Mysteries)
The Bluest Blood (Amanda Pepper Mysteries)
Author: Gillian Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/19/2007


Cute mystery. First Amanda Pepper series I've read, will be sure to check out others in the series. I absolutely loved the last line of the book! You have to read it to see why!!


A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
A Bone to Pick (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 366
Review Date: 2/2/2010


On this second book of the series I was pleased to see a little more character development for Aurora although I am curious how she is going to keep herself busy in the next book since she ***spoiler alert*** quit her job in this book. Course I guess maybe that's the intention to keep the reader guessing and reading! Nice light mystery with a likable heroine.


Born to Rise: A Story of Children and Teachers Reaching Their Highest Potential
Review Date: 4/18/2013


A must read for all people interested in the future of education. A compelling story of one woman's search for the "perfect school". Told from a personal point of view which allows the reader to enter into the lives of these remarkable teachers and students; through the narrative the reader begins to believe that all people can be remarkable. Hopeful stories.


The Boy on Cinnamon Street
The Boy on Cinnamon Street
Author: Phoebe Stone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/15/2013


This a great book to work with readers on the concept of an unreliable narrator. An enjoyable YA novel that has likable characters and at the same time addressing some hard subjects like suicide.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 7/26/2006


Laugh out loud funny!


The Chocolate Cat Caper (Chocoholic, Bk 1)
The Chocolate Cat Caper (Chocoholic, Bk 1)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/10/2006


light mystery


Dark Horse (Elena Estes, Bk 1)
Dark Horse (Elena Estes, Bk 1)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 441
Review Date: 6/25/2006


The main character, an ex-cop, goes through some interesting self-discovery. The text drew me in, with a sneaky twist at the end.


Dead Beat (Dresden Files, Bk 7)
Dead Beat (Dresden Files, Bk 7)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 1/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I think this is my favorite Dresden book so far. I love Harry's character for the same reason I enjoy Stephanie Plum (Janet Evanovich)and Mercy Thompson (Patricia Briggs) they're all smart-alecky tough guys. The character of Butters is showcased in this book and I enjoyed getting to know this polka loving coroner. Harry's skills are put the test as per usual and in the end he has to trust people he doesn't like. A rollicking good read, and I love the pun in the title (after you read the book you'll get it).


Dragon Flight (Dragon Slippers, Bk 2)
Dragon Flight (Dragon Slippers, Bk 2)
Author: Jessica Day George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/4/2014


I really enjoyed Jessica Day George's portrayal of Creel and her world. The fantastical is believable because of the great descriptions and the inclusion of how the characters are feeling. You with you could be there with Creel and fly with her and the dragons.


Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman's Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia
Review Date: 6/16/2013


I fully expected to think this book was okay but not great, I mean how much in common could I have with a woman who had the luxury of taking of a year off and the ability to travel to three separate countries during that time? However her self-honesty is so completely compelling you can't help but empathize with her struggles. I very enjoyable read that encourages self examination.


Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Face the Fire (Three Sisters Island, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1102
Review Date: 8/7/2006


This is the best of the trilogy - a great wrap up and fitting culmination!


Fleece Navidad (Knitting Mystery, Bk 6)
Fleece Navidad (Knitting Mystery, Bk 6)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this mystery good storyline and like-able characters. There were a lot of characters to keep track of, I kept forgetting who was who's boyfriend, who was the real estate agent, etc. Maybe if I started with the first book in the series it wouldn't have been quite so confusing. All in all a good, quick read.


Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, Bk 7)
Frost Burned (Mercy Thompson, Bk 7)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 3/15/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I have enjoyed this whole series however, I was a little concerned with the previous book River Marked, which is the weakest of the series so far. Well no worries here - my wise-cracking, shape-shifting, fun-filled heroine, Mercy is back! A rollicking urban fantasy with all your favorite characters that keeps you guessing until the end who the real bad guy is. A must read for all Briggs fans.


The Goldfinch: A Novel
The Goldfinch: A Novel
Author: Donna Tartt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 2/4/2014
Helpful Score: 3


I actually was very frustrated with this book for about 50% of it. I was not empathizing with Theo, the main character at all, his troubles were all self induced. The authors descriptions of people and events were beautiful, and vivid so this kept me reading. Then almost at the end of the book I was pretty distressed because there was no way things were going to turn out well for the characters that I did like, specifically Hobie. However, the ending is amazing everything turns out well with an unexpected twist and a deeper meaning, you have to read it to find out!


Gone Girl
Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 744
Review Date: 4/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is really well written, very clever, and an intriguing page turner. However, I did not like it at all. The characters were written with plenty of description and depth but, I loathed them. They were shallow and self-serving people and I had no desire or care to know what happened to them. I like books where I can empathize with the characters, which is why I disliked this book. If it is not important to you to like the characters of the book, then you will probably enjoy this novel with it's intricate plot twists and unexpected ending.


Goodbye, Jimmy Choo
Goodbye, Jimmy Choo
Author: Annie Sanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 1/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


If you are an anglophile this is the book for you. I don't know about anyone else but, I usually have trouble getting into books that are about people in England. I know what a nappie and fag is but, I have to think about it and this impedes my story comprehension. I didn't have that problem with this book the characters are engaging and interesting so you keep reading to find out if everything turns out in the end. Makes you want to call your best friend and set up a "girls weekend".
â


Home for a Spell (Bewitching, Bk 7)
Home for a Spell (Bewitching, Bk 7)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/17/2013


Nice cozy mystery, as usual I enjoyed the antics of Maggie as she tries to muddle through life. The ending for this book seemed a little abrupt, a long lead in to figure out "who done it" then the book was over. Nice light read.


It's Like This, Cat
It's Like This, Cat
Author: Emily Cheney Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/7/2006


Winner, 1964 Newberry Medal & Notable Children's Book 1940-1970


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: