Shay K. (CityGirl56) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Baby Knits for Beginners
Baby Knits for Beginners
Author: Debbie Bliss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/11/2009


I love this book, it explains everything so you can understand it. Easy, quick designs.
CityGirl56


Chalktown
Chalktown
Author: Melinda Haynes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/10/2010


Loved it! Ms Haynes keeps the story moving, with lots of twists & good humor.


The Cookie Jar (Memories in the Making Series)
The Cookie Jar (Memories in the Making Series)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/16/2010


I love this book. Lots of new interesting ideas.


Deadly Grace
Deadly Grace
Author: Taylor Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 6/26/2012


good read.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 7/25/2013


I enjoyed this book. I'm always sad to finish Sparks books, they always take you on a nice journey


Eating Fire and Drinking Water
Eating Fire and Drinking Water
Author: Arlene J. Chai
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/15/2010


A good read, lots of little surprises & twists.


The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millenium, Bk 3)
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millenium, Bk 3)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 773
Review Date: 7/25/2013


This saga is the best set of books I've read since The Hobbit. The plot is always changing, exciting & takes unexpected turns. I read them last yr at the beach, I'm doing a repeat this summer.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millenium, Bk 2)
Author: Reg Keeland (Translator), Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 818
Review Date: 5/21/2012


This series of books are the best I've read in years. Actually paid cash for the 3rd one as it wasn't listed with PBS.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2067
Review Date: 4/4/2012


It was a great book, now I know why everyone's been reading it. I'm on to the 2nd one now.


The Handknitter's Yarn Guide: A Visual Reference to Yarns and Fibers
Review Date: 11/14/2017


I've been knitting for years, easy stuff because I didn't really understand all the ins & outs of it. I've started up again & I am learning many great tips from this book. My yarn shop has closed so its wonderful having answers to my many questions. Understanding the different types of yarns & the best use for all of them is wonderful.


The Healer (O'Malley, Bk 5)
The Healer (O'Malley, Bk 5)
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/7/2012


It was a good read. It helped show how to get through bad stuff that happens & it will happen. Parts were sad but, the story had lots of good on how to stay strong during the sad parts.


How to Knit - The Definitive Knitting Course Complete with Step-by-Step Techniques, Stitch Library and Projects for Your Home and Family
Review Date: 8/3/2010


It's a great book, easy to understand. I love it.


The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
Author: Rebecca Skloot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 6/8/2014


It is simply amazing what this country has always does "in the name" of something or someone & gets away with it. I can't believe the horror this family has been put through & didn't even realize what was happening. I'm so glad I got to read this book, & I thank Ms Skloot for shinning a light on another piece of history most would rather leave alone.


Knit Baby Blankets! 15 Cool Patterns to Keep You Warm
Knit Baby Blankets! 15 Cool Patterns to Keep You Warm
Author: Gwen Steege
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/17/2013


good book with easy instructions. Love it


Knitting for Peace: Make the World a Better Place One Stitch at a Time
Review Date: 3/12/2013


This book is wonderful. Lots of lovely ideas & patterns, I already started a prayer shawl.


Knitting Ponchos, Wraps  Scarves
Knitting Ponchos, Wraps Scarves
Author: Jane Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/15/2017


I love it. Many lovely patterns in clever designs. Easy to understand instructions, I've been knitting forever but haven't done much in years. Clearly illustrates with many pictures how to do the patterns. As soon as I finish current projects will be my next.


Knitting Without Tears: Basic Techniques and Easy-to-Follow Directions for Garments to Fit All Sizes
Review Date: 3/26/2010


I love it. Makes knitting easy again!


Made in the U.S.A. (Large Print)
Made in the U.S.A. (Large Print)
Author: Billie Letts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/4/2012


Enjoyed this book. A fast read, parts are a bit hard but, it works out well.


Pandora (New Tales of the Vampires, Bk 1)
Pandora (New Tales of the Vampires, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 370
Review Date: 8/9/2012


Love Anne Rice


Still Alice
Still Alice
Author: Lisa Genova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 445
Review Date: 9/14/2010


I think this is a must read for anyone dealing with Alzheimer's disease. It explains how the slow, sad progessive disease, unhinges all the families lives.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: