Patti H. (bearcub) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Around the Next Corner
Around the Next Corner
Author: Elizabeth Wrenn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/21/2009


I liked this book - a nice light read about a woman going through
a transition in her life - interesting sub plots - I felt I could
relate to the characters - would recommend!


Before I Fall
Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 4/25/2010


This was a great book. It got a little repetitive in the middle, but the end made it worth it. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a good story.


A Big Little Life : A Memoir of a Joyful Dog
A Big Little Life : A Memoir of a Joyful Dog
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 4/12/2011


What a nice surprise this book was. Knowing Koontz'
genre of fiction I was surprised by his humor and
compassion. Trixie sounds like a wonderful golden
retriever and her loss was so sad. I have had a golden
also and she is sorely missed. Great book - great
story!


A Certain Slant of Light (Light, Bk 1)
A Certain Slant of Light (Light, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Whitcomb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 3/5/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. I thought everything was perfect. I cried at the end. I really connected with it. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a unique and very good book


The Complete Phantom of the Opera
The Complete Phantom of the Opera
Author: George Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/1/2010


This is the best book i have ever read! i loved the movie before hand but the book goes deeper into the intense and forced relationship between christine and erik(the phantom). this book shows all sides to humanity raul- his love for christine christine- she loves raul but the phantom terrifies her and threatens her in order for her to love him the phantom- is a very sad person who is crazy but desperately want someone to love him. I did cry at the end of the book, it has a sad ending. some parts are hard to get through like the whole paperclip chapter really just made the book longer and had to reason to be there since it added nothing to the plot. the narration also changes sometimes but once you get used to it its not that bad overall if i could i would give it 100 stars <3


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 10/30/2010


I found this book very interesting and very different from what I usually read.
The parts about the history at the time were really interesting and I had
never heard od serial killer Holmes before. Would definitely recommend this
book!


The Dog Who Spoke with Gods
The Dog Who Spoke with Gods
Author: Diane Jessup
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/23/2012


An amazing book! I could not put it down! The story of Elizabeth and Damien is not one you will soon forget. I would recommend this book to dog all people, not just dog lovers.


Gothic Ghosts (G K Hall Large Print Book Series (Paper))
Gothic Ghosts (G K Hall Large Print Book Series (Paper))
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/9/2010


I loved this book - the stories were well written and interesting.
The stories really made you think about them afterward. Would
recommend!!!


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 2061
Review Date: 2/25/2010


This book was my favorite in the series the whole series led up to a point(not going to say what it is) and i wasn't disappointed i loved it a must read!


Losing Gemma
Losing Gemma
Author: Katy Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/17/2010


I thought this was a good book - a little slow in spots but a real
page turner in others.The story of two best friends who backpack to
India and the events that transpire. Would recommend!


Luna
Luna
Author: Julie Anne Peters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 2/1/2010


i loved this book. its one of my favorites. some people dont like it because of the fact the main character is transsexual, however i think this adds to the uniqueness of this story.


One Day
One Day
Author: David Nicholls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 3/15/2011


I loved this book! It had a lot of humor and was such a
good story. I wanted the main characters to get together
and I really enjoyed reading about their relationship.
Sad ending - but so worth reading - can't wait for the
movie!


One Good Dog
One Good Dog
Author: Susan Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 11/7/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book! So well written and being a dog lover - such a great story!
Some really sad parts, but luckily a happy ending. Would definitely recommend!


The Perks of Being a Wallflower
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Author: Stephen Chbosky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 8/5/2010


This book was life changing. It was simple to read but the message it brought was not simple at all. If i had one book to read for the rest of my life it would be this one. As i read it i felt like charlie was my best friend someone i could easily connect to. This is one of my favorite books of all time!


Rose in a Storm
Rose in a Storm
Author: Jon Katz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/25/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This was a beautiful book. Very well written from the dog's point of view. Rose's relationships with Sam, Katie and the other dog Flash were interesting and moving. I would definitely recommend this book.


The Scarlet Letter
The Scarlet Letter
Author: Nathaniel Hawthorne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 626
Review Date: 3/9/2010
Helpful Score: 2


this book was very hard for me to read. The text felt like a different language, I loved the story and the characters where so real. but if you're going to read this be warned it took me an hour to get through ten pages. Its a slow read and at times i want to put it down but it was so worth reading.


A Slaying in the Suburbs: The Tara Grant Murder
Review Date: 11/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Interesting book since I live very close to the crime scene -
The actual murder was horrible - I really felt for her family
and children. It was a good true crime book - would
recommend!


Thirteen Reasons Why
Thirteen Reasons Why
Author: Jay Asher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 357
Review Date: 6/19/2010


I loved this book. Although i dont think she was right in blaming ANYONE for what she did i loved this book. It has been a little over a year since i read it and let me tell you everytime i see it on my bookshelf i think about it. I've never read a book where i have cried and i cried for the most part of this book. This is a MUST READ for anyone and i would not hesitate to pick this gem up


Timbuktu
Timbuktu
Author: Paul Auster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/7/2010


I loved this book even though it was sad and I felt so sorry for Mr. Bones -
the dog voice in this story. A quick read - but well worth it.


Walking in Circles Before Lying Down
Walking in Circles Before Lying Down
Author: Merrill Markoe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 8/4/2009


Really liked this book - it was amusing and entertaining
the way it was written from the dog's point of view. I
am interested in reading more of her books!


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: