Deb N. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
The Boleyn Deceit (Boleyn, Bk 2)
The Boleyn Deceit (Boleyn, Bk 2)
Author: Laura Andersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/17/2014


I read this just having finished the first installment of this trilogy. The second was better than the first, or maybe I was used to the author's style. I have to say, this book now took our love triangle into what I felt was too near the legend of Isolde & Tristian, and not original. I was much more interested in what was happening with Elizabeth. and the intrigue has some unseen surprises. I will read the last, but will know this trilogy could have been so much more.


The Boleyn King (Boleyn, Bk 1)
The Boleyn King (Boleyn, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Andersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 1/17/2014


Oh how I wanted to love this twist on historical fiction. At first I wondered if I'd even finish it, dissapointing because I already had the second of this trilogy on my shelf. I felt at the start that it was a little too "YA" for my taste. The story could have taken place in any time as well. The writting got better, the story moved along there was some bit of intrigue that was not overly layed out. I could have done with out the who will she chose story line- the least complex or interesting part of the story. I will read the second-following this one, and I'm sure will need to read the last but, It could have been better.


Daughters of the Witching Hill
Daughters of the Witching Hill
Author: Mary Sharratt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Fabulous historical fiction. Well written, complex charaters and a real feel for the time and events. Highly recommend. I also loved and highly recommend the Vanishing Point by the same author.


The Forest House (Avalon, Bk 2)
The Forest House (Avalon, Bk 2)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 10/4/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Mists was FABULOUS. Forest House good. It flowed right along, there were characters to care about but, at some points I wanted them to be making different choices. I did feel the end felt abrupt and too many threads hanging. I look forward to reading others in the series.


Harvesting the Heart
Harvesting the Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 799
Review Date: 10/4/2013
Helpful Score: 1


enjoyable quick Jodi read. not my favorite of this author but well done all the same.


The Heretic's Daughter
The Heretic's Daughter
Author: Kathleen Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 9/15/2013


I could not have loved it more! I reserve a 5 star for only the best and this is it. If you know about the truth of the salem "witch" trials of 1692- You know how it will end but, how you see events unfold through the eyes and maturing understanding of Sarah is fabulous. Well written, complex characters, engaging and compelling
I savored every word yet longed to know the ending. Descriptions of life, conditions felt so real you can nearly smell the stench in the dungeon. Additionally I HIGHLY recommend the prequal by the same author, but do read The Heretic's Daughter" first and "The traitor's Wife"(also published as "Wolves of Andover") second.


The Heretic's Daughter
The Heretic's Daughter
Author: Kathleen Kent
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 9/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I could not have loved it more! I reserve a 5 star for only the best and this is it. If you know about the truth of the salem "witch" trials of 1692- You know how it will end but, how you see events unfold through the eyes and maturing understanding of Sarah is fabulous. Well written, complex characters, engaging and compelling
I savored every word yet longed to know the ending. Descriptions of life, conditions felt so real you can nearly smell the stench in the dungeon. Additionally I HIGHLY recommend the prequal by the same author, but do read The Heretic's Daughter" first and "The traitor's Wife"(also published as "Wolves of Andover") second.


The Heretic's Daughter
The Heretic's Daughter
Author: Kathleen Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/15/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I could not have loved it more! I reserve a 5 star for only the best and this is it. If you know about the truth of the salem "witch" trials of 1692- You know how it will end but, how you see events unfold through the eyes and maturing understanding of Sarah is fabulous. Well written, complex characters, engaging and compelling
I savored every word yet longed to know the ending. Descriptions of life, conditions felt so real you can nearly smell the stench in the dungeon. Additionally I HIGHLY recommend the prequal by the same author, but do read The Heretic's Daughter" first and "The traitor's Wife"(also published as "Wolves of Andover") second.


Isolde, Queen of the Western Isle (Tristan and Isolde Novels, Book 1)
Review Date: 10/4/2013


Good read. enjoyed this take on the celtic legend. Forget the movie. Look forward to the others of this trilogy.


The Lady of the Sea  (Tristan and Isolde, Bk 3)
The Lady of the Sea (Tristan and Isolde, Bk 3)
Author: Rosalind Miles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/9/2013


A satisfying ending to the trilogy. There were a few moments when I thought "are you kidding me?", but honestly, I would say that the author stayed true to the characters she had built.


The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
The Little Giant of Aberdeen County
Author: Tiffany Baker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


enough forshadowing to predict the plot turns. all together an enjoyable read, not outstanding.


The Maid of the White Hands (Tristan and Isolde, Bk 2)
The Maid of the White Hands (Tristan and Isolde, Bk 2)
Author: Rosalind Miles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/4/2013


Enjoyable read. I like the little side trips to slightly mystical, magical adventures, adding to the sense of a time that may have been so differently charged.


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1577
Review Date: 12/2/2013


I was about half-way through when I added book 2 of this series to my wish list. I don't know if I'll do the whole series (7 and counting) but I look forward to the next installment. The premise is thought-proking, moments of realization, conditions and people harsh. It felt a bit of a roller-coaster ride, but of course, the world and times were dangerous especially for the people Claire finds herself in the company of. And Jamie Fraser lives upto the hype of romantic, sensual hero.


The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn
The Secret Diary of Anne Boleyn
Author: Robin Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 1/29/2014


Enjoyable read, Anne's entries full of honesty and reflection. At times her self-reflection is totally compelling. At the first half of the book some of the "fast forward" to the early days of Eliabeth's reign felt intrusive on the story of Anne's truths. further in I felt more of a connection between the growing knowlegde Elizabeth is gaining about who her mother really was and the present for her. I also have the second of this trilogy on my shelf, to be read soon


The Third Witch
The Third Witch
Author: Rebecca Reisert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/15/2015


An interesting take on the witches of Shakespeare's Macbeth. I really enjoyed it.......right up to the last 2 pages. I would say that where the writer took the story in the last 2 pages (literally) nearly ruined the whole book for me. and definitely provoked a lower rating from me over all, I thought it was that bad. I also enjoyed the well researched and interesting details of conditions.


The Traitor's Wife
The Traitor's Wife
Author: Kathleen Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/5/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely fabulous. One of my top 5 books of all time! You have to read HERETIC'S DAUGHTER first, this while is a pre-quel, it comes second. Martha grew on me through out DAUGHTER, but I did not ever fully like or respect her, WIFE, however, answered all my questions and I could nearly feel Martha's spine straighten when her father tells her he didn't raise her to go along but to be a person "to be reckoned with" . LOVED IT!


The Winter Witch
The Winter Witch
Author: Paula Brackston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/19/2014


exceptional. a wonderful story, intricate & complex, interesting and compelling. really, really enjoyed it. Liked it better than this author's first( Witch's Daughter) I look forward to reading her next (Midnight Witch)


1 to 17 of 17