krisann - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 77 - Page:
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/2/2012


Excellent book - Historical facts are true. Abe Lincoln was one of our greatest presidents but add the Vampire element and he becomes legendary. Can't wait for the movie


The Accidental Connoisseur : An Irreverent Journey Through the Wine World
Review Date: 5/6/2012


Osborne travels to wineries in California, Italy and France all the while trying to find the bigger questions about wine. What is the best bottle of wine? Is it based on the grape, the terroir, the experience you are having while you drink it? What is taste? Is there any reason to buy into the Robert Parker's number rating? Our perception on pricing (more expensive wine equals a better wine?) He addresses issues of wine being made for the masses and how homogenized it has become. He talks about Americans being youthful in there wine buying and how wine labels reflect this buying trend (i.e. labels that have animals, cartoon drawings, silly sayings). He meets winemakers, owners, buyers, tourists and allows them all to have a say about what wine they enjoy, why they enjoy it and their thoughts on the New World vs the Old World. He gets drunk on some of the worlds most famous wines and indulges in each regions cuisine. By the end of the book, Osborne seems tired of the wine world and is comfortable just to enjoy wine for what it is. This book is meant to be savored so pop open your favorite wine and make sure you have a good dictionary nearby.

Tip: Log onto www.madrose.com - go to the link Producers. This will help you place Osbornes travels


Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man : What Men Really Think About Love, Relationships, Intimacy, and Commitment (Larger Print)
Review Date: 5/16/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I am not a reader of advice books on men and or relationships so please know my review is not based on comparisons of any other self help books. For all I know this book could suck compared to other books out there. But after I saw and enjoyed the movie, I was intrigued to pick the book up. I personally believe the best advice books for women regarding men should be written by men. It's who we are trying to understand so who better to help us understand but another man. I can see where this book would get criticized by strong, independent women but Steve is in no way, shape or form trying to undermine us. He spells out the three things a man needs: Support, Loyalty and the Cookie (if you dont give up the cookie your man will wander. Plain and simple). He also spells out what's coded in a man's DNA, which is a man defines himself by who he is, what he does and how much he makes. It's these three accomplishments every man must achieve before he feels like he truly fulfilled his destiny as a man, and until hes achieved his goal in those three areas, the man youre dating, committed to, or married to will be too busy to focus on you. Also coded in his DNA is his need to protect and provide. If a man cant see how he can protect and provide for you he will move on. Yes women nowadays can provide for themselves (buy their own house, get a great education which leads to a great paying job, start her own corporation) and they can also protect themselves (carrying a gun, learning self defense, get a large menacing dog) but what Steve is trying to let women know if you do all that then you are clearly telling a man that I dont need you because I got it covered. You take away who he is and how he defines himself. If you and your girlfriends are struggling in your relationships and are frustrated because your needs are not being met I highly recommend picking up this book and sharing it. You will love the part about the ninety day rule, a rule all of us should apply myself included.


Amazing Gracie
Amazing Gracie
Author: Dan Dye, Mark Beckloff, Three Dog Bakery
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/27/2012


Amazing Gracie is a wonderful story about a deaf, partially blind, albino Great Dane. Her story is told with humor by Dan Dye and Mark Beckloff, and whimsically illustrated by Meg Cundiff. This book, written sensitively, but without melodrama, will make you laugh, cheer and cry. It is also the story of the beginnings of the wonderful bakery for dogs, Three Dog Bakery. Humorous parts include Gracie's first day in her new home and the cops being called, what the dogs were possibly thinking at stategic moments in the story and Gracie afraid of stepping on marble floors. Since this is a book about Gracie's entire life, it naturally includes the end of her shining light. Be prepared to cry.


Ancestor
Ancestor
Author: Scott Sigler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/3/2012


Great read...Science Fiction at its best


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 816
Review Date: 11/20/2012


This is an amazing story of five women who are neighbors in Minneapolis. They become friends and form a book club called Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons. It spans three decades of friendship, marriage, divorce, babies, grown children, secrets, growing up, you name it - it's in there. It flows effortlessly between the different women's perspectives and even provides a new list of books to check out! Each chapter begins with a book and the reason the host chose it for their book club.


The Art of War
The Art of War
Author: Sun Tzu, Thomas F. Cleary (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/3/2012


A classic piece of Chinese Philosophy. Some highlights:

Supreme excellence consists in breaking the enemy's resistance with out fighting.

If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles.

Spies are the most important element in war, because upon them depends an army's ability to move.

All warfare is based on deception.

The general who wins a battle makes many calculations before the battle is fought.

There is no instance of a country having benefited from a prolonged war.

The clever combatant looks to the effect of combined energy, and does not require too much from individuals.


The Blood of Flowers
The Blood of Flowers
Author: Anita Amirrezvani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 7/19/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This debut novel is beautifully written and offers everything I look for in entertainment reading: a beautifully-crafted story that allows you to immerse yourself with each character, a historic setting that is well research and an overall visual richness. This is a completely enjoyable book. Anita Amirrezvani has done an excellent job. I hope to see more of her work in the future.


Blowing My Cover : My Life as a CIA Spy
Blowing My Cover : My Life as a CIA Spy
Author: Lindsay Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 8/31/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Girl joins CIA, girl meets BOY, girl quits CIA. That is the story in a nutshell. Ms. Moran would have us believe she quit the CIA because of her "integrity" however, she knew from the start what she would be doing (recruiting foreigners to spy on their own governments for the U.S.) and yet she chose to do it for several years anyway. Throughout the book she complains that her social life has taken a hit because she has to constantly lie to everyone about who she is and what she does for a living. She makes it very clear that her CIA career is preventing her from having quality friendships and romances. It appears that her real motivation for quitting was that she wanted to lead a normal life. You can't really blame her. I wouldn't want to live a life of lies either. The book would have been better without her critique of the CIA and why it failed on 9-11, because her few years with the organization don't exactly make her an expert on that topic.


Bossypants
Bossypants
Author: Tina Fey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 4/3/2012
Helpful Score: 4


Tina Fey is my kind of woman, she embodies the right combination of sarcastic wit and flawed charm. It's an insanely fast read and it literally made me laugh out loud in spots


Brass
Brass
Author: Helen Walsh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/2/2012


If you are easily offended, this book is not for you. But if you are a fan of sexually-charged realist literature--from Bukowski to Henry Miller to Anais Nin--you might enjoy Brass. Alot of English slang..disturbing and erotic. Helen Walsh's writing gives you very vivid peek into the darkness of our souls - troubling at best


Chinese Cinderella : The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Chinese Cinderella : The True Story of an Unwanted Daughter
Author: Adeline Yen Mah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 10/29/2015


Okay book - quick read. BUT if you've read Falling Leaves, you've already read Chinese Cinderella. Entire sections of the text are just copied and pasted it would seem. My advice, buy Falling Leaves instead.


Chronicles of King Arthur
Chronicles of King Arthur
Author: Andrea Hopkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/3/2012


The nice thing about this website is that as I dig through the site for books I find more and more books that I have forgotten I have read. The Chronicles of King Arthur is one such book.

I was given this book just before I left for a three month journey through Englands Southwest countryside. I was told the place I was going holds the legend of King Arthur very much alive. To say I was excited would be an understatement. During my travels I met an author named Geoffrey Ashe who has written numerous books on King Arthur and his legend. He gave us a wonderful tour of the Abbey in Glastonbury and shared his knowledge and his home with us. It was right after that I decided to open this book.

This is a beautifully illustrated book and easy to enjoy. The reader is given just enough information about King Arthur and the legendary figures who played a vital role in his life without bogging you down. It's a book you can pick up many times over and enjoy each time. A keeper for sure.


The Coroner's Lunch (Dr. Siri Paiboun, Bk 1)
The Coroner's Lunch (Dr. Siri Paiboun, Bk 1)
Author: Colin Cotterill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 8/2/2013


If you're looking for something a little different in the mystery genre, try this! Interesting locale, great characters and an intriguing mystery make this a good book.

This novel takes place in 1976 in Laos. The royal family has been deposed, the professional classes have fled and the communists have taken over, and Dr. Siri Paiboun has just been appointed state coroner for the Laos People's Democratic Republic. The 72-year-old Siri has got the coroner's job because he's the only doctor left in Laos. But when the wife of a Party leader is found dead and the bodies of tortured Vietnamese soldiers surface on a Laotian lake, all eyes turn to the new coroner and his small staff to figure things out. Siri looks to old friends, consults tribal shamans, and uses forensic deduction to figure out what's going on.


Death in Lacquer Red (Hilda Johansson, Bk 1)
Death in Lacquer Red (Hilda Johansson, Bk 1)
Author: Jeanne M. Dams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/3/2012


Read this awhile ago...you learn alot about servants lifes but I felt the plot to be weak


Diary of a Beverly Hills Matchmaker
Diary of a Beverly Hills Matchmaker
Author: Marla Martenson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/11/2012


This book can be summed up in one word BORING!!! Marla must have paid a lot of people a boat load of money to write good reviews for this book. The only reason I finished it was because I kept hoping it will go some place and live up to all the good reviews. But as one reviewer said This author is VERY misguided in thinking that anyone except close friends and family would be even remotely interested in her private life. I guess if getting Botox, contemplating whether to cut your hair or not cut your hair, thinking your marriage is exactly like Lucy and Ricky and getting mad because your husband moves your favorite ashtray is worth telling then I am penning my own diary as of today. I am sure my tales of running late for work, picking up dog dirt, standing on the grocery line, picking up my boyfriends dirty underwear and deciding on what to cook for dinner will be a bestseller for sure. She tries to spice up this boring book with stories about rich old men clients wanting to be matched up with hot young women with big boobs.no revelation their Marla just sad and creepy. Dont waste your credits on this book.


The Dirt: Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band
Review Date: 4/3/2012


If you grew up going to Crue concerts than you will really enjoy this book. I felt like I needed to take a shower after reading this. Rowdy, loud and full of sex and drugs...one of the hardest partying bands around


Eleanor Roosevelt, Vol. 1: 1884-1933
Eleanor Roosevelt, Vol. 1: 1884-1933
Author: Blanche Wiesen Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/2/2012


A must read for any modern women...Eleanor Roosevelt was ahead of her time


English Cottages (The Country Series)
Review Date: 5/3/2012


If your looking for a good coffee table book I highly recommend this visual and glossy anthology of English Cottages.


Everybody's Normal Till You Get to Know Them
Everybody's Normal Till You Get to Know Them
Author: John Ortberg
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/16/2012


I first have to say that when I ordered this book I didnt realize I ordered it on Audio Cassette. I am now hooked on books on tape. This book was so inspiring that my nightly walks with my dog went from 20 minutes to a full hour. Ortberg is a Christian Minister and though I was brought up in a Christian household I dont actively practice my religion (i.e. church on Sundays, reading the daily word etc) so I wasnt sure if I would like his teachings. Boy was I wrong. I really laughed at some of the absurd things that Ortberg points out about our behavior toward each other. Ortberg points out what is unappealing and un-Christian about our churches and our culture today, but not in a hell and brimstone kind of way. He just has a way of presenting the truth about Christians Communitys in their failures and successes. His teaches are about community and accepting one another as is. I recommend this book/audio tapes to anyone who is struggling with getting along with others, forgiveness, accepting yourself and what it means to be part of a community. It has helped me a lot with my own judgments and forgiveness.


1 to 20 of 77 - Page: