Angela S. (booksquirrel) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Acquired Tastes
Acquired Tastes
Author: Peter Mayle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 1/30/2008


This was the first book I've read of Mr. Mayle's works, and I loved it! I really like his sense of humor. Will definitely read again.


Advanced Cinematherapy : The Girl's Guide to Finding Happiness One Movie at a Time
Review Date: 1/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Very helpful if you don't know what to rent. This guide isn't just a bunch of chick flicks that make you cry your eyes out either. The authors have compiled a good mixed list of movies from several genres. I really like to know what I'm getting into, and the box covers on movies these days are hardly informative enough. I'm glad I had this to refer to. Enjoy!


The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Good book. A bit nasty...a lot of sexual crime that I didn't care to read about. I finished it, though. The ending was not as satisfactory or conclusive as I would have hoped, but it was ok.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 483
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Similar to The DaVinci Code but not as good. This one is the first book with Robert Langdon in it, but it doesn't matter if you read them out of sequence. I liked all the thrills and action, but DC is still way better.


At Home in Mitford (The Mitford Years #1)
At Home in Mitford (The Mitford Years #1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/9/2008


You will really enjoy this audio book. Mitford is such a welcoming place. You won't want to leave. The characters are so loveable. The humor is wholesome and pure. And John McDonough is a fantastic performer. I could listen to him tell stories all day!


Austenland
Austenland
Author: Shannon Hale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 7/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fun read. I've never been to the beach, but I imagine this would make a great beach read. It's fast, funny and romantic at times. I was really into the first guy the main character makes out with, but I didn't mind the story changes. I like how it ended, seemed pretty realistic to me. I'm glad it wasn't one of those find yourself stories where the girl ends up alone at the end. Highly recommended to Jane Austen fans who aren't looking for something serious.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Very sweet story. I liked the narrator's voice. I was afraid I might get bored listening to her at first, but the story was good so it held my attention. Loveable characters and a slow romance. Good job, Adriana.


Breaker's Reef (Cape Refuge, Bk 4)
Breaker's Reef (Cape Refuge, Bk 4)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I should have started with book one, but oh well. I really like Terri Blackstock's writing style. I got into the story from page one, and I couldn't put the book down. Some of the characters seemed a bit dense at times, but they are all good people. And I didn't feel like Blackstock was pushing religion on me when the religious parts of the story came about. It made me feel kind of warm towards the characters, like they were trying to make friends with me or something. I really enjoyed reading the romance between Blair and Cade. Cade's a hunk, by the way. Hehehe. Anyway, the story was really good, and I couldn't figure out who was guilty of what till the end. Very good climactic ending, too.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 797
Review Date: 1/24/2008


This book is entertaining from page 1. Fast read. You think you know what will happen, but it changes up on you. Of course, it's for the best. I really liked the main character. She reminds me of Becky from this author's Shopaholic series, but she's smarter and not as annoying. I'd like to see this turned into a movie.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 471
Review Date: 8/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Read it in a day! I couldn't put it down! This book was so wonderful in part one and then in part two things speed up and my stomach went into knots over the choice that Travis had to make. It was so sad and so sweet and so hard to figure out what he would do, and I felt so much of the emotion that Travis was feeling. Nicholas Sparks did such a great job of making the story come alive with love, and I really felt like I connected with the characters. The ending wasn't perfect, but it was realistic. I loved it!


Comfort  Joy : A Novel (Random House Large Print)
Comfort Joy : A Novel (Random House Large Print)
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Good story for getting you in the right kind of holiday spirit. I was clueless the whole first half of the book, had no idea what was going on with the character until the last half put everything together for me. I never would have imagined her condition (won't give it away). I'm glad everything turned out the way it did. Gives you hope and restores your faith in love and faith itself. Recommend it for the Christmas holiday.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 781
Review Date: 1/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Read it years ago. Great, fun read. Becky can be annoying at times, but she is so loveable most of the time so it outweighs the other crap. Good love story, too. Luke is one of the best male characters I've ever read in chick lit. Worth the time. Will read it again. Love the whole series.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4384
Review Date: 1/24/2008


Creative and enjoyable. Interesting to read from the point of view of an autistic teenage boy. Nice change of pace. I loved all the random deviations from the main story, and the book held my attention all the way through. I was kind of disappointed with the ending, though. It was satisfactory, but I think it could have been stronger somehow.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Great, edge-of-your-seat story! I loved all the clues and code deciphering. I didn't want to put this book down. I even read it while I was working...very risky, but it was sooo worth the trouble. The movie was very good, but I think the book was so much better. Read the book if you haven't seen the movie, and you will appreciate the movie so much more when you do see it because you'll have all the extra history and back story.


Death du Jour (Temperance Brennan, Bk 2)
Death du Jour (Temperance Brennan, Bk 2)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first book I've read by Kathy Reichs, and I really liked it. I was kind of sickened by some of the morbid descriptions of the dead characters in the story, but all of that adds to the story's realistic vibe. I like Tempe's character, and I will probably read the rest of the series. The French was kind of annoying, but I don't think it hindered the story in any way. Great read.


Death du Jour (Temperance Brennan, Bk 2)
Death du Jour (Temperance Brennan, Bk 2)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 8/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Kathy Reichs is a forensic anthropologist and great author. This is the first book of hers that I've read, and I was really satisfied with it. The story is very detailed, and there are a lot of gruesome and scary parts. I couldn't read this at night, I got so scared sometimes. The story was pretty realistic.

The only thing that bothered me some were the French terms that slowed me down a bit, but it was all in keeping with the story since part of it takes place in French-speaking Canada.

I really enjoyed the chemistry between Tempe and Detective Ryan. I am anxious to see how their relationship develops.

I can't wait to read more of this series.


Good In Bed
Good In Bed
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/8/2008


Good story. I enjoyed listening to Paula Cale. Cannie was annoying at first, but if I was in her shoes I would probably have acted the same way. She developed into a stronger woman as the story went on, and I am happy to report that it ended just as I had hoped it would. :)


A Good Year (Audio CD) (Abridged)
A Good Year (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Ben Chaplin (Narrator), Peter Mayle
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/30/2008


Perfect performance by Ben Chaplin. Love his voice. Fantastic story, loveable characters and a perfect ending. Great for a rainy day. A keeper!


Heartbeat
Heartbeat
Author: Danielle Steel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 1/31/2008


This is my first D.S. novel, and it is such a wonderful love story. Read this and you will fall in love with Bill and wish he was real. Adrian was a sweet characater, and I felt horrible for her in the beginning. Thank goodness for Bill being a midnight shopper, too.

A very simple and sweet, fast read.

If you ever get the chance to see the movie, it's just a little different but still brings the same points and storyline across. John Ritter is wonderful as Bill. The movie definitely made me love the book so much more.


Houston, We Have a Problem (Florida Doctors, Bk 1)
Houston, We Have a Problem (Florida Doctors, Bk 1)
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 121
Review Date: 2/13/2008


Fun, sex romps...a light read, though. It was simple and funny at times. I liked it, but I only read it upon my sister's recommendation. Not something I would readily pick off the shelf.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: