Marcie D. (PatchesMom) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 46 - Page:
The Amateur
The Amateur
Author: Edward Klein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/25/2012


easy to read, also factual. The author didn't excuse the subject b/c he is an amateur.


America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
America by Heart : Reflections on Family, Faith, and Flag
Author: Sarah Palin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/30/2011


compilation of Sarah's views re: current events


America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
America the Beautiful: Rediscovering What Made This Nation Great
Author: Ben Carson M.D.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/20/2017


Excellent and informative read. I enjoyed it as I have all of his other books.


An Unquiet Mind
An Unquiet Mind
Author: Kay Redfield Jamison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/3/2012


Author recounts her personal struggle with bi-polar illness.


A Beautiful Mind (Large Print)
A Beautiful Mind (Large Print)
Author: Sylvia Nasar
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/23/2011


a interesting psycho-biography of the brilliant yet complicated young man


CODE RED
CODE RED
Author: Nancy Fisher
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/31/2009


Exciting, heart-stopping thriller, hard to put down, a medical mystery difficult to solve. By author of SPECIAL TREATMENT and SIDE EFFECTS.


The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror
The Crisis of Islam: Holy War and Unholy Terror
Author: Bernard Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/16/2011


Very informative! Best book re: Islam I've read in a long time.


Culture of Corruption: Obama and His Team of Tax Cheats, Crooks, and Cronies
Review Date: 7/11/2012


Malkin documents the evidence; can't fault her about the evidence she presents to readers who care deeply about good government.


A Distant Shore (Vintage International)
A Distant Shore (Vintage International)
Author: Caryl Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/30/2011


protagonist's difficulties of assimilation in another country, another culture.


The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
The Enemy (Jack Reacher, Bk 8)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 476
Review Date: 8/12/2012


engrossing!!


Folk Medicine: A New England Almanac of Natural Health Care from a Noted Vermont Country Doctor
Review Date: 10/6/2011


Dr. Jarvis' remedies seem to work as well as expensive OTC meds.


A Fortunate Life
A Fortunate Life
Author: Robert Juniper, A. B. Facey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/30/2009


A Fortunate Life has been my favorite book for over 20 yrs. And I highly recommend it to people who enjoy reading about others' lives. Mr. Facey was a man of incredible courage, character and integrity. The hardships he faced and overcame would break an average person, yet he had such a grateful spirit. Just amazing! All things Australia fascinate me too. Wish I'd had the honor of knowing this gentleman. My life is richer for having known him through his book.


A Gate at the Stairs (Vintage Contemporaries)
A Gate at the Stairs (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Lorrie Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 10/1/2011


a page turner!


The Great Fire
The Great Fire
Author: Shirley Hazzard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/30/2011


young military officer's efforts to repatriate WW2 victimis after Japan surrendered


Hidden Treasures : Searching for Masterpieces of American Furniture
Review Date: 9/30/2011


Informative, for those who love collecting antiques and for those who might have some interesting collectible but don't know it. Great book to give!


How Do You Kill 11 Million People?: Why the Truth Matters More Than You Think
Review Date: 12/21/2015


excellent book, very timely


How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets
How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/7/2012


great read, enjoyed it.


How Full Is Your Bucket?  Positive Strategies for Work and Life (Educator's Edition)
Review Date: 11/17/2011


many tools to help readers consider which opportunities to use to their best advantage.


How Reading Changed My Life (Library of Contemporary Thought)
How Reading Changed My Life (Library of Contemporary Thought)
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/3/2012


can read in one day, very interesting thin book about events in life that encouraged her to read and keep on reading


In My Time: A Personal and Political Memoir
In My Time: A Personal and Political Memoir
Author: Dick Cheney, Liz Cheney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/4/2012


Engrossing read. VP Cheney described events as I remember them unfolding.


1 to 20 of 46 - Page: