Tiffany T. (tiffmeister) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim, Bk 1)
Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/6/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I picked up a copy of this book at the grocery store. This is the first Anne Rice book I've actually read all the way through in awhile. Some of her latest books have not been appealing to me lately. But the subject of angels really grabbed me. I enjoyed the main character and his dilemma of good vs. evil, esp. since he's a hit man. I loved the descriptions of the Mission Inn and San Juan Capistrano. I want to visit the Mission Inn now. The adventure of visiting the past was interesting, and I'm looking forward to the sequel to see where the angel takes Toby next.

I didn't rate it as high as some of her other books mostly because I think it's less engaging than her other vampire books. Though Toby is a killer like the vampire characters, he's not as enrapturing as Lestat and Louise. But I do recommend this book since it still has her brilliant writing style, and creates enough of a reaction that you want to read the next book. The sequel comes out in Nov. 2010. Can't wait. I've preordered it already with Amazon.


Dark Moon Defender (Twelve Houses, Bk. 3)
Dark Moon Defender (Twelve Houses, Bk. 3)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/30/2010


This book is a thrilling third book in the Twelve Houses series. I do like the way Shinn portrays romance amid a fantasy world. The details of intrigue get really involved and stimulate my thought processes. I keep trying to figure out what will happen next. Really enjoyed this one, and I've started on the fourth and final book. Disappointed I'm nearing the end of the series.


Finding the Way and Other Tales of Valdemar
Finding the Way and Other Tales of Valdemar
Author: Mercedes Lackey (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Really liked this new installment of the Valdemar short stories anthologies. It's like getting a shot of Valdemar in tiny bits. Really enjoyed reading the different perspectives, and having past characters from previous stories reappear in this book. Great fun! If you love Valdemar, you'll like this one.


Fortune and Fate (Twelve Houses, Bk. 5)
Fortune and Fate (Twelve Houses, Bk. 5)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This review is from: Fortune and Fate (Paperback)
I was surprised when I found out there was one more book in the Twelve Houses series. Of course, I had to read it, and I enjoyed the point of view of another character taking the lead of the story. Shinn follows the same formula of mismatched romance and fantastical political intrigue.

Wen was one of the last standing in the previous books when King Baryn was killed, and she can't let go of the guilt. She appears as a minor character in some of the other books, and becomes the main character in this one. The point of view switches between her and the characters from the other books we know and love, Justin, Senneth, Cammon, and Tayse. It all builds to a climax that makes all the different satellites of fortune come together for a satisfying ending.

If you liked the other Twelve Houses books, you're sure to like this one. If you haven't read anything by Sharon Shinn before, it's a good introduction into this world. Then, you can go back to the first book, "Mystic and Rider", and catch up. In all, I'm looking around for a sixth book now. You never know, maybe some day it will turn up.


A Ghost of a Clue
A Ghost of a Clue
Author: Debra Doggett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2016


Cute little novella. Girl inherits aged aunt's cottage in a small town determined to make a go at her artistic career. And she sees dead people. Hot skeptic science teacher catches her eye. There begins the fun. Good read.


Girl vs. Bear: Stories from the 80's
Girl vs. Bear: Stories from the 80's
Author: Lisa Kerr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/6/2010


This was an interesting collection of short stories set in the 80s. It did take me back a bit to growing up as a teenager in the 80s. Some of the characters were very different than my experiences, which back then, depended on the groups you hung out with.

I think some of the characters and situations were captured well. In fact, I felt deeply compelled by many of the characters and their problems. But some of the stories ended without truly finishing. Too many threads were left hanging. They feel short of what I needed to know.

But a couple really had great endings. I really enjoyed the short story involving an older girl and her friend. They became chaperones for a younger brother's tween party. The weird things that can happen did. And it was a great ending that feed my catharsis.

Overall, I did enjoy the trip back to the past this book supplied. It would make a great gift for someone who wants to go back, or someone who wants to get a glimpse of what it was like growing up then.


Heart of Gold
Heart of Gold
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 4/23/2011


I have really been enjoying Sharon Shinn books. So I thought I'd give this one a try. It's more a Sci-Fi book with the focus on two races and cultures that live on the same planet. The Indigo and Gulden people have lived with disagreements and turmoil until the City was built so both races could live together. It has brought some mutual peace, but troubles still brew.

Nolan is an Indigo man that has been taught that his place is to get married and have children. Kit is an Indigo woman that was raised with the Gulden people. Both find themselves saving their people from total extinction through a mutual sharing of respect.

I enjoyed this book, but seem to like Sharon Shinn's fantasy a bit more. Bioengineering and germ warfare are just not my style as much as spells, horses, and castles.


Love Easy
Love Easy
Author: Roe Valentine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/24/2016


This was a kick in the pants kind of book. Great historical romance. The sexual tension was high strung, and throw in Chicago speakeasies, news men, and mobster, and you got a great read.


Medalon (Hythrun Chronicles, Bk 1)
Medalon (Hythrun Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Fallon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/30/2010


I'd heard about Jennifer Fallon through some Amazon boards. Then, I saw her book sitting on a shelf in Barnes and Nobles. So, thought I'd give her a try.

I do like her characters and the world that she created. It involves the Harshini people, who are worshipped as god-like, but are believed to be destroyed 200 years ago. The main kingdom, Medalon, is full of atheists in a world that is surrounded by god believing kingdoms. The Sisters of the Blade helped destroy the Harshini, but of course, not all are dead. The gods are real too. It is almost like a D & D game with made over Greek Gods. But then, that is what gives the book some charm. It is a good world to plunge into.

Some things are a little predictable, but nothing that draws away from the plot too much. There is a capture/recapture pattern in the plot that did drive me a little crazy. I would think the main character guy, Tarja, would figure out a trap, especially if he kept falling into one over and over. He is supposed to be a great soldier, Captain, and good at battle tactics.

But other than that small character problem, Fallon's world drew me in. I've got the next two books in the series, and am plowing into them now. If you need a good fantasy world to delve into for a long trip or to disappear into, this is a good book for you.
Comment


Mystic and Rider (Twelve Houses, Bk 1)
Mystic and Rider (Twelve Houses, Bk 1)
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 11/6/2010


I think I've found a new favorite fantasy author. Shinn develops a great central character and combines prejudice with magic as the figure head for trouble. I loved the tension created as a civil war brews under the guise of good vs. evil. The evil is anyone with magic. It reminds me a lot of the Deryni books by Katherine Kurtz. I recommend this book for anyone that loves magic in their fantasy realms.


Never Marry A Warlock: Omnibus Edition
Never Marry A Warlock: Omnibus Edition
Author: Marilyn Vix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/24/2016


Vegas, warlocks and witches, betrayal, and a witch you cheer on as she goes through her "Eat, Pray, Love" journey.


No Irish Need Apply
No Irish Need Apply
Author: Edward C. Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/6/2010


I've been seeing a lot of posts in the Indie Author world on Amazon and the Kindle boards with this author. So, I wanted to see what the buzz was about. Boy, am I glad I did. This is a great book if you want to get a perspective on what it would be like to be so different in high school; you're more than alone but estranged. Dedicated to PFLAG, Parents and Family of Lesbians and Gays, this book can give you an understanding of what it might be like growing up gay in today's high schools.

I really enjoyed the writing style of Edward Patterson. His humor and imagery really pulls you in the book. There is a realistic sense to the minds of these boys, and the build up to the end is a window to their pain. I was able to predict the ending a bit. But by that time, like any well-led reader, I wanted it to happen.

This book does have some areas that would delve into more adult and teen reading. I would not have middle school readers try this book. It is definitely written as an edgy YA. It is a good read for families trying to understand what is behind the feelings of someone who is gay in their family.


Summers at Castle Auburn
Summers at Castle Auburn
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/23/2011


I've really been reading a lot of Sharon Shinn lately. This was a good book for any fantasy reader. Growing up between two worlds can be tough if you are a noble. Corie spends her summers at her father's castle, and the rest of the year with her grandmother(her mom's mom). Having lost both parents, Corie has her Uncle Jaxon to thank for bringing her to meet her father's relatives. She enjoys spending time with her half sister, who treats her more as a full sister. And other cousins she enjoys horse back riding, going out and even attending an Aliora hunt. But as she grows older, people seem to change as her perspective changes to an adult.

I really liked this book, especially since it had a fairy like race of people called the Aliora. It was a main debate in the book that the Aliora were enslaved by the nobles, and Corie struggles with the injustice of this action. The ending is a great surprise and triumph as well. Any Sharon Shinn fan will love this book. A fantasy reader will enjoy this as an introduction to a fabulous fantasy writer.


Sword of Chaos (Darkover)
Sword of Chaos (Darkover)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/4/2010


I hadn't tried this Darkover Anthology yet. Ever since Marion Zimmer Bradley died, I'm not sure if there have been new anthologies. This is an older edition of her short story collections.

So, this collection has some good stories of Darkover. Marion Zimmer Bradley grouped the stories by Darkover by time period or by a category relating to Darkover. If you haven't had a chance to read this book and love Darkover, I'd recommend it. Great way to enjoy some quick reads if you want a getaway into a book without being absorbed by a whole novel.


Wrapt in Crystal
Wrapt in Crystal
Author: Sharon Shinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/6/2011


I really do like Sharon Shinn. I haven't been into Romance books lately, but she is a clear converter. This book definitely wraps you up into the world of Senya, a desert planet with a serial killer. The main character, Cowen, is sent as the person to check it out. Along the way, he finds the case has more than it's normal twists. He starts to get involved with the locals. I loved the combination of Mystery/Sci-Fi/Romance in this book. I would recommend it as a definite read for Sci-Fi readers or Sharon Shinn fans.


1 to 15 of 15