Donna C. (g-ma) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 2470 - Page:
The 13th Hour
The 13th Hour
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Different than what I expected but very good. Nick is given the ablilty to go back in time by one hour increments to save the life of his wife but each hour puts a new twist on what is really happening until the very end. The end will shock you.

I never read anything from this author before and I might try another one.


2: James Patterson's Home Sweet Murder (James Patterson's Murder Is Forever)
Review Date: 2/9/2018


Read it in one day, easy read, very short quick chapters, guess it makes the book go faster

Stories are true crimes but written in a different way than other true crime writers, other authors have to go back to time the people were born and that is so boring, then they have to explain and explain everything, this is written more in the style of a fiction story but yet it's true and it deals only with the crime and not the entire life of everyone involved and I found that it made for an easier read


40
40
Author: Travis Thrasher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/7/2011


first--the description says this book has 272 pages, wrong! it has almost 400 pages

second--in the first 50 pages it was so boring and I couldn't see it going anywhere

third--only the second book I've tried to read by Thrasher and now I have my doubts about trying another one


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 5/29/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Reacher can really get into some situations, this time he gets on a tour bus with senior citizens just hitching a ride because it is winter time in the Dakotas and freezing, but he has no idea they would skid and get stranded in a town with biker trouble and he ends up in the middle of it----again---I really like Jack Reacher, he doesn't have a care in the world and travels with only what is on his back but his military training is always a huge help in every situation he gets in.


72 Hours
72 Hours
Author: Bella Jewel
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/30/2017
Helpful Score: 1


I can't give this a glowing review, however, it did keep my attention as to how they would get out of this mess

What I didn't like was all the very hot, very detailed, very explicit sex (not necessary unless you like that kind of reading, I skim over it quickly), and the main characters are very unlikable all the way through, they can't talk without using the f word every time they open their mouth, or shouting or yelling at each other all the way through

The main thing I didn't like was it does not tell you in the end the 'why', ok it was a serial killer but there should be more detail than that and it only gives you that 'he is a lunatic' on the loose, but from where etc.

I think another better author could've made a lot more of the storyline than Jewel does, for me it just wasn't the best writing attempt, I'm not a reader of romantic suspense but I don't really know what genre to call this it has a mixture of several


77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 7/13/2012


I whole heartedly agree with Stef140 on her review on this latest by Koontz.

I was an avid fan in his early years but now he's not even in the top 10, his writing leaves a lot to be desired in the fact that his books are just descriptions page after page and it gets boring very quickly, and this is no exception--after 100 pages it was just boring trying to keep up and stay interested when each chapter offered not much in the way of a good ending that made you want to read more---1/2 star from me---boring!


The 9th Girl (Kovac / Liska, Bk 5)
The 9th Girl (Kovac / Liska, Bk 5)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/2/2013


I didn't get very far, I like a suspense/thriller to start out with the story without getting into too much descriptions of things that are not important, I want it to continue from chapter to chapter building the story up and getting it to the point of can't put it down, this started out with too much descriptions, too many characters right off the bat, then it goes into a second storyline of the cop and her teens and from that point it lost me because I didn't get this book to read about family matters, I wanted a good thriller to keep me glued to the pages and this did not do it at all!


Abandon
Abandon
Author: Blake Crouch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 6/29/2011


my expectation was high(too high) after waiting a long time to get this book it was a disappointment--it started out like a spooky ghost town mystery but about midway after the mystery has been solved it just takes on a boring descriptive(page after page) of the predictament they find themselves in and it gets tiresome of page after page of descriptions, and the mystery turned out to be not what you expect.


Abandoned Prayers: The Shocking True Story of Obsession, Murder and Little Boy Blue
Review Date: 5/11/2013


Well written, however, you must have a strong stomach to read it--Olsen goes into too much detail with gay relations that no one needs to know and the depravity of this man, makes you wonder why a person like that is born.


Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Author: Cody McFadyen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/20/2011


Good character in Smoky Barrett, if you haven't read this series then start from the first as the story continues in each book but each book gives you a run down on her life. She's had a rough life but she is a tough FBI agent.


Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Author: T. R. Ragan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/30/2014
Helpful Score: 1


WOW! Along the same lines of Chris Carter's books this is a well written suspense/thriller to the T. One of the best books I've read in a long time and looking forward to the next one (if I can get it, had to get this one through the library).


The Abduction
The Abduction
Author: Mark Gimenez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/29/2011


couldn't get into this one, too much repeat in just the first 100 pages, characters you can't like--a geeky Dad that acts more like a coward and a Mom that acts more like a shrew but the Grandpa is a hero and would be a more likable character even with his 'ghosts' he carries around, but I quit after a little over 100 pages because I just kept waiting and waiting for it to move on and I just lost interest


Aberration
Aberration
Author: Lisa Regan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/12/2014


WOW! This is an excellent thriller, very well written that it is hard to put down for any reason, the story flows smoothly without any draggy spots.

Regan is a newcomer for me but so far she is on my list of 'books most wanted'!!


Above
Above
Author: Roland Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/5/2018


The first book 'Beneath' was a pretty good book, these are for ages 9-15, but this one? maybe because it took so long for it to come out that I have forgotten the main story so this one just didn't make any sense at all

so this is a case of you have to read the first one then you might want to read this one while it is fresh in your mind or you won't know what is going on

sorry to give it only 1* but I just don't think it deserves more unless you read these two books together


Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Author: Lynda La Plante
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 7/26/2014


I, too, was unable to finish and in fact just didn't get very far into it, even in the first 30 pages you could tell was going to be a long drawn out disaster, it was going to refer to her Dad every other page or so and it had too much description and unnecessary detail in just those first few pages that I knew I couldn't stick with it-----a pet peeve is unnecessary descriptions and detail not needed and I give up on that book or author.

I have a few English/British writers I like to I don't think La Plante will be one of them.


Above Suspicion (Haggerty, Bk 3)
Above Suspicion (Haggerty, Bk 3)
Author: Betsy Brannon Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/30/2010


Nice slow paced mystery, a reporter working on cold cases returns to Bethany Beach to research a 25 yr old mystery on a girl that died but was never solved.


The Academy
The Academy
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 5/17/2011


Very good horror--Tyler High voted to become a 'charter' school and that would mean they were their own bosses, once that is establised the schools policies change drastically and what happens is just plain horror.....


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Barclay is right up there with Patterson! If you read one good book this year---make it this one!

From page 1 to the very last page will keep you turning the pages as the story unfolds and the twists and turns start, by the last few pages another turn will hit you that you're not expecting.


Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4)
Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4)
Author: Edna Buchanan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/15/2017


I try to give a book a chance and I got about half way into this one BUT--

Britt is newspaper reporter on the police beat, so you'd think it would be fairly good, she is also half Cuban and this takes place in Florida, so that being mentioned-a lot of it is about Cuba in some way or another which I didn't find interesting at all, too many words in Cuban that is just a distraction and adds nothing to the book, then too many things are going on to where it was just a confusing mess to me.

One minute you're reading the main story (I think) of the missing boys (which was why I got this book from the library), then it flips to another side story for a few pages, then it flips to her personal life and her mother, then it flips to another story about Cuba, then it flips to another side story, then it gets back to the missing boys for a few pages then it just starts over again and again, so there are just too many side stories happening and makes for a mess.

Don't think I'll try anymore by her.


Act of God
Act of God
Author: Susan R. Sloan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/7/2016


I know this was a 'legal' thriller? thriller? not in my book it isn't, it is a long drawn out 500+ pages of boredom, I made it to page 200 and by that time I was just tired of tiring to keep reading, the story is so slow and unfolds so slow and I get tired of courtroom 'scenes', the personal side of the story about the lawyer didn't keep my interest enough to know what her 'secret' was and I didn't care---I gave up


1 to 20 of 2470 - Page: