Donna C. (g-ma) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 2150 - Page:
113 Minutes
113 Minutes
Author: James Patterson, Max DiLallo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/3/2016


Just okay, the chapters are titled by minutes and no explanation for that

The story is okay and does have a twist in it so for a short story it's just okay


12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 8/17/2013


The last few Patterson books have just fallen flat for me but this one has made up somewhat, I don't read his 'Private' series they don't interest me at all and some of the ones he let's another writer work on they don't turn out as well as they should but this one was much much better.


The 13th Hour
The 13th Hour
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/8/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Different than what I expected but very good. Nick is given the ablilty to go back in time by one hour increments to save the life of his wife but each hour puts a new twist on what is really happening until the very end. The end will shock you.

I never read anything from this author before and I might try another one.


14th Deadly Sin (Women's Murder Club, Bk 14)
14th Deadly Sin (Women's Murder Club, Bk 14)
Author: Maxine Paetro, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 5/16/2015
Helpful Score: 2


Another good installment in for the Women's Club series

It has short chapters which make it easy to read--I read it in one day--I guess a lot of readers were disappointed with the ending, yes you have to get the next book as it continues the story of the Kingfisher drug lord but too me that wasn't a big deal as it just opens the door for the next book but the storyline in this book was solved so I didn't see the reason for disappointment.

I did like the fact that Lindsey took front and center in this book with only the other 'club' members having just a short story about them, I don't care a lot for Yuki but oh well

I would say if you are a fan of the Women's Murder Club then don't skip this one just because someone gave it a 'disappointed' review because it does have a partial ending for the crime Lindsey was working on, it just leads into the next book, I thought it was okay


15 Seconds
15 Seconds
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/24/2012


Good enough story but it seems to repeat a lot and gets a little bogged down with that in places and seems to take a long time to get it all connected, however, it is worth taking time to read and I'd recommend it.


18 Seconds (Sherry Moore, Bk 1)
18 Seconds (Sherry Moore, Bk 1)
Author: George Shuman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 2/24/2016


I don't know where all these good reviews came from, I can barely give it a 1 star rating. None of the characters are interesting and Shuman has to give so much description about each one, it is so filled with unnecessary descriptions you can skip and skim to finally come to a good part but alas I never found that part. It is very very slow and it isn't anywhere near a suspense or a thriller, if it even had mystery to it I didn't find it. If Shuman is going to make a series he'll have to come up with something more interesting than this one and if a series develops I just don't see it as a good one


40
40
Author: Travis Thrasher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/7/2011


first--the description says this book has 272 pages, wrong! it has almost 400 pages

second--in the first 50 pages it was so boring and I couldn't see it going anywhere

third--only the second book I've tried to read by Thrasher and now I have my doubts about trying another one


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 5/29/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Reacher can really get into some situations, this time he gets on a tour bus with senior citizens just hitching a ride because it is winter time in the Dakotas and freezing, but he has no idea they would skid and get stranded in a town with biker trouble and he ends up in the middle of it----again---I really like Jack Reacher, he doesn't have a care in the world and travels with only what is on his back but his military training is always a huge help in every situation he gets in.


77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 7/13/2012


I whole heartedly agree with Stef140 on her review on this latest by Koontz.

I was an avid fan in his early years but now he's not even in the top 10, his writing leaves a lot to be desired in the fact that his books are just descriptions page after page and it gets boring very quickly, and this is no exception--after 100 pages it was just boring trying to keep up and stay interested when each chapter offered not much in the way of a good ending that made you want to read more---1/2 star from me---boring!


The 9th Girl (Kovac / Liska, Bk 5)
The 9th Girl (Kovac / Liska, Bk 5)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/2/2013


I didn't get very far, I like a suspense/thriller to start out with the story without getting into too much descriptions of things that are not important, I want it to continue from chapter to chapter building the story up and getting it to the point of can't put it down, this started out with too much descriptions, too many characters right off the bat, then it goes into a second storyline of the cop and her teens and from that point it lost me because I didn't get this book to read about family matters, I wanted a good thriller to keep me glued to the pages and this did not do it at all!


The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 5/15/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I thoroughly enjoyed this book, it is a fast read, if you can sit down with it you won't want to put it down for a minute it for any reason! Patterson really earned this one--the characters are clear, the chapters are short and it goes smoothly from page to page and before you know it -- you're done!!


Abandon
Abandon
Author: Blake Crouch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 6/29/2011


my expectation was high(too high) after waiting a long time to get this book it was a disappointment--it started out like a spooky ghost town mystery but about midway after the mystery has been solved it just takes on a boring descriptive(page after page) of the predictament they find themselves in and it gets tiresome of page after page of descriptions, and the mystery turned out to be not what you expect.


Abandoned Prayers: The Shocking True Story of Obsession, Murder and Little Boy Blue
Review Date: 5/11/2013


Well written, however, you must have a strong stomach to read it--Olsen goes into too much detail with gay relations that no one needs to know and the depravity of this man, makes you wonder why a person like that is born.


Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Author: Cody McFadyen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/20/2011


Good character in Smoky Barrett, if you haven't read this series then start from the first as the story continues in each book but each book gives you a run down on her life. She's had a rough life but she is a tough FBI agent.


Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Abducted (Lizzy Gardner, Bk 1)
Author: T. R. Ragan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/30/2014
Helpful Score: 1


WOW! Along the same lines of Chris Carter's books this is a well written suspense/thriller to the T. One of the best books I've read in a long time and looking forward to the next one (if I can get it, had to get this one through the library).


The Abduction
The Abduction
Author: Mark Gimenez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 9/29/2011


couldn't get into this one, too much repeat in just the first 100 pages, characters you can't like--a geeky Dad that acts more like a coward and a Mom that acts more like a shrew but the Grandpa is a hero and would be a more likable character even with his 'ghosts' he carries around, but I quit after a little over 100 pages because I just kept waiting and waiting for it to move on and I just lost interest


Aberration
Aberration
Author: Lisa Regan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/12/2014


WOW! This is an excellent thriller, very well written that it is hard to put down for any reason, the story flows smoothly without any draggy spots.

Regan is a newcomer for me but so far she is on my list of 'books most wanted'!!


Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Above Suspicion (Anna Travis, Bk 1)
Author: Lynda La Plante
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 7/26/2014


I, too, was unable to finish and in fact just didn't get very far into it, even in the first 30 pages you could tell was going to be a long drawn out disaster, it was going to refer to her Dad every other page or so and it had too much description and unnecessary detail in just those first few pages that I knew I couldn't stick with it-----a pet peeve is unnecessary descriptions and detail not needed and I give up on that book or author.

I have a few English/British writers I like to I don't think La Plante will be one of them.


Above Suspicion (Haggerty, Bk 3)
Above Suspicion (Haggerty, Bk 3)
Author: Betsy Brannon Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/30/2010


Nice slow paced mystery, a reporter working on cold cases returns to Bethany Beach to research a 25 yr old mystery on a girl that died but was never solved.


The Academy
The Academy
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 5/17/2011


Very good horror--Tyler High voted to become a 'charter' school and that would mean they were their own bosses, once that is establised the schools policies change drastically and what happens is just plain horror.....


1 to 20 of 2150 - Page: