Lisa J. (axeljarrett) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
Adventures of a Continental Drifter : An Around-the-World Excursion into Weirdness, Danger, Lust, and the Perils of Street Food
Review Date: 7/19/2011


As Chuck Klosterman is to music and pop culture, Elliot Hester is to traveling. One hysterical trip around the world!


Candy Everybody Wants
Candy Everybody Wants
Author: Josh Kilmer-Purcell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/27/2011


Another great book by the star of I Am Not Myself These Days. This chronicles his early formative years. What a hoot!


EVIDENCE OF LOVE
EVIDENCE OF LOVE
Author: John Bloom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/25/2011


"Candy Montgomery was a whore
She screwed around with Allan Gore -
When Betty Gore brought it up,
Candy used an ax to cut her up. . ."

Very interesting true story of the murder trial of Betty Gore and the incredible acquittal of Candy Montgomery.


Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Author: Jonathan Safran Foer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Fabulous!!! Jonathan Safran Foer does it again.


The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
The Friday Night Knitting Club (Knitting Club, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Jacobs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1890
Review Date: 3/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A great read about a group of women who meet in a New York City yarn shop once a week to knit, talk and share their secrets. The tale is funny, thought provoking and heart breaking.


God Save the Sweet Potato Queens
God Save the Sweet Potato Queens
Author: Jill Conner Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 3/14/2012


The follow up to The Sweet Potato Queen's Book of Love is just as hilarious. A guide for how to go from being a Cute Girl to a Fabulous Woman. Includes topics such as: Dating for the Advanced, or Advancing; The Joys of Marriage - if you must; and More Delicious, Death-Defying Recipes. Enjoy!


Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 4)
Hannibal Rising (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 4)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 3/2/2007


An excellent preview as to how Hannibal became who he is. And not at all gross (like the others).


Heat: An Amateur's Adventures as Kitchen Slave, Line Cook, Pasta-Maker, and Apprentice to a Dante-Quoting Butcher in Tuscany
Review Date: 6/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is a well told story of a New York writer who went to work for Mario Batali at Babbo before journeying to Italy to learn more about the food and the language. He learns pasta and butchering as told with insight and humor. Prepare to be hungry.


Honeymoon (Large Print)
Honeymoon (Large Print)
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/28/2006


Very entertaining. As always a quick read and a wild ride!


I Loved, I Lost, I Made Spaghetti: A Memoir of Good Food and Bad Boyfriends
Review Date: 2/9/2012


An excellent book on dating and food. Giulia describes her boyfriends with a dash of recipes scattered throughout. As you find yourself seeing a little bit of your relationships through the author, you can cook yourself a wonderful meal.


In My Skin: A Memoir
In My Skin: A Memoir
Author: Kate Holden
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/16/2007


An excellent book about addiction and the power that heroin can have over your mind and body.


Ishmael: An Adventure of the Mind and Spirit
Ishmael: An Adventure of the Mind and Spirit
Author: Daniel Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 324
Review Date: 1/22/2007


Very thought provoking.


The Kept Woman
The Kept Woman
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 4/12/2007


A beautician with three children in need of money meets a bad-boy politician in need of a wife. A business deal turns sexy. Everyone is trying to bring them down, but their love life continues to heat up.


Knock Me Off My Feet
Knock Me Off My Feet
Author: Susan Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 278
Review Date: 3/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very sexy book. And a great mystery. Part Martha Stewart, part Carmen Electra, Autumn Adams who is under the protection of sexy Detective Quinn takes you on a great read.


Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 2)
Living Dead in Dallas (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 2)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 379
Review Date: 3/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


The second book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. Sookie goes to Dallas to help locate a missing vampire. All the great characters are back to assist and hinder her in her quest.


A long way down
A long way down
Author: nick hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/30/2013


This novel was very well written. Told from four different characters points of view on why their lives have become not "worth living". You would not expect the topic matter to be humorous but it is a funny and uplifting read.


The Man Who Ate Everything
The Man Who Ate Everything
Author: Jeffrey Steingarten
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 6/21/2011
Helpful Score: 1


As the food critic for Vouge, Jeffrey Steingarten is curious about food. All types of food. From everywhere. Wildly entertaining while explaining away myths and misconceptions we are fed by the nutritionists - this book is a must read. Loved it!!


Moonlight on the Avenue of Faith
Moonlight on the Avenue of Faith
Author: Gina B. Nahai
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/1/2012


If you like Gabriel Garcia Marquez you will love Moonlight on the Avenue of Faith. The story follows Roxanna, born a bad luck child in Tehran, through her life in the ghettos of Tehran through the aristocracy. Then to Turkey and finally to Los Angeles. She leaves her daughter in Tehran only to reunite in LA. Reads like magic.


My Sister, My Love
My Sister, My Love
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/8/2010


A fictional account of the JonBenet Ramsey story told by her brother. Very interesting reading.


Not My Daughter
Not My Daughter
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 7/27/2011


I first heard about this story on Lifetime. What an interesting premise. Three teenaged girls have a pregnancy pact which stretches the ties of mother - daughter relationships and brings about love and forgiveness.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: