Mary J M. (kahanachameleon) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Alchemy and Academe
Alchemy and Academe
Author: Anne McCaffrey (Compiler)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/1/2007


This collection of short stories has nothing to do with magic school, despite the title. Don't expect any Harry Potter type stories here. In fact, quite a few of the stories seem experimental and, as a result, incomprehensible. Some, however, are worth reading. You probably won't want to keep the book, though. The stories worth reading are:

"Condillac's Statue": A man puts memory-less mature brain tissue into a statue and through sensory inputs gives it smell, hearing, and sight in an effort to see what decisions it makes about the things it sees/etc. An unexpected result ensues.

"Big Sam": She marries a man who eats a lot more as winter gets nearer, and gets increasingly difficult to wake up. Cute story.

"The Man Who Could Not See Devils": If everyone around you could see the supernatural and you couldn't, would you be at a disadvantage ... or not?

"Ringing the Changes": scifi. People have learned how to move consciousness from one body to the other and do so as a "vacation". Only this time it goes wrong and they're having quite a time getting people back into the correct bodies.

"Morning Glory": An exploration into the intelligence (or possibility of such) for plants, and tantalizing hints about how plant intelligence may mimic the collective human society's intelligence.

"The Devil You Don't": Posits beings from another plane of existence who 'eat' the energy that provides luck/unluck. Throw in a concerned Lucifer and you get a funny, but thoughtful story.


Behind the Attic Wall
Behind the Attic Wall
Author: Sylvia Cassedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 12/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Sweet and poignant.


The Betrayal (Cyteen, Bk 1)
The Betrayal (Cyteen, Bk 1)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/15/2006


The Cyteen trilogy is quite possibly my favorite of Cherryh's work.


Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/15/2006


A wonderful romp through a world filled with Roald Dahl's quirky characters. Charlie succeeds because he's a nice, decent kid and the other children are brats. Unlike the real world, in Dahl's worlds, nice wins!


Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator (Charlie Bucket, Bk 2)
Review Date: 10/15/2006


I find many people don't know that Charlie's adventures keep going ... I love the Vermicious Knids they encounter. As an alien encounter, the Vermicious Knids are quite, er, unique.


Circus of the Damned (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 3)
Circus of the Damned (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 3)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 402
Review Date: 10/15/2006


I love all the Anita Blake novels.


Cyteen II: The Rebirth (Cyteen, Bk 2)
Cyteen II: The Rebirth (Cyteen, Bk 2)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/15/2006


The Cyteen trilogy is quite possibly my favorite of Cherryh's work.


Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 3)
Dime Store Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 3)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 656
Review Date: 10/15/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Intriguing characters, swift action, and enough humor to leaven the often-dark and scary events.


Dragonflight (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 1)
Dragonflight (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 1)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 10/15/2006


The first Pern novel, and for me, it's the best.


Dragonsinger (Harper Hall, Bk 2)
Dragonsinger (Harper Hall, Bk 2)
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 10/15/2006


I'd like a fire lizard. This book makes them sound like so much fun!


Elf Fantastic (Fantasy Anthology)
Elf Fantastic (Fantasy Anthology)
Author: Various
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


some very enjoyable stories in this book; one or two incomprehensible ones, but not enough to detract from my liking the book overall. Some of the elves are Sidhe-type elves, like the ones from Tolkien, and some are the little elves, Santa-type or shoemaker-type elves.


Expecting Someone Taller
Expecting Someone Taller
Author: Tom Holt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 6/3/2007


This is one of the funniest stand-alone fantasies I have ever read. Unlike some comedic fantasies, this one derives its giggles from the characters and the plot, not simplistic puns, making it even better.


For One More Day
For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 721
Review Date: 4/7/2007


This was a quick, satisfactory read. It left a good feeling behind after I finished it. It's sweet while still realistic. I quite liked it.


Fuzzy Sapiens (Fuzzy Sapiens, Bk 2 )
Fuzzy Sapiens (Fuzzy Sapiens, Bk 2 )
Author: H. Beam Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/10/2007


I loved this book. The Fuzzies are adorable (kind of like intelligent, affectionate teddybears). Although the book has plenty of action, it lacks the angst of many current writers. Which is really good when you've got enough angst in real life and you just want an escape.


Goblin Quest (Jig the Goblin, Bk 1)
Goblin Quest (Jig the Goblin, Bk 1)
Author: Jim C. Hines
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great book that turns every sword and sorcery quest book on its head, without trying actually portray evil acts as good. Evil is just as scarily evil as it should be, and good is just as earnest, confused, and ultimately triumphant as it should be. The author has left room for the possibility of a sequel, and I can't wait to read it.


Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 1)
Guilty Pleasures (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 10/15/2006
Helpful Score: 5


I love all the Anita Blake novels. But to really understand how she got to the person she is in the current books, you should start at the beginning. Here.


How to Talk to Your Cat
How to Talk to Your Cat
Author: Jean Craighead George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/7/2007


Quite interesting, especially for the glimpses into other animals' communication scattered throughout the book.


Hunter of Worlds (Alliance-Union Universe) (Hanan Rebellion, Bk 2)
Hunter of Worlds (Alliance-Union Universe) (Hanan Rebellion, Bk 2)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was my first experience with a CJ Cherryh book. I liked it so much I now have two shelves (each about 5 feet long) filled with books by this author.


The Laughing Corpse (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 2)
The Laughing Corpse (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 2)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 386
Review Date: 10/15/2006


I love all the Anita Blake novels. Although some I definitely don't read at night!


Little Fuzzy
Little Fuzzy
Author: H. Beam Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/10/2007


This is the first book about the Fuzzies. Little Fuzzy is the first one to make contact with the human race, which he does by slipping by the prospector human into his cabin and investigating the shower. Adorable. How many first contacts happen with the human encountering the sentient teddybear-like creature fiddling with the shower controls? Wonderful book. The only reason I'm posting my copy is because I got the omnibus of this and Fuzzy Sapiens, the second book. The omnibus is called "The Fuzzy Papers."


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: