Kathryn C. (Hellraiser) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 111 - Page:
110 People Who Are Screwing Up America: (and Al Franken Is #37)
110 People Who Are Screwing Up America: (and Al Franken Is #37)
Author: Bernard Goldberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/9/2010


This book is funny and a real eye opener. Goldberg has some great points and a neat sense of humor. He really makes the ppl in the book look like idiots too. He presents facts about what the ppl have done.


The Abyss
The Abyss
Author: Steve Vance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Decent horror novel with likeable good guys that you really want to root for, and bad guys that are just despicable. I have read better, but this is an enjoyable time killer.


Afraid
Afraid
Author: Jack Kilborn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 5/8/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Fast paced thriller that never gets slow or boring. This is one of those guilty pleasures. You know you are reading a bunch of hooey, but you just can't help yourself from hanging on to the ride.


The Alien Upstairs
The Alien Upstairs
Author: Pamela Sargent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/18/2009


The mysterious guy upstairs intrigues a couple in which the gender roles are somewhat reversed. This book is short and an ok little Sci Fi novel.


Amazonia
Amazonia
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 2/16/2010


This book is fantastic! An adventure you won't want to put down!


Amulet
Amulet
Author: Michael McDowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/29/2011


This was an ok read. I truly wanted to finish it which shows that the writer kept me interested. It wasn't anything all that special or memorable though. The ending was too abrupt and unsatisfying. It was like the book was leading up to nothing, just showing gruesome death after gruesome death with no real substance. Also, the author had way too many offensive stereotypes in his story. And another thing, the leading lady seems cold and unsympathetic to her husband's plight from the very beginning with no real proof that the poor bastard is in on anything. The novel never verifies whether he was to blame for anything. She just seems to not want to be bothered with a catatonic husband. I had a hard time rooting for her. My final verdict: not bad, only so-so though.


Angel Dust Apocalypse
Angel Dust Apocalypse
Author: Jeremy Robert Johnson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/29/2011


Ok. I thought this was going to be some pretentious piece of crap. I thought this was gonna be someone like Carlton Mellick (haven't read him)who seems to like to try to offend and outrage people with covers and titles that are disgusting or controversial. I thought this because Johnson is compared to Mellick by several reviewers. I gave it a try because it was listed somewhere as one of the scariest books out there. I was very pleasantly surprised. This writer is extremely talented. I found this bizarre, eclectic collection of short stories to be creative, thought provoking, and highly entertaining. If you are a horror buff, or just enjoy great writing, give this book a try. If you have a weak stomache however, you might want to stay away from it. Anyway, I really liked Angel Dust Apocalypse.


Atmosphere
Atmosphere
Author: Michael Laimo
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent first novel from Laimo. I was hooked from the first page! It seems like a horror novel as you read it, but turns out to be so much more! Its sad that the cover art is what it is. I'm afraid that will cause people to think the book is about a serial killer targeting women, and it isn't. The story is wayyyy more creative than that.


The Basement
The Basement
Author: Bari Wood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was so-so. I thought the explanation at the end for what was happening was ridiculous and disappointing. The author spends too much time talking about the protagonist being a little overweight and seems to think the readers might not like an overweight character because they are fat. So, she harps on the weight issue. I'm not a bigot myself, so I don't need to read the author's issues about large women. The main character is simply a little overweight anyway and it shouldn't matter.


Black Butterflies
Black Butterflies
Author: John Shirley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 5/8/2010


I expected this collection to be fantastic based on the raves that were on the book itself and online from critics and horror writers alike. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't as great as the reviews made it seem. It apparently won some awards, but I've read more deserving than this. One story in the book about living celebrity lawn ornaments was ridiculously stupid. Anyway not bad, but not fantastic either.


The Black Carousel (Oxrun)
The Black Carousel (Oxrun)
Author: Charles Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/18/2009


This was an enjoyable read to a point, but I thought the ending was confusing and made little sense. However, the creepy stuff happening to the people who rode the carousel was quite interesting.


Black Death
Black Death
Author: R. Karl Largent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/25/2011


This was ok, but the ending was too abrupt, and a bit disappointing.


Blue World
Blue World
Author: Robert McCammon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 12/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This guy is an amazing writer! This collection of short stories showcases his talent. The stories are an ecclectic mix of genres. Lots of horror, but also mystery, sci fi, and suspense. I particularly enjoyed a story about a group of misfits who form their own would be super hero crime fighting team. A great read!


Brainchild
Brainchild
Author: John Saul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 12/1/2009


Boring, silly, and annoyingly slow.


Cat's Eye
Cat's Eye
Author: William W. Johnstone
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I'm sorry to be rude, but this was total crap. The author seems to advocate child abuse. The characters are all stereotypes. Characters disappeared with no explanation. 2 abusive parents(they were supposed to be the good guys)don't even try to help their teen daughter after she gets lured into a cult and possessed by evil. They just stop loving her and caring about her and hope she dies. They seem proud to bully her and beat her in the name of "good" earlier in the story too. The main characters seem so self righteous, yet in my opinion they suck as human beings. This author writes westerns, and you can see how he used elements from "shoot out at the ok corral" type novels in this load of drivel.


Christmas Babies
Christmas Babies
Author: Christopher Keane, William D. Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/8/2011


Entertaining medical conspiracy thriller. This has nothing to do with the holiday season lol. They are called Christmas Babies because they are all born with red hair and green eyes. Complaint: There is an important character in this story that kind of changes personality for no reason at the end of the book.


The Circus of the Earth and the Air
The Circus of the Earth and the Air
Author: Brooke Stevens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! The author creates such a great atmosphere in every chapter. He takes you on a journey to discover the mystery behind a very different circus. The protagonist survives all kinds of perilous and adventurous situations in a quest to find his missing lover who dissapeared at a mystical circus. The book really drew me in and I never wanted to put it down. This author hasn't written many books and that is a shame because he is very talented. This particular book of his is a gem!


Coffey on the Mile  (Green Mile, Bk 6)
Coffey on the Mile (Green Mile, Bk 6)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 5/8/2011


Cornyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!! Ugh.


Covenant
Covenant
Author: John Everson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/25/2011


I have no idea why everyone thinks this book is so awesome. It was soooooo boring. No way did this deserve the Bram Stoker award. It was not very creative either.


Crazies to the Left of Me, Wimps to the Right: Why I've Had It with Both Sides -- But for Very Different Reasons
Review Date: 1/9/2010


Another entertaining, yet informative book by Goldberg. He makes you laugh out loud, but then you think about how scary it is that the ppl he writes about are behaving the way they are described in the book. He critisizes both liberals and conservatives in this book. It is not one sided. When I read Goldberg, he seems like he'd be someone fun to pal around with and have discussions with.


1 to 20 of 111 - Page: