Angelic V. (chronicreader) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim, Bk 1)
Angel Time (Songs of the Seraphim, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 5/31/2011


I've always enjoyed Anne Rice's books, but this one just wasn't my cup of tea I guess. I really had to push through to read the whole thing. I just kept thinking it would get better. The focus on organized religion was distracting to me. However, it DID remind me of a somewhat similar book that was FANTASTIC - The Gargoyle. I don't recall the author, but I still think about that book. The only similarities I think were the ability of the writer's to move the reader elegantly between current day and the 13th/114th century. In both, the main character is a tortured male. And both are on, albeit very different, spiritual journeys. I found The Gargoyle a much more enthralling read...as I said, a book I still ponder about...and may just have to read again!


A Blind Man Can See How Much I Love You
A Blind Man Can See How Much I Love You
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/13/2010


All of the stories in this collection were good, but the author saved the best for last. A great quick read!


Body for Life: 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strength
Body for Life: 12 Weeks to Mental and Physical Strength
Author: Bill Phillips
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 1/9/2013


I lost 50 lbs. using the concepts from this book, so when I ran across a free copy, I knew to post for my PBS friends! I won't part with my personal copy - mostly because I've worn it out! You won't regret getting this book - IF you APPLY the advice within. Good luck!


C'est La Vie : An American Woman Begins a New Life in Paris and--Voila!--Becomes Almost French
Review Date: 2/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am probably a bit partial, but I loved this book. Suzy Gershman is hilarious - she has a wonderful sense of humor. This is supposed to be the first of a series, so I am anxious for the next one. She takes you through the loss of her husband to moving to another country, to making a new life, to her first french love affair, to coming to terms with the end of her first year as a widow. What a ride!


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1729
Review Date: 4/7/2010


An excellent read - especially if you enjoyed Angels & Demons and The Davinci Code - with plenty of Brown's trademark suspense and detailed writing (with more sci-fi and less arts). It's been a while since I read it, but I remember thinking I acually liked it BETTER than A & D and TDC and hoping for a movie!


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 9/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I was at a PBS swap when one swapper said to another, "This was a GOOD book." That was it - I was intrigued, so I took it home. I've never read John Hart before, but I LOVED this book. Extremely well written; good characters, great story line, not too terribly cliche', the story moved along really well, but the best part was that I carried it with me EVERYWHERE for 2 days because I wanted to read it every chance I got. I immediately loaned it to my coworker and insisted she read it!


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2513
Review Date: 3/28/2009


This book is perfect for a plane ride; it's not too long, enthralling, and compact. It also explores one of my favorite subjects; what happens after when we die?


Fledgling
Fledgling
Author: Octavia E. Butler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 10/25/2010


One of the best vampire books I've read. I was so sad that this series wasn't continued (the author died unexpectedly). It reminded me somewhat of Stephanie Meyer's Host - something about the tone and the emotional depth the writers were able to convey to the reader.


The Gargoyle
The Gargoyle
Author: Andrew Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/31/2011


An excellent read, I highly recommend. The writer is able to move the reader elegantly between current day and medieval times. I had just started watching Dexter when I read this and kept envisioning one of the characters (Lila from Season 2) as the female protagonist in this book. And if they make a movie - I will have to insist that they cast her! I really enjoyed the way the writer portrayed the main character in this book. I still wonder about the ending and different parts of the story, so I will almost certainly have to read this one again - it's that good. It's a wonderful story of one man's spiritual journey.


Go with Me (P.S.)
Go with Me (P.S.)
Author: Castle Freeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/13/2010


A good short read. I will admit that the story idea didn't sound very enthralling, but the writer's dialogue is quite entertaining and I looked forward to returning to reading it. An nice quick read for the beach or the waiting room - enjoyable.


The Goddesses of Kitchen Avenue
The Goddesses of Kitchen Avenue
Author: Barbara Samuel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/11/2009


It has been years since I read this book, but I still remember it. It is a wonderful story and is just one of those books that makes you feel and empathize with the characters and those feelings remain with you. Each woman's story feels real and like something you could relate to because you have either gone through it or a friend has. Just a great read.


A Grief Observed
A Grief Observed
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/24/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This book was personally life changing for me. I read it while going through a very bad divorce after being married for 15 years. It really helped me realize, sadly enough, that I hadn't ever been loved like this before, and therefore making it easier for me to let go of my marriage and move on. It is beautifully written; very poetic. I have kept this book and gone back to it time and time again for comfort. It also provides some insight into how we cope with the death of a loved one and the struggles of coping spiritually with a loss.


Happy Hour at Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 1)
Happy Hour at Casa Dracula (Casa Dracula, Bk 1)
Author: Marta Acosta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 9/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Perty darn funny! Again, I love writers with humor. Acosta has infused her main character, Milagro, with such a unique personality - I loved it! Another one of those books that had me from hello. There is a sequel - which will go on my list. Great characters, the story is consistently taut, which keeps you reading. I was pleasantly surprised - with the cheesy title and all.


Julie and Julia : 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen
Julie and Julia : 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 8/23/2010


A well-written memoir. Very honest and entertaining. I laughed all the way through it - ate and cooked more too! It's inspiring in a REAL way and I enjoyed the writer's 'voice'. I usually find the book better than the movie and I think in this case it is also true. The movie did smooth the writer down around the edges - she uses more expletives in the book and the book has the emotional depth that the movie didn't capture (in my opinion). I plan on reading Julia Child's biography next!


Keeping Life Simple : 7 Guiding Principles, 500 Tips  Ideas
Keeping Life Simple : 7 Guiding Principles, 500 Tips Ideas
Author: Karen Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/3/2010


Many great ideas. A bit dated, but still mostly applicable. Worth reading and passing on!


Love in Another Town
Love in Another Town
Author: Barbara Taylor Bradford
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 9/3/2010


I'm either just not a BTB fan or this story was just too sappy. I'm not sure which...


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1178
Review Date: 4/7/2010


I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I read it over a weekend, so it is a fairly fast and easy read. It is obviously written more towards juvenile fiction (similar to the Twilight series), but the writing is extremely entertaining and the heroine has SUCH a great sense of humor! I liked it so much, I ordered the next 3 books!


Nights in Rodanthe
Nights in Rodanthe
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 729
Review Date: 1/9/2013


I saw the movie before I read the book and I prefer not to do that, but this book still outshined the movie. So, if you thought the movie was good - read the book. I love Nicholas Sparks, The Notebook will always be my favorite, but this book touched me just as much because of the exploration of the mother-daughter relationship and how far mother's will go to protect their children and how much pain we will endure to help set them free. Have a box of tissues handy!


Range of Motion
Range of Motion
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 1/9/2013


Elizabeth Berg is one of my favorite authors and I love that I discovered her completely by accident. Or was it fate? That is what this book explores - fate. A tragic accident befalls a husband and father and leaves his wife struggling with all of the responsibilities and questions and longings that you would expect in the aftermath. But everyone handles grief and anger in their own way and this is the story of one woman's struggle - and her faith.


Strength in What Remains: A Journey of Remembrance and Forgiveness (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/7/2011


Incredible story. I was so anxious to hear it all, then when it was done I kept playing the last CD over and over. I would find myself missing the sound of the author's voice and the telling of Deo's story! Kidder's writing seems so clean and simple, yet somehow he gets you - right THERE - ya know? I'm glad I listened to the author read versus reading the book myself - I think I would have lost some of the depth of the storytelling in my translation. I enjoyed Kidder immensely!


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: