Jim M. - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Blue Highways: A Journey Into America
Blue Highways: A Journey Into America
Author: William Least Heat Moon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/18/2017


It may be that I am just of the age, 65 or so, that I enjoy this, but I think it is a fantastic read. I can now open the book at any time and to any page and read a fresh short account of the author's visit on that day in that part of America and likely as not meet a local resident. I will never give this book away and I have actually bought another copy to give to a relative.


Break In (Kit Fielding, Bk 1)
Break In (Kit Fielding, Bk 1)
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/9/2011


This is a gripping story and the lead-in plot-line to "Bolt". I could hardly put either book down, but did not discover their related story lines until after I read Bolt. Read Break In first if you can.


Buried Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 2)
Buried Bones (Sarah Booth Delaney, Bk 2)
Author: Carolyn Haines
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 1/22/2012


I liked this story. We see additional character building of Sarah Booth the main character; a developing Sweetie Pie, age old secrets abound with supplemental characters, murder and a fairly fast pace to the events. I did not want to put it down.


Flirting With Mermaids: The Unpredictable Life of a Sailboat Delivery Skipper
Review Date: 1/14/2015


This is a story and he tells it in that vein. The author begins with a delivery during which he meets his future wife. Soon the story of his fables and foils on real life cruises are being told to her as they cruise together on another boat delivery in the Caribbean Seas. It's factual and romantic and true life. If you like to sail and like the sea and don't mind a pretty woman along, then you will enjoy this man's adventures.


The Forces of Krill (Zork, Bk 1)
The Forces of Krill (Zork, Bk 1)
Author: S. Eric Meretzky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/15/2012


I was a fan of the ZORK "text based" PC games and played them for many hours. I did not know these books had been written and although they are better read by someone understanding ZORK from back when, they are still fun to work your way through today. The different "scenario choices" offer entertainment for young and the old-young adventurers.


Goldilocks
Goldilocks
Author: Ed McBain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/20/2012


This is the first of the Mathew Hope series. It spends a bit of time introducing the character Mathew and his origins and failure of his marriage. However, the plot keeps moving and I thought I knew who-done-it, but I was wrong at the end.


The Impossible Virgin (Modesty Blaise, Bk 5)
The Impossible Virgin (Modesty Blaise, Bk 5)
Author: Peter O'Donnell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/11/2014


One of the best of this series. This one brings Dr Giles Pennyfeather to the story line.


McBain Trio: Lullaby / Vespers / Widows (87th Precinct, Bks 41-43)
McBain Trio: Lullaby / Vespers / Widows (87th Precinct, Bks 41-43)
Author: Ed McBain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/2/2014


Possibly the best of the 87th Precinct. Bloody, mysterious and sexy, yowser!. These three books also cover a lot of background material in the personal lives of the Precinct's constant story characters. A must read.


Rumpelstiltskin (Matthew Hope, Bk 2)
Rumpelstiltskin (Matthew Hope, Bk 2)
Author: Ed McBain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/15/2012


I really like the Matthew Hope series. Always a good action/mystery read.


YOU: Being Beautiful: The Owner's Manual to Inner and Outer Beauty
Review Date: 10/30/2013


If you have a mindset toward taking care of your body and felling well, this is a good book choice.


YOU: Stress Less
YOU: Stress Less
Author: Michael F. Roizen, Mehmet C. Oz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/21/2012
Helpful Score: 2


There couldn't be more useful information in less space at only 82 pages. If you are tired of self help books and ways to blame your parents, this book is for you. It is lite reading and covers the stress symptoms and paths to relief. It delves into your perceptions, stress triggers, relationships, work, as well as Yoga and a 14 day stress management plan.


1 to 11 of 11