La-Shauna F. (SHADY) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 1050 - Page:
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
1105 Yakima Street (Cedar Cove Chronicles, Bk 11)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 8/30/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This is teh second-to-last book in the series, book 11. I have come to expect the unexpected in this series but this book was horrible. The constant disrespect and whining from Jolene and Bruce just killed the entire vibe of the book. If it wasn't for the other charachters storyline I would have burned this book!!! Hopefully the final book can erase this book from memory.


1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
1225 Christmas Tree Lane (Cedar Cove, Bk 12)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 10/30/2011
Helpful Score: 3


The only thing good about this book wasn't the actual storyline of 1225 Christmas Tree Lane, rather it was the summary of the happily ever after of all the charachters of Cedar Cove Series. The actual storyline was so boring I had to skip through it....it would have been better she had done the book and then do the summary of the charachters in a short story-format at the end.


An Accidental Birthright (Harlequin Presents, No 2985)
An Accidental Birthright (Harlequin Presents, No 2985)
Author: Maisey Yates
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/31/2011


This was quick read. alison pregnant by IVF with Prince Maximo sperm. Lab made mistake. Both parties were afraid of needing each other whther physically, financially or emotionally. Both had to work through their respective issues to find peace within themselves in order to be together.


Acquired: The CEO's Small-Town Bride (Takeover, Bk 6) (Harlequin Desire, No 2090)
Review Date: 6/29/2011


The CEO's Small-Town Bride is a very compelling and moving story. We all have what ifs in our life and would give anything to do it over. Sarah and Rafe both have issues to resolve that linger from the past. Watching them grow and work through them is a treat. Their chemistry snaps and sizzles on every page. You find your self routing for this couple to have it all.


Affair
Affair
Author: Amanda Quick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 5/5/2011


At times I wonder if Charlotte was aware of her effect on Baxter! Poor Baxter! The storyline was good and so was the secondary charachters.


An Affair with the Princess (Royal Seductions, Bk 3) (Silhouette Desire, No 1900)
An Affair with the Princess (Royal Seductions, Bk 3) (Silhouette Desire, No 1900)
Author: Michelle Celmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Toward the end, the hero realize he loves the heroine and just simply tells the heroine without any passionate gesture or dramatic emotions. And the heroine just give in and simply take his word for it without a second thought.


Affairs of State (Daughters of Power: The Capital, Bk 6) (Harlequin Desire)
Affairs of State (Daughters of Power: The Capital, Bk 6) (Harlequin Desire)
Author: Jennifer Lewis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/20/2013


I had been looking forward to Ariella's story from the start of a Daughters of Power The Capital series began. I was really disappointed with the conclusion.

The problem with continuities is that sometimes there are books that can stand alone and sometimes there are books that should not be read separately. This one probably could have been a stand alone (except for the epilogue where every single character reappeared), but since I had read all the previous ones in the series, I was able to spot critical errors that had me questioning whether or not the authors conferred with one another. I couldn't believe that Ariella said in Affairs of State that she found out her father was the POTUS when she read about it in the papers! Anyone who read any of the other books knows that it had already been established that the revelation happened live at one of the Presidential Balls while Ariella was in attendance!!! It was central to the plot of at least two other books in the series.

This book was boring. Ariella was boring. Simon was boring. He was supposed to be an adventurer but they spent their time together antiquing and exploring gardens. His family, save for his brother Henry, were horrid. I couldn't believe how his grandmother the Queen flipped the script so easily at the end. I don't even want to get started with Ariella's mother Ellie. She was afraid of her own shadow. And everything happened so quickly it was somewhat unreal. Had Ariella and President Morrow actually spent any amount of time together and gotten to know one another, then it would have made sense for Simon to ask him for permission to marry Ariella. Because they hadn't, that scene felt out of place.

I wanted to like this book. I expected to like this book. Alas, I barely got through it. If you enjoyed the series, then by all means, read this one.


After Dark  (Harmony, Bk 1)
After Dark (Harmony, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 5/5/2011


Another futuristic romance set beyond the Curtain, this time on Harmony. The residents of Harmony have different psychic gifts than those of St. Helens. They are able to use amber and psi energy to power everything from cars to televisions. Some are more gifted in that they can manipulate 'ghosts' and untangle 'traps' left in the old cities built by the former residents of the planet. These people are para-archaeologists and ghost hunters. Lydia and Emmett are just such a team, trying to find Emmett's nephew and a family heirloom he stole, they uncover something much more valuable, and dangerous.


After Glow (Harmony, Bk 2)
After Glow (Harmony, Bk 2)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 5/5/2011


From Lydia's determination to protect Emmett, to his worries about her feelings for ghost-hunters, we are constantly waiting for the explosions to begin. However, Jayne Castle, knows what we want. I just loved the Restoration Ball and The DRESS. Two hearts wanting the same thing but scared to reach out too quickly. The suspense and stirring adventure are not overshadowed by the romance, and the thrilling conclusion is wonderfully enhanced by Fuzz and a number of unusual and fasinating characters. Could not put it down.


An After-Hours Affair (Texas Cattleman's Club: The Showdown) (Harlequin Desire, No 2108)
Review Date: 10/19/2011


The book was okay but just liek the others int he series the heroine always over think and jumps to the wrong conclusion which makes the book very annoying.....


After the Greek Affair (After Hours with the Greek) (Harlequin Presents Extra, No 198)
Review Date: 2/2/2013


It was a good book. I liked all the characters. I guess I would have liked for Belle to have found who her real father was but otherwise the story is lovely. It a good read.


After Their Vows (Harlequin Presents, No 3001)
After Their Vows (Harlequin Presents, No 3001)
Author: Michelle Reid
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/10/2011


While After Their Vows may not be one of her best books, it is still a very engaging book. Ms. Reid can make you go though all sorts of emotions in a short book. I felt the sadness, tenderness, love, anger and enjoyed every moment of it. I think that they were both hurt in their own ways and tried their best to overcome it. Loved this emotional rollercoaster by this fantastic author!


Alessandro's Prize (Harlequin Presents, No 3003)
Alessandro's Prize (Harlequin Presents, No 3003)
Author: Helen Bianchin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I must be the minority but I did like this book. Its not the author's best but it was an ok read. I did like that Alessandro took the time to court her and earn her trust even if he was confusing and it seems at times he was pushing her to realize that they belong together. I liked that when she asked for space he gave it to her. Lily was such a turmoil after her break-up and as the book progress we see her grow into being confident and trusting her instincts and putting her faith in another man, Alessandro.


All Grown Up (Men of Wolff Mountain, Bk 5) (Harlequin Desire, No 2206)
All Grown Up (Men of Wolff Mountain, Bk 5) (Harlequin Desire, No 2206)
Author: Janice Maynard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/16/2013


Janice Maynard deftly exposes the pain of rejection and its etched lesson, then gently sands away the layers until the characters have a clean slate.The story of the only female Wolff family member. It made me laugh and cry. I loved the past between the characters and how well they knew each other.


All He Ever Wanted (At Cain's Command, Bk 1) (Harlequin Desire, No 2188)
All He Ever Wanted (At Cain's Command, Bk 1) (Harlequin Desire, No 2188)
Author: Emily McKay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/12/2013


It was an okay read. Dalton and Laney had known each other since they were children. Fast forward 10 years and Dalton needs Laney's help to find a missing heiress. The only thing great about this book is the banter between the leads unfortunately Laney was just too annoying a heroine for me.


All He Really Needs (At Cain's Command, Bk 2) (Harlequin Desire, No 2213)
All He Really Needs (At Cain's Command, Bk 2) (Harlequin Desire, No 2213)
Author: Emily McKay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/25/2013


this book just went on and on about the Cain's family dynamic. it got to the point of being ridiculous! I almost gave up. and the heroine Sydney was not likeable. I love Griffin. I hated the fact that she wanted him to do something that he didn't want to do for her. while she ran to work for his ex-step-mom and gave up nothing in return. this series is horrible!


All or Nothing (Alpha Brotherhood, Bk 2) (Harlequin Desire, No 2203)
All or Nothing (Alpha Brotherhood, Bk 2) (Harlequin Desire, No 2203)
Author: Catherine Mann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/16/2013


This was truly a passionate, romantic, action packed, mystery and suspense filled read. Writing at it's best!The backdrop setting was one of glitz and glam at one point,which gave the book the James Bond feel but also that of Africa where I got to see the worth and strengths of both characters truly revealed.


Amaryllis (Curtain: St. Helen's, Bk 1)
Amaryllis (Curtain: St. Helen's, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 5/5/2011


Amaryllis Lark and Lucas Trent get off to a rocky start, but slowly acknowledge their growing attraction to each other. This is fueled by their Prism/Talent Link that leads them into a nice little murder mystery to solve.


Annie and the Red-Hot Italian (Balfour Brides, Bk 6) (Harlequin Presents, No 2964)
Review Date: 1/28/2011


Annie had met Luca four years ago on a ski slope and the chemistry between the two was awesome. Luca the billionaire alpha Italian male had disappeared from her life in a flash and now four years later she bumps into him at a meeting in his hotel. He's crazy about her which is nice to read about because she has a secret. When he finds out about his son he tells her they are going to marry. Yes he's arrogant, pushy, mean at times but you have to admire the workmanship. I liked him instantly, because of the humanity of the guy. I liked the way he wasn't going to give up on Annie or his son. When he realized how much he loved Annie he was willing to walk away from them and asked if he could court her. I got all misty!


At Her Boss's Pleasure (Harlequin Presents, No 3334)
At Her Boss's Pleasure (Harlequin Presents, No 3334)
Author: Cathy Williams
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/15/2015


This book was boring and tedious. Kate was annoying. Not a good read. CW is either a hit or miss. This was is definately a miss.


1 to 20 of 1050 - Page: