Kristin M. (mcpenguin5) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 94 - Page:
101 Damnations : The Humorists' Tour of Personal Hells
101 Damnations : The Humorists' Tour of Personal Hells
Author: Michael Rosen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/10/2006


A very funny collection of writings by several authors. It is a collection of the personal "hells" we all endure on a day-to-day basis, from annoying to infuriating. Neatly broken up into th Nine Circle of Hell, as per Dante,they ring true, some more than others. I found some of them side-splittingly funny, others, well, "I see your point."


All the Trouble in the World: The Lighter Side of Overpopulation, Famine, Ecological Disaster, Ethnic Hatred, Plague, and Poverty
Review Date: 3/25/2007


This is a very funny book by a very funny man. He takes a rather acid approach to the problems that plague us, or seem to plague us. Easy read, light and funny. Keep your sense of humor intact however, if conservative types annoy you.


All the Trouble in the World: The Lighter Side of Overpopulation, Famine, Ecological Disaster, Ethnic Hatred, Plague, and Poverty
Review Date: 4/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Hillarious! O'Rourke is a magician with wit and sarcasm. Edgy take on the anxieties of modern America.


Almost Dead
Almost Dead
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/1/2012


This book is not a bad mystery, but it almost falls into the pattern of a romance novel, which made it's outcome almost predictable to me. I am not a fan of romance novels, so I didn't enjoy this as much as I could have. I guess that people who like romance novels will like this way more than I did. I only gave it three stars out of five because of this, as it is otherwise well written good plot, well written.


Altered States of Awareness: Readings from Scientific American
Review Date: 9/22/2007


Part of an Independent Study Class in Brain, Biology and Behavior. Really fascinating reading for those of us interested in the workings of the human psyche.


Archaeology of Greece
Archaeology of Greece
Author: William R Biers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/15/2006


This is a book that was part of the reading material for an Open University class on Ancient Greece. It is interesting reading quite aside from classwork, detailing with drawings, charts, maps and photographs the various finds of the land of the ancient Greeks.


Arkansas Mischief: The Birth of a National Scandal
Arkansas Mischief: The Birth of a National Scandal
Author: Curtis Wilkie, Jim McDougal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/22/2007


A study into Bill Clinton before the White House. Amazing details and seemingly strong evidence of hanky-panky. Not for the loyal Democrat.


The Asti Spumante Code: A Parody
The Asti Spumante Code: A Parody
Author: Toby Clements
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A hilarious spoof of the DaVinci Code. It is a quick read, but very funny. After all the Hoo-Hah going on in the press and on TV about the book and the movie, this is very refreshing, indeed.


Back to the Bedroom
Back to the Bedroom
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 9/22/2007


More of the same humor and unbelievably wild antics from Evanovich. I am not as much a fan of her Non-Stephanie Plum books, but this one was terrifically funny, in the same mold as Stphanie Plum. Her Grandma Mazur prototype is right on target. Loved every page of it, but was disappointed to find I read the whole thing in one night! Couldn't put it down.


Bible Prophecy Made Easy
Bible Prophecy Made Easy
Author: Mark Water
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/4/2006


A small book, but excellent reading.


The Blazing Tree (Michael Merrick Mysteries)
The Blazing Tree (Michael Merrick Mysteries)
Author: Mary Jo Adamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/1/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent mystery set in the mid-eighteen hundreds, New York state. The inside look at a community of Shakers and their beliefs was an additional bonus. Really easy read, smooth flow, and believable characters. I enjoyed it immensely.


Blind Descent (Anna Pigeon, Bk 6)
Blind Descent (Anna Pigeon, Bk 6)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 2/5/2006


Anna Pigeon, the intredpid National Park Service ranger in Nevada Barr's superb wilderness mysteries, ahs had some perilous experienced in the five novels that preceded "Blind Descent", but none compares with this thrilling subterranean adventure in the underground caverns of Lechuguilla, a "monster man-eatting cave" in New Mexico's Carlsbad Caverns. When a fellow ranger is injured in a caving accident, Anna chokes back the willies of claustrophobia and joins the rescue team. Burrowing 800 feet below ground, she negotiates airless tunnels, gaping pits, vaulting caverns, and silently flowing fivers, each hazard with a daunting name like Razor Blade Run or the Wormhole. At the end of the dangerous descent, she reaches her friend and hears her say, "It wasn't and accident."
Barr's descriptions of this Stygian underworld-so beautiful, so mysterious and so treacherous-have a stunning visceral quality, largely because of her heroine's affinity with the natural world. Strong, independent and proud of it, Anna is less appreciative of nature's higher orders. ('If she had a tail,' she says of her edgy encounter with another caver, 'it would have been lashing.') Her abrasiveness may blind anna to the subtler signals of human behavior, but alone in the darkness, she can see clear to the heart of the matter.


Boy's Life
Boy's Life
Author: Robert McCammon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 2/10/2006


A young boy confronting the less-appealing aspects of life in his small town. A good read.


The Brain: A Scientific American Book
The Brain: A Scientific American Book
Author: Scientific American
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/22/2007


Part of an Independent Study class in Brain, Biology and Behaviour. Good easy read.


Brain and Behavior: Psychobiology of Everyday Life
Brain and Behavior: Psychobiology of Everyday Life
Author: Frank Campbell, George Sinaer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/22/2007


A book that was part of the required reading in an Independent Study course on Brain, Biology and Behavior. It is a textbook but still interesting for anyone who likes to read about how the brain works.


Brimstone  (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A body is found in the attic of a fabulous Long Island estate. There is a clsw print scorched into the wall, and the stench of sulfur chokes the air. When FBI Special Agent Pendergast investigates the gruesome crime, he discovers that thirty years ago four men conjured something unspeakable. Has the devil come to claim his due?


Build A Better Life By Stealing Office Supplies (Dilbert)
Build A Better Life By Stealing Office Supplies (Dilbert)
Author: Scott Adams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 5/13/2006


Another Dilbert Cartoon collection. Funny, familiar to all the cube-farm residents. I part with it reluctantly.


Cartoon History of the Universe 1 (Cartoon History of the Universe)
Cartoon History of the Universe 1 (Cartoon History of the Universe)
Author: Larry Gonick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/22/2007


Very funny "history" book. A cartoon story from the Big Bang onward.


The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell (Cat Who...Bk 28)
The Cat Who Dropped a Bombshell (Cat Who...Bk 28)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I am a a big fan of the "Cat Who..." series of books, but this one was a disappointment for me. It was okay, but not up to Ms Braun's usual standards. It had a different feel to it, and I'm not sure she really wrote this whole book itself. Its just not her style.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 701
Review Date: 3/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! I just stayed up till the wee hours to finish this, I couldn't put it down. Old-fashioned Stephen King, held my undivided attention all the way through.


1 to 20 of 94 - Page: