Nancy D. (ArtistNancy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
Breakout at the Bug Lab (Puffin Easy-to-Read)
Breakout at the Bug Lab (Puffin Easy-to-Read)
Author: Ruth Horowitz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2007


A Puffin Easy to Read Level 2 Book
A suspenseful tale for intermediate readers.


Cause Celeb
Cause Celeb
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't think this was quite as good as the Bridget Jones books, but Fielding definitely has a flair for heroines who get themselves into hilariously embarrassing situations. Anyone who likes British chick lit will enjoy it.


Clifford the Big Red Dog: Magnet Math (Board Book with Magnets)
Review Date: 3/24/2007


This is a really cute counting book. I don't know how many bones came with it originally, but we have 28 and the book doesn't get past twenty in its games.


A Delirious Summer (Jay Jarvis, Bk 2)
A Delirious Summer (Jay Jarvis, Bk 2)
Author: Ray Blackston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book has many of the same characters featured in Flabbergasted, but easily stands on its own because the central character (narrator) is new to the cast. Besides being generally delightful, it has an uplifting message about how everyone has something to contribute to betterment of the world around us. I recommend it highly.


A Dollar for Penny (Step-into-Reading, Step 2)
A Dollar for Penny (Step-into-Reading, Step 2)
Author: Julie Glass, Joy Allen (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/11/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great book to teach simple addition of coins. The story is entertaining and sweet. The little girl ends up using her lemonade stand money to buy her mom a birthday gift.


Fluffy Meets the Tooth Fairy (Hello Reader L3)
Review Date: 4/11/2007


Scholastic Reader Level 3
Cute book featuring Fluffy the Guinea pig.


For One More Day
For One More Day
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 721
Review Date: 4/10/2007


I liked this book, but not as much as Tuesdays with Morrie. It would make a good mother's day gift, though!


Helen of Pasadena
Helen of Pasadena
Author: Lian Dolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I've listened to the Satellite Sisters and Chaos Chronicles podcasts for years and although I pre-ordered the book, I have to admit that I was not sure whether it was going to be good or not. IT WAS TERRIFIC! It was well-written, funny, and fresh! Bravo, Lian!


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5692
Review Date: 3/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Although it took me a couple of chapters to "get into" the story, I ended up thoroughly enjoying this book. I learned a lot and really felt the characters were well-developed. I encourage anyone vaguely interested in this book to give it a try.


Life of Pi
Life of Pi
Author: Yann Martel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 4/1/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I agree with those who spoke about the book's slow start, but once they got onto the ship, the pace picked up. I loved the tale and took it completely at face value. THEN, when they did the interview at the end the whole thing turned around for me. I found it one of the most imaginative and clever books I've ever read. My son (age 12) was as captivated as I was.


Mama Rex and T Stay Up Late (Mama Rex and T)
Mama Rex and T Stay Up Late (Mama Rex and T)
Author: Rachel Vail
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2007


A wonderful story about a little dinosaur and his mom and children's artwork.


Marsha Is Only a Flower (Step-Into-Reading, Step 3)
Marsha Is Only a Flower (Step-Into-Reading, Step 3)
Author: Barbara Bottner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/11/2007


It's the day of the big dance recital. Lulu has a solo, and Marsha is "only a flower." Will Marsha steal the show from her big sister?


Molly the Brave and Me (Step Into Reading, Step 3)
Review Date: 4/11/2007


Step Into Reading Level 2 Grades 1-3
This is a story about two second graders facing their fear.


Next
Next
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 338
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This is a book taking current biological (transgenic) research to the Nth degree. It is a fascinating book from the conceptual point. The bibliography is just as impressive as the book. Anyone who wants to see where cloning and genetic manipulation could take us would be interested in the fictional account.


Ready, Set, Swim!
Ready, Set, Swim!
Author: Gail Donovan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/11/2007


Good story with a lesson featuring beloved characters. Recommend highly to teach a child to lose gracefully and not brag when winning.


Silly Tilly's Valentine (I Can Read,  Level 1)
Silly Tilly's Valentine (I Can Read, Level 1)
Author: Lillian Hoban
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/11/2007


"An I Can Read Book" Level 1 PreSchool-Grade 1


Starting Ballet (First Skills)
Starting Ballet (First Skills)
Author: Helen Edom, Nicola Katrak, Susan Meredith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/11/2007


This is a great book for a beginning (or even intermediate) ballerina to see diagrams of movements and positions, view photos of professional dancers and learn terminology. It has something in it to intersest dancers from age 4 to adult.


String Games
String Games
Author: Richard Darsie
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/24/2007


This is a great illustrated resource for making string designs with your hands. I will say, however, that most of the "games" are difficult and were too challenging for my elementary aged children.


Tales of Amanda Pig (Puffin Easy-to-Read Level 2)
Review Date: 4/11/2007


Several short stories with Amanda Pig and her family as starring characters. Charming.


We Just Moved (Hello Reader L1)
We Just Moved (Hello Reader L1)
Author: Stephen Krensky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/11/2007


A book about moving featuring a family in medieval times, but addressing children's concerns in a timeless manner. Good for a child moving at the age they begin to read.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: