Jewl W. (wallja99) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
2001: A Space Odyssey
2001: A Space Odyssey
Author: Arthur C. Clarke, Stanley Kubrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 8/22/2009


I am a lover of all Sci-Fi. The best depiction of space travel I have ever seen or read. Finding out that another race helped us along our evolution and than they left huge rocks/monoliths for us to find later once we had evolved to space travel.

I loved the movie but the books are so much better, they leave everything to you and your imagination. Something no movie can ever do.

Jewl, TX

Information on Seizure Response/Alert Dogs

http://www.homestead.com/Tagert/MsJewl.html


2061: Odyssey Three
2061: Odyssey Three
Author: Arthur C. Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Good Book, Plot is a bit thin but he explain a lot about the other books and their characters.


3001: The Final Odyssey (Space Odyssey, Bk 4)
3001: The Final Odyssey (Space Odyssey, Bk 4)
Author: Arthur C. Clarke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 6/18/2010


This was the weakest of all of the books. seems they tsarted about Fantastic and just went down hill form there.


70-215: MCSE Guide to Microsoft Windows 2000 Server, Certification Edition
Review Date: 10/6/2011


Straight forward and to the point. Very helpful without being to high tech that a layman wont understand.


Alien Taste (Ukiah Oregon, Bk 1)
Alien Taste (Ukiah Oregon, Bk 1)
Author: Wen Spencer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/6/2012


This is a fantastic series. I cannot believe they all take place in a three month span of life. If have not read the other three, wish list them fast....

Very well written. The characters make you feel for them deeply, and are so interesting. Ukiah Is an alien brought up by wolves and found feral as a child. He is fighting with a group of aliens from his home planet against a group from his home planet that are really bad, who want to take over the world.

I Read all four back to back. This one is by far the best


And Another Thing... (Hitch-Hikers Guide to the Galaxy, Bk 6)
Review Date: 8/9/2011


What can be said they just get better and better


Artifact
Artifact
Author: Kevin J. Anderson, F. Paul Wilson, Janet Berliner, Matthew J. Costello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/12/2009


Terrible!!!!! They could of taken 10 chapters out and still had a better book. Left the discovery till the last two pages of the book. Come on not much of an explanation at all.


Balook
Balook
Author: Piers Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Hard to get into and repeats a lot but worth the read.


Burned: A Tragic Mystery
Burned: A Tragic Mystery
Author: J A Nevling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/24/2011


This book is wonderful. Edge of your chair reading. A Very moving and compelling story that you cannot finish it until you have read the whole thing in one sitting.

Sharon Nagol Says yes to a surprise lunch invitation with her best friend, leaving husband Jim home to babysit their infant daughter. While Sharon's away, a firebreaks out, severely burning both Jim and the baby. When Sharon find out that it was Jim's negligence that caused the fire, she separates from him, and rents her own apartment. She finds a job as an accountant at Prescott Incorporated. There the mystery begins. Dark secrets, embezzlement and a rotten skirt chasing boos leads you on an exciting ride.

Best book I have read in a long while.


Chaining the Lady
Chaining the Lady
Author: Piers Anthony
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/31/2009


This the second book in Piers Anthony's Cluster sci-fi series. The action is great, with many plot twists and tense moments.

This is the story of Melody of Mintaka, she is the only trustworthy being in the Milky way Galaxy, who has to help because the aliens from Galaxy Andromeda are possessing the Milkyway's most powerful people.

Rather to sexually suggestive for me but a good read none the less.


Colleen Moore's Dollhouse
Colleen Moore's Dollhouse
Author: Colleen Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2010


A most beautiful black and white illustrated description of this marvelous miniature castle. Her father was a wonderful man to do this for her and the designer is a work of art.

A must for all dollhouse overs out there.


The Currents of Space
The Currents of Space
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Isaac as his best Clear writing and excellent suspense.


Darkness and Dawn
Darkness and Dawn
Author: Andre Norton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/8/2009


This is a good book, I did not realize that it was book one and two together I thought it was a third installment but a nice book none the less if you can't find the individual ones.

Jewl, TX

Information on Seizure Response/Alert Dogs

http://www.homestead.com/Tagert/MsJewl.html


Dog Warrior (Ukiah Oregon, Bk 4)
Dog Warrior (Ukiah Oregon, Bk 4)
Author: Wen Spencer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/6/2012


This is a fantastic series. I cannot believe they all take place in a three month span of life. If have not read the other three, wish list them fast....

Very well written. The characters make you feel for them deeply, and are so interesting. Ukiah Is an alien brought up by wolves and found feral as a child. He is fighting with aliens from his home planet against these group is bad. They want to call the home world and start an invasion.

I Read all four back to back. This one is by far the best.


Forward the Foundation (Foundation, Bk 7)
Forward the Foundation (Foundation, Bk 7)
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 8/31/2009


It's a prequel, of course, but in realtime it was the last book written in the series.
This book is a part of Asimov's Foundation series it talks about events taking place between "Prelude to Foundation" and "Foundation" and it helps pull those two books together.

The novel consists of four parts, each separated by about ten years.Forward the foundation is a biography of Hari Seldon, filling in the areas of his life not previously covered in Prelude to foundation.

Asimov uses this book to tie together his robot books starring R. Daneel Olivaw with the foundation series. Daneel is a major political figure, but it is Hari who is the dominant character. The story is set on the imperial capital of Trantor, and Seldon is both a mathematics professor and the first minister to Emperor Cleon.


Foundation and Earth
Foundation and Earth
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/18/2010


This book was OK definitely my least favorite of the series.


Foundation and Empire
Foundation and Empire
Author: Isaac Asimov
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/18/2010


I have read in the whole series and it just gets better and better everytime i read it and I keep getting excited for the rest.


Frontiers II: More Recent Discoveries About Life, Earth, Space, and the Universe
Review Date: 6/18/2010


Wow!!! When these two get together it is magic. There's had to be one Heck of a marriage.


Getting into Your Wok With Annette Annechild: Learn How to Use Your Wok for Everything from Egg Making to Cake Baking!
Review Date: 10/13/2009


Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I can not say enough about this book but I will try. I Became a Wok Master in just a few dishes. One of those being Making Popcorn in your wok!!! Of all things.

I bought Wok your way skinny first and was half way through when I knew I had to order anything that she wrote, which I put on my wish list right away.

If you want to learn to cook in a Wok or you want to get healthier Buy her books. You can't go wrong at all.

Jewl


Gold Digger
Gold Digger
Author: Frances Fyfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/23/2016


I have to give this a one star.The book is about a collector of paintings, his new wife and kids from first marriage. They mention the paintings, Collecting them, Why, How, The subjects in the paintings, value, cleaning and on and on. I was so tired of hearing about them. Plus they use the "F" word on almost every page. It just drags on and on and the story line is very repetitive. I hope others enjoy it, it was just not my kind of book.


1 to 20 of 57 - Page: