Reviews - Maggie D. (wiccania)

1 to 20 of 119 - Page:
500 Words to Grow On
500 Words to Grow On
Author: Harry McNaught (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/22/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"There are a lot of good, common words in this book with accompanying pictures. We still have a lot of fun going through the book and saying the names of different objects."


Acceptable Risk
Acceptable Risk
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 10/30/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A bit disturbing in parts, to be perfectly honest. Could be a cautionary tale against letting ambition blind a person to the very real potential risks. It was fast paced and exciting and I really didn't want to put it down"


The Adventures of Amelia Bedelia: Amelia Bedelia / Come Back, Amelia Bedelia / Play Ball, Amelia Bedelia
Review Date: 12/27/2006


"i've loved amelia bedelia since i was a kid. they're great books for kids, and a good laugh for adults."


All Around the Town
All Around the Town
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 3/19/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"this book was my introduction to mary higgins clark. i thoroughly enjoyed it. the story was intense and had a wonderful pace, it really drew me in."


Amanda / Miranda
Amanda / Miranda
Author: Richard Peck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/4/2006


"despite the "romantic" background theme in this book, i really enjoyed it. not bad for a truly random find (i bought a piece of furniture and it was inside). the story is very interesting, and drew me in."


American Psycho
American Psycho
Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 9/29/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"first off, this is one disturbing book and i completely understand why it's on the banned book list. the crass materialism of the main character and his acquaintances is just as disturbing as the vicious murders he commits (or fantasizes about committing). that said, it's actually a brilliantly written book. it develops the right characters and leaves the right characters mysteriously in the shadows. the pace doesn't run along too fast, but just fast enough for some of the stuff patrick bateman does to take you by surprise. it sucks you in nicely.

the most disturbing thing about this book is that i'm pretty sure i went to high school with a few patrick bateman's and a couple of his friends."


Assumed Identity
Assumed Identity
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/29/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is fast paced and really good. I was sucked in immediately and didn't want to put it down until I knew how it ended. The espionage angle is downplayed, which was nice although I do enjoy a good espionage story."


The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 1)
The Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Bk 1)
Author: Lemony Snicket
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 9/29/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really enjoyed this. It was a nice, light read that took about an hour and it was very entertaining. Definitely something that can be enjoyed by adults, even if only as "brain sorbet.""


Bad Love (Alex Delaware, Bk 8)
Bad Love (Alex Delaware, Bk 8)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/29/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"i honestly couldn't put this down. it has a great pace and the story unfolds beautifully. every page is another piece of the puzzle and i barely had an inkling of how it would all pan out by the time i got to the resolution."


BAD MEMORY
BAD MEMORY
Author: Duane Franklet
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/1/2006


"a very interesting concept for the story... just not really my thing."


Bedtime, Bunny!
Bedtime, Bunny!
Author: Keith Faulkner
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/14/2007


"this is a very cute board book about a little bunny trying to find places to hide his eggs for an easter egg hunt. my son has never really developed an interest in it."


The Best Laid Plans
The Best Laid Plans
Author: Sidney Sheldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 10/1/2007


"This is a great story about political maneuvering and personal revenge. A good read and it drew me in from the beginning."


Blindsight
Blindsight
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 11/17/2006


"very good book. a few rather creepy/disturbing twists as well. it took me awhile to figure it out, i hit it about when the protagonists did... great read. i didn't want to put it down."


Blood Moon
Blood Moon
Author: Mason Burgess
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/28/2006


"this was an interesting read... a little suspense, a little gore, and an ethereal being that embodies the essence of evil.

all centered around a native legend and set in manitoba."


Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 446
Review Date: 10/10/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"this was a really great read. it was exciting and grabbed my attention right away. this is one of the Eve Duncan/Joe Quinn series."


Brain
Brain
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 10/30/2007


"This was a really good read. It didn't grab me right away like most of his books have, but as the story unfolded it sped up and I just had to know what happened next."


Can You Sue Your Parents for Malpractice?
Can You Sue Your Parents for Malpractice?
Author: Paula Danziger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/4/2006


"it's been awhile since i read this, but it's one that i've never forgotten the title to. i really enjoyed it. it's a great book for teens, humor and understanding of their "mental position" abound."


Candles Burning
Candles Burning
Author: Tabitha King, Michael McDowell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/31/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"this was a really good read. kind of a murder mystery/ghost story. enjoyable and engrossing. there were a few places where the story seemed to drag, but otherwise it was an easy read."


Caretakers
Caretakers
Author: Tabitha King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/26/2006


"i really tried to get into this, but i just couldn't. i guess her writing style just isn't for me."


The Chamber
The Chamber
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 907
Review Date: 8/1/2006


"i must admit, i've never really been a grisham fan. i gave it a try... i just couldn't get into it."


1 to 20 of 119 - Page: