Reviews - Colin M.

1 to 19 of 19
Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 676
Review Date: 7/1/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I read this book the first time as a grade-schooler. I loved it, I loved how it didn't lie to me and how it didn't pretty things up. I loved the purity of it. I searched for it for years and finally found it again (I was incredibly surprised that so few book-store employees had never heard of it!) in my twenties. It took me back to the first time I read it and I enjoyed it just as much as an adult as I did when I was younger. I highly recommend this book and have even gone so far as to buy and send copies of it to friends and relatives since finding it again."


Eating the Cheshire Cat: A Novel
Eating the Cheshire Cat: A Novel
Author: Helen Ellis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/24/2006


"My fiancee and I loved this book! We both finished it in one day."


Find Me
Find Me
Author: Rosie O'Donnell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 9/24/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"In my opinion tis book was just "ok". It's not really all that believable and honestly, it's a little self serving for Rosie, she - of course - comes out looking like the poor, deceived hero."


Four Past Midnight
Four Past Midnight
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 7/23/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"4 stories, as King puts it in the introduction, "too long to be short stories, too short to be novels." This is right before he came out with Needful Things. I really think that the story "The Library Policeman" is the best. If you like King, it's a good one to read."


The Gay and Lesbian Self-Esteem Book: A Guide to Loving Ourselves
Review Date: 6/23/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"it was helpful to read this while I studied in college for a degree in counseling."


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 661
Review Date: 9/24/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"this book was hard to get into, it took a lot of effort to really start enjoying the novel. but, once it starts picking up and making more sense, it's hard to put down. it's definitely worth the slow start!"


A Hundred Little Hitlers: The Death of a Black Man, the Trial of a White Racist, and the Rise of the Neo-Nazi Movement in America
Review Date: 7/1/2006


"This book was difficult for me to read, I'm not a fan of the author's style of writing; however it wasn't horrible. If you've seen "American History X" this book will seem familiar to you, some of the scenes from that movie seem to have come directly from this book."


Kill Grandma for Me
Kill Grandma for Me
Author: James Defelice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/24/2007


"these are some sick kids, seriously warped and callous!"


MAN WITH CANDY
MAN WITH CANDY
Author: Jack Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/15/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I'm not a fan of Olsen's writing style, although being a native Houstonian it was interesting to read a bit of what Houston was like before I was born."


Me Talk Pretty One Day
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1874
Review Date: 4/14/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book and quite a few times woke up other people in the house by laughing too loudly!"


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2114
Review Date: 6/23/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"highly readable, but after his appearance on Oprah, I felt kind of cheated."


Mystic River (Large Print)
Mystic River (Large Print)
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/23/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I enjoyed this book, complex yet satisfying read."


Naked in Death (In Death, Bk 1)
Naked in Death (In Death, Bk 1)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 810
Review Date: 3/5/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I hated this book, and it's not very often that I can say that. I hope someone else can get something out of it, because I didn't!"


Night
Night
Author: Elie Wiesel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1020
Review Date: 4/22/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book broke my heart, but I'm thankful that Mr. Wiesel lived to remember and to bear witness to those who were not there, but should never forget."


Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers: A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth-Century America (Between Men--Between Women)
Review Date: 6/23/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Excellent read on the history of lesbianism."


Revenge of the Paste Eaters : Memoirs of a Misfit
Revenge of the Paste Eaters : Memoirs of a Misfit
Author: Cheryl Peck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 6/23/2006


"Awesome and funny read."


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2370
Review Date: 7/1/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My fiance and I both read this book and loved it! In many ways it was an exaggerated version of our own lives. I could definitely relate to his stories in a sick sort of way. Absolutely worth the read and it doesn't take long to read, as you find yourself just having to know how messed up one group of people could actually get."


Sex Changes: The Politics of Transgenderism
Sex Changes: The Politics of Transgenderism
Author: Patrick Califia, Patrick Califia-Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/23/2006


"Although I generally like this author's books, this one I only skimmed through."


We Were the Mulvaneys
We Were the Mulvaneys
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 685
Review Date: 6/23/2006


"not my cup of tea, but I'm sure others will enjoy it."


1 to 19 of 19