Rhona L. (Roobee) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 73 - Page:
An Absolute Scandal
An Absolute Scandal
Author: Penny Vincenzi
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/15/2011


This was a fun book to read. Initially, I was thrown off by the number of characters in the book. I often have trouble keeping people straight so I thought I would be overwhelmed but the author did a wonderful job of keeping the story on track and organized so I didn't get confused.


Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 10/19/2008


My second favorite Crusie novel next to Bet Me. Great dialogue between characters and zany circumstances that just make it fun.


The Awakening and Selected Stories of Kate Chopin (Enriched Classics)
The Awakening and Selected Stories of Kate Chopin (Enriched Classics)
Author: Kate Chopin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A group of short stories written in the 1800's by Kate Chopin. The main story is of a woman in the 1800's who is struggling to discover herself outside the constraints of "polite society." Ten short stories follow, all of them about women moving beyond thier "place." Wonderful writing style and a fascinating look at the time and place.


Best Friends
Best Friends
Author: Martha Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 8/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book from the first page. I loved how the characters change as they mature and age. I thought the author did a great job of showing how our perceptions of individuals change as our understanding of the world at large emerges. The characters are wonderfully flawed but realistically so. If you like character driven stories, this would be an excellent choice.


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 10/7/2008


I loved this book so much I turned right around and read it a second time. It has such great dialogue, truly believable. It is smart and funny. Definitely a must read.


Blindsided : Lifting a Life Above Illness: A Reluctant Memoir
Blindsided : Lifting a Life Above Illness: A Reluctant Memoir
Author: Richard Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 4/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderfully written book about a man. The fact that he has multiple sclerosis is just a part of his life such as; being a husband, father, television producer. His tenacity is amazing and the questions he grapples with are fascinating to witness. The author is very smart and has a wry sense of humor that helps him and the reader get through his day without pity


Bread givers: A novel : a struggle between a father of the Old World and a daughter of the New
Review Date: 3/15/2011


This was a fascinating look at the life of an immigrant family in the 1920's living in New York City. Their life was very hard which made the story very bleak and oppressive. This is a wonderful study of the challenge with many immigrants in how do you live in a new country and still keep your culture alive? How do your children assimilate without losing their identity from the old country? As sad as the story was most of the time the main character was engaging enough to keep me turning the pages to see how she lives out her life.


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 788
Review Date: 9/29/2008


I just read it for the first time and absolutely loved it! I liked that it went beyond cliche characters and developed them into someone quite believable. Their separation made me ache and yet you knew they chose what was right. I would definitely recommend this book.


The Bronze Horseman (Tatiana and Alexander, Bk 1)
The Bronze Horseman (Tatiana and Alexander, Bk 1)
Author: Paullina Simons
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/24/2009


I cannot say enough about how wonderful I thought this book was. The author swept me up in WWII Leningrad and I could feel, smell and taste along with the characters. After the first few pages I was hooked and immediately ordered the next 2 books in the trilogy.


Building a Home with My Husband: A Journey Through the Renovation of Love
Review Date: 10/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I totally disagree with the reviewer who felt that the author is trying to sell you on Buddhism. The author's husband is Buddhist, of a sort, and some of their conversations include Buddhist teachings, however she is not Buddhist and never did I feel as if they were pushing that agenda. I have read Riding the Bus With My Sister and loved Rachel's voice and her self-examination in the midst of life's challenges. She does the same here in Building a House With My Husband. I find Rachel and her family dynamics interesting and her willingness to be open and honest truly inspiring. I loved the book and will continue to read her writings.


Captain Jack's Woman (Bastion Club Prequel)
Captain Jack's Woman (Bastion Club Prequel)
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 2/12/2008


A great read that unfolds the beginning of Lauren's series.


Care of the Soul: A Guide for Cultivating Depth and Sacredness in Everyday Life
Review Date: 9/29/2007


Speaks to the spiritual nature of everyday life.


Dawn on a Distant Shore (Wilderness, Bk 2)
Dawn on a Distant Shore (Wilderness, Bk 2)
Author: Sara Donati
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 1/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I a really enjoying this series a lot. The story makes me want to keep reading as I become more and more invested in the characters and their outcome.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2039
Review Date: 10/3/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A very fun read. I am a fan of Twilight and needed something to satiate my vampire, love story yearning, this fit the bill.


Defiance: The Bielski Partisans
Defiance: The Bielski Partisans
Author: Nechama Tec
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/29/2011


I found this book to be fascinating. I had no idea this segment of history existed and I was really drawn in to the plight of the Jews during this time. If you are interested in WW II history or the plight of the Jews, this is a must-read.


Diahann!
Diahann!
Author: Diahann Carroll
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/5/2010


I thought Diahann was a great story teller without being too prosaic. Sometimes I thought she could have gone into more detail about how a relationship had played out but overall she was very open and honest. Her relationship with Sidney Poitier was a real eye-opener.


The Diary Of Cozette
The Diary Of Cozette
Author: Amanda McIntyre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyable read. Has an interesting story line.


The Diary of Mattie Spenser
The Diary of Mattie Spenser
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 5/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book! I love books written in diary form and this one certainly didn't disappoint. I will definitly be looking for the author's other books.


Duchess: A Novel of Sarah Churchill
Duchess: A Novel of Sarah Churchill
Author: Susan Holloway Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 4/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Superb book! Ms. Holloway Scott is a great story teller. I will definitely be reading more of her works.


Escape
Escape
Author: Carolyn Jessop, Laura Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 5/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Fascinating and riveting. I couldn't put it down, her detail pulls you right in and you can feel the oppression of her situation. I would love to see her write a follow up book about life since she left the FLDS.


1 to 20 of 73 - Page: