Reviews - Sheri S.

1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
Agent Undercover (Rose Mountain Refuge, Bk 1) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 255)
Agent Undercover (Rose Mountain Refuge, Bk 1) (Love Inspired Suspense, No 255)
Author: Lynette Eason
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/2/2011


"I'm not usually a huge fan of the Love Inspired books because they are so short and I never feel like I get enough time with the characters. Sometime the romance will feel forced or rushed and the story line barely gets going and then ends. But let me tell you, Lynette Eason knows how to do it. I closed this book with a smile on my face and felt completely satisfied. All the loose ends were tied up nicely and not only that, but the characters were deep and very well developed. How does she do it?

On that note, I also have to say that I did find several errors in the book. I've read almost all of Lynette's books and I think this was on the part of the publishers and editors. For instance the back of the book calls the little boy, Alex, but in the book his name is Will. There were also several "she"s instead of "he"s. Minor, but worth mentioning if you are one to be bothered by such a thing.

I'm still giving it 5 Stars, because I loved it!

The story is about a six year old little boy who hasn't uttered a word since his mother was murdered in a house fire. It's the job of undercover DEA agent, Paige Worth, to find out what happened that night. The investigation takes her to the small town of Rose Mountain, Colorado, where she meet the kind hearted Dr. Dylan Seabrook, suspect in her case and uncle to six year old Will. Posing as a school guidance counselor, Paige finds herself in a race against the killer(s) with absolutely no solid evidence and no clear view. It seems that the answers lay with the silent boy under his Uncle's care.

Read the first chapter and then decide if you want to read the rest. If you're like me, you won't be able to put it down. :)"


Attracted to Fire
Attracted to Fire
Author: DiAnn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 12/2/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Equal parts suspense and romance make this book about Secret Service Agents Ash and Meghan a must read.

When the Vice President's daughter is sent to a ranch in Texas to go through detox from drugs and alcohol, it soon becomes apparent that more than just a simple debt to a drug lord is in the works. Ash Zinders is the lead man on the case and the last thing that he wants is a woman agent to screw everything up. But he can't deny that Agent Meghan Connors knows her stuff.

The Vice President's daughter, Lindsey seems to know more than she is telling, but at what cost? When deadly forces strike, who will be the last ones standing?

My Rating: 5 Stars

Cover to cover this book kept me reeled into the story. It had enough intrigue to keep me on my toes and enough sweet romance to curl them. :) If you're looking for a book with a little of both of these elements plus a mix of Christian faith thrown in, look no further. I loved it and I hope you will too!

Many thanks to Tyndale Publishers for my copy of this book to review. All of the opinions expressed here are strictly mine."


Beguiled
Beguiled
Author: Deeanne Gist, J. Mark Bertrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 4/20/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a really good book. I have read several books in the past by Deanne Gist and let me say, this is not her typical writing. The mystery in it was excellent. It also had a nice touch of romance.
I have read many books in the past written by dual authors; this one takes the cake. I will definitely read any other books that these two authors write.
Very good read. Well worth the time."


Beloved Captive (Fairweather Keys Series #2)
Beloved Captive (Fairweather Keys Series #2)
Author: Kathleen Y'Barbo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 4/13/2010


"This was an awesome book - the sequel to Beloved Castaway.
Emilie Gayarre returns to her father's bedside only to discover a shocking secret regarding her past. She is so upset, that she stays with her father only as long as needed, then quickly leaves to go back to her home in the Keys.
She charters a ship which guarantees her a 3-4 day voyage at most. What she doesn't take into consideration is the pirates on the high seas. They are attacked and Emilie is kidnapped by a ruthless pirate.
While on board this ship, they are once again attacked and she finds herself a captive of another pirate ship. It is here that she meets the Benning, as the crew calls him. She fears and is intrigued by him all at the same time.
When she does the unthinkable, she is set free and then must face the decisions she made while away. However her decision must be kept secret.
Will she ever forgive herself? Can she ever get the forgiveness from God she so desperately needs?
This book started out a bit on the slow side and then ended in too much of a hurry, but over all it was a very good read. I will definitely read more of Y'Boro's books if given a chance."


Betrayed
Betrayed
Author: Jeanette Windle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/13/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Loved this book! Oh wow! What an awesome story. You really felt like you were there in jungles with the characters. Windle's characters are real and lovable. I will definitely read more book written by her!!"


The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, Bk 2)
The Blue Enchantress (Charles Towne Belles, Bk 2)
Author: Marylu Tyndall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/18/2009


"This book grabbed me from the second I started reading it. Tyndall does an absolutely amazing job at making you really care about what happens to the characters. Hope Westcott is a spoiled young woman, but deep down all she really wants is to be loved. She is abandoned by the man she loves and left to be sold as a slave.
Nathaniel Mason is a dashing sea captain. He is handsome and God-fearing and rescues Hope from a fate worse than death. However, he has had enough of women like Hope. Women set on destroying themselves.
What ensues is an enchanting story of two people with very different views on life. Will Nathaniel continue to follow God's call upon his life? Will Hope find what she is truly needing and looking for? Will they both find the love they desire?
Find out for yourself. You won't be disappointed!"


Breach of Trust (Call of Duty, Bk 1)
Breach of Trust (Call of Duty, Bk 1)
Author: DiAnn Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/28/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wow! This book was fantastic. It had it all - mystery, intrigue, romance, and action. It kept me guessing the whole time and I just couldn't put it down.
I cannot wait to read the next one in the series and I would very highly recommend this book to all readers!"


Bundle Of Joy
Bundle Of Joy
Author: Robin Lee Hatcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/20/2010


"I liked this book. It was funny, sweet and engaging. It was a quick, delightful read that I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting something light to read."


The Canary List
The Canary List
Author: Sigmund Brouwer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/2/2011


""For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against power, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places." –Ephesians 6:12

The Canary List by Sigmund Brouwer is about a twelve year old girl, Jaimie Piper who is extra sensitive to Evil. She is an orphan who has been shuffled from foster home to foster home her entire life. Her greatest need? To be safe and loved.

Enter Crockett Grey, Jaimie's school teacher and the only person whom Jaimie feels that she can trust. Crockett only wants to mourn his daughter's death and the loss of his marriage. He wants with all his heart to be a good Daddy to his only son. Caring teacher and father that he is, he just can't send Jaimie away when she shows up at his door late one night asking for help.

With Evil stalking Jaimie and Crockett getting in his way, it becomes a battle of wits as to who will survive. Does Evil really exist or is it simply a figment of Jaimie's imagination? Who is behind the terror that haunts Jaimie day night? Crockett will stop at nothing to find out, especially when this very Evil shows up on his doorstep.

Vatican Conspiracy or one big hoax? You decide.

My Rating: 3 Stars

The writing was excellent. Brouwer does an excellent job drawing the reader immediately into the story.

The storyline itself was interesting and engaging. Puzzling at most times, I must admit, but a very gripping read. Not one to read in a dark house at time, all alone...

So, why did I not rate it higher than 3 stars? Here's my reason: Brouwer never fully explains why Jaimie is stalked by Evil yet protected at the same time. I found myself wishing that he would take the story one step further and talk about how the blood of Jesus is a person's only protection against the powers of Satan and his demons. Does he not write this because he doesn't believe it himself? The Catholic influence was heavy, but still...

Sadly, it lacked the punch I was hoping for, expecting.

However this is my opinion, you should try it out for yourself."


The Centurion's Wife (Acts of Faith, Bk 1)
The Centurion's Wife (Acts of Faith, Bk 1)
Author: Janette Oke, Davis Bunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 4/13/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wow! What an awesome read this book was! Set just after the crucifiction of Jesus Christ through the his ascension into Heaven. This book follows a young woman Leah, neice to Pontias Pilate. She is betrothed (against her will) to a Roman Centurion, Alban of Gaul.
Alban is commanded by Pilate and Herod to find out what has happened to the "prophet" Jesus' body. They believe that the disciples stole it and they want to know if there is any sort of revolt planned. These are the terms that they give to Alban before he can take Leah as wife.
Leah also is commanded by Pilate's wife, Procula, to find out more about the life and death of the Prophet Jesus.
What Leah and Alban find will change their lives forever.

A wonderful look at what could have happened back during the days of the early Christians. This book was a wonderfully edifying read. I would highly recommend it to anyone. It's an especially good read right now as we look forward to the Easter season.

Shalom."


Chill Factor
Chill Factor
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 4/13/2010


"I'm not usually a big fan of secular "romance" novels. When I picked this one up, it didn't strike me as a romance. I thought of it more as a mystery. A mystery it was! A very good and intriguing plot. However, it was also a romance, with some sex scenes that I definitely could have done without. If you don't mind that, the mystery itself was good."


Comes a Horseman
Comes a Horseman
Author: Robert Liparulo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/13/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Scary! Couldn't put it down. You will definitely want to read this one with the lights on!!"


Consuming Fire (Scottish Highlands Series #2)
Consuming Fire (Scottish Highlands Series #2)
Author: Kathleen Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/13/2010


"Forgiveness. Forgiveness was but an opening of one's heart to another so that compassion and understanding could flow in. Only then could one forgive in the truest sense of the word. The journey to that destination, however, asked as much of oneself as it did of the one who had injured you. Indeed it asked far more.

This is what Maggie Robertson learns. What she must fight her nature with every breath to embrace. Maggie finds herself used as a pawn in the hands of an unloving father and cruel suitor. Then the one man that she thinks she can trust with her fragile heart has a secret so terrible that she may never be able to forgive him. Will she risk great happiness and true love for the sake of unforgiveness. The journey to that path is long and hard. She faces betrayal of the harshest sort and death of a loved one. In the end, will what she learns on her journey be enough to carry her?

Consuming Fire is a wonderful reflection of forgiveness and true, lasting love. I hope you enjoy it as well."


The Convenient Groom (Nantucket Love Story, Bk 2)
The Convenient Groom (Nantucket Love Story, Bk 2)
Author: Denise Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 12/18/2009
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book! It was such an amazing parallel to what Christ gave to us. It's a picture of His unconditional love. I know that many have stated that it wasn't Christian enough, but I disagree. The message is more underlying than that of most Christian fiction, but there nonetheless.
A very romantic, even if somewhat predictable, satisfying read. I finished the book with a smile on my face. That is, after all, why we read! :o)"


The Corruptible (Ray Quinn, Bk 2)
The Corruptible (Ray Quinn, Bk 2)
Author: Mark Mynheir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/2/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"What do you get when you cross a crotchety retired police officer with a learning disabled assistant and a Christian secretary? A book full of larger than life characters and a story that will hold your interest until the end.

Ray Quinn is a private investigator. After working for the Police department as a homicide detective for over 20 years, he is now his own boss. This book begins his journey on his second biggest case. Written from first person perspective, Ray journals his thoughts and steps to solving a case that is quite baffling to everyone involved.

Realistic. If I were asked to give one word to describe this book, this is it. Ray Quinn is a very well-developed character. His problems are real, not sugar-coated and reading the story from first person made me feel as though I was privy to his most private thoughts. His character was consistent. Mynheir should definitely get 5 stars on writing convincing real-life people.

The story gives the reader a real glimpse into the life of a private investigator and the homicide detectives too. The way that Ray thinks and the decisions he makes are part of this very captivating story. I was also fascinated by the method and procedures that homicide detectives follow while solving a case. The pacing of this book was another part of lending to its reality. While many times, fiction books will be sped up for thrill, this book did not do that. I have to admit that at times I was frustrated by the slowness in the pacing. However, after reading through and finishing the whole story, I realize that the gait of this book was another crucial element lending to the credibility of a non-fiction feel. Also, the who-dunnit was surprising to me, which was a huge plus!

I was pleased to learn that Mark Mynheir was a law enforcement officer for twenty-three years. No wonder he was able to write such a realistic, well-thought out, evenly paced, suspenseful mystery.

As far as the Christian message in this book? Don't read it for that. It will disappoint you. Ray Quinn is not a believer, nor is he even searching. His Christian secretary is a breath of fresh air for those of us who love the Savior. Still, nothing in the story was so offensive (even with Ray's alcoholic tendencies) that I couldn't move past it.

My rating: I'm going to have to give this book 3 stars, which to me means that it was a nice one-time read, though I had a few personal problems with it. However, I have to admit that Mynheir deserves a higher rating just for the realistic elements here. So though I'm going to keep my rating at 3 stars, I will jump at the chance to read more books by this author.

I hope this review helps you to make your decision on whether or not to read this book. I think that it all boils down to personal preference."


Dance of the Dandelion
Dance of the Dandelion
Author: Dina L. Sleiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/2/2011
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It's true, you should never judge a book by its cover. This one was no exception to that rule. When I first opened the book, I expected a light hearted, fluffy read.

I was wrong.

The story opens with and follows Dandelion Dering, a young girl on the verge of womanhood, who hopes and dreams for a better life than the one she has been born to. Full of life, song and dance, she is like the sea that cannot be tamed. Her decisions and life's road lead her to paths yet uncharted from a castle to the open seas to a convent. Dandelion is ever seeking. What she is searching for, she doesn't really know, but she does know that she wants passion, fulfillment and love. The story is one of profound heartache and joys.

When I closed the book, I felt an immense measure of contemplation. Thoughtfulness about God and His love and life and it's meanings. Questions I had to ask myself after reading this book were one such as, ‘Is passion wrong?' and ‘What is love?'.

Some of the things I read in this story were a bit shocking and I definitely would not recommend it for young readers. Contrary to the cover art, it is a serious book leaving me with much to think over.

Written as first person, Dina Sleiman did an excellent job of making the reader feel as though she were a part of Dandelion herself. Very well written and quite amazing for a debut novel.

The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars is because I can't recommend it to every young reader out there. However, for mature audiences, go for it."


Dead Reckoning
Dead Reckoning
Author: Ronie Kendig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/2/2011


"Shiloh Blake finds herself in the middle of an international nuclear arms clash. As a daughter of a top-notch CIA agent, she was trained to trust her senses. It is the only that has kept her alive after surviving an attack on her small diving boat and friends.
Now she's on the run and one of the men chasing her says that he is there to help her. Can she believe him? What is it about him that puts her on edge?

My Rating: 5 Stars

This book is an action-packed story. I absolutely LOVED it! I will definitely be reading this one again and again. I borrowed it from our church library, but now I'm going to have to get my own copy.

This was my first book by Ronie Kendig and if all her books are this well-written and gripping, I will be her newest, biggest fan.

The plot was well-thought out and the hooks at the end of each chapter had me reading late into the night. If you like intrigue and modern day suspense, this is the book for you!"


Fancy Pants (Only in Gooding!, Bk 1)
Fancy Pants (Only in Gooding!, Bk 1)
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 4/13/2010


"Lady Sydney Hathwell never intended to keep up her disguise as a boy. However, she is fleeing an arranged marriage and the only way to get her uncle to let her live at his ranch is to be male. Initially, she only plans to keep her man disguise for a short time. However, when she arrives at Forsaken, her uncle is away and since she doesn't want to be sent away, Syd continues to don her manly apparel.
"Big Tim" Creighton is appalled at the young nephew of his partner. He sets out determined to make a man of this wimpy "fancy pants" boy before Fuller returns. What ensues is a wonderfully humorous and at times exasperating tale of the battle of the wills.
Hake weaves a delightful story, sure to make you laugh and keep you turning the pages till the very last."


Freedom's Stand
Freedom's Stand
Author: Jeanette Windle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/2/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The characters in this so book are so real, I feel as though I've made a friend. The story follows four lives – Amy, Steve, Jamil and Farah. Each one with a different viewpoint of life and each one tugging on your heart.

Amy Mallory, American relief worker, has a heart for Afghanistan and in particular the women of that country. She longs to see the women set free from their subservient obedience to the men over them and for them to live knowing the love of Isa Masih (Jesus Christ).

Jamil's heart is to share the love of Isa with his countrymen, and he will do so regardless the cost. His testimony of faith and change from a bitter man full of hatred to a healer desperate to show the care of His Savior is a beautiful story leaving me cheering him to the very last page.

Special Ops, Steve Wilson is searching for his passion. He has watched Amy and Jamil and wants such conviction for himself. In the end, the lengths he will go to find such a passion is surprising even to himself. A man of integrity and strength, Steve will stand by his word even if it means his own death.

And last but not least, Farah. A young woman with a very troubled past must find forgiveness and love before bitterness tears her to pieces.

MY RATING
5 out of 5 stars

MY WARNING
This book is not for the faint of heart. It is not fluff and romance. It is real life circumstances and much of the book is based on true stories from people that Windle met while on her visit (under the radar) into Afghanistan. In fact, her writing was so realistic that it prompted several government agencies to question her regarding where she received classified information.

MY THOUGHTS
It is with both joy and sadness that I close the last chapter of this book. Jeanette Windle has the most amazing ability to weave this story in such a way that you are constantly asking if this is really fiction. She brings to light the struggles of the Afghanistan people and most specifically their women. Grab your passport and buckle on your sandals for a trip you won't soon forget. Experience the joys, trial and every day life of the Afghanistan people in the stirring book about the fight for freedom in a troubled country.

Many thanks to Tyndale Publishers for a complimentary copy of this book. This review is my honest opinion."


Freefall
Freefall
Author: Kristen Heitzmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 4/13/2010


"From the very first sentence, almost the very first word you are sucked in. Wondering, wondering, wondering... Who is this girl? Did she fall? Did she get pushed? Is someone really after her? You just can't help it. Heitzmann weaves such a story that you just keep turning the pages because you are just dying to know the answers.
But so is "she". She's dying to know the answers too. She becomes Jade when she shows up on Nica's steps. Her body is bruised and battered.
Then to make things worse, Cameron Pierce shows up and he doesn't believe her! How dare he not believe that she can't remember who she is! How dare he suspect her of being a liar! How dare he question her motives! She is outraged and yet saddened at the same time. But Cameron is a detective and that's what he gets paid to do - question. Question everyone and everything - motives, actions, oddities. And he's good at it too.
Jade and Cameron set off to find answers and end up in the adventure of their lives. Don't start this book until you are prepared. Prepared to turn the pages until you know the truth too!"


1 to 20 of 57 - Page: