Jeanne D. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
After the Fire
After the Fire
Author: Belva Plain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 10/8/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Another good book from Belva Plain. I like everything she writes


Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Angels (Walsh Family, Bk 3)
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 372
Review Date: 6/7/2006


I liked it. A bit predictable, but fun.


Butterfly (Butterfly, Bk 1)
Butterfly (Butterfly, Bk 1)
Author: Kathryn Harvey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 10/8/2005
Helpful Score: 1


An interesting concept - a women's fantasy club. Fun, sexy read.


Devil in the Details : Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood
Devil in the Details : Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood
Author: Jennifer Traig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 3/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Fascinating, bizarre story. Really extreme OCD - hard to believe some of the things she did. But also very funny.


The First Wives Club
The First Wives Club
Author: Olivia Goldsmith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 10/8/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Loved this book - revenge at its best. Hasn't everybody had fantasies of getting even with someone?


For My Daughters
For My Daughters
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 10/8/2005


Another good one for Delinsky fans.


The Girls
The Girls
Author: Lori Lansens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 4/22/2007
Helpful Score: 8


Conjoined twins Rose and Ruby Darlen are linked at the side of the head, with separate brains and bodies. Born in a small town outside Toronto in the midst of a tornado and abandoned by their unwed teenage mother two weeks later, the girls are cared for by Aunt Lovey, a nurse who refuses to see them as deformed or even disabled. At age 29, Rose, the more verbal and bookish twin, begins writing their storyi.e., this novel, which begins, "I have never looked into my sister's eyes." Rose evokes country life, including descriptions of corn and crows, and their neighbors Mrs. Merkel, who lost her only son in the tornado, and Frankie Foyle, who takes the twins' virginity. Rose shares her darkest memory (public humiliation during a visit to their Slovakian-born Uncle Stash's hometown) and her deepest regret, while Ruby, the prettier, more practical twin, who writes at her sister's insistence, offers critical details, such as what prompted Rose to write their life story. Through their alternating narratives, Lansens captures a contradictory longing for independence and togetherness.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3393
Review Date: 4/9/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Touching, poignant, sad, but uplifting in the end. The family lived in such abject poverty - father an alcoholic, mother a "free spirit" , neither one taking on the responsibility for their 4 kids. Moving from place to place to avoid bill creditors, they finally settled in West VA, where they were the poorest of the poor. The kids all got out, though, worked hard and made good lives for themselves. Awesome story.


The Goodbye Summer
The Goodbye Summer
Author: Patricia Gaffney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/8/2005


From the author of the bestselling The Saving Graces.

"How much change can one summer bring? For 32 year old Caddie, one summer can make the whole world look different. Jolted out of her comfy, self-made nest and forced to look at the world with new eyes, Caddie begins to take charge of her future - making a new best friend, taking risks she never dreamed of, and navigating the depths and shallows of true love and crushing heartbreak. And in the course of one extraordinary season, Caddie learns how to trust other people, and ultimately, herself."

A sweet, sad story. More sweet than sad - even tho Caddie loses people she loves, she reaches out and finds other friends/family who help her get thru the pain.


I Don't Have a Thing to Wear : The Psychology of Your Closet
Review Date: 9/5/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Practical and fun. Helped me clear out the closet of stuff I don't wear. Interesting insight on why we buy the things we do, and how to stop making clothes mistakes.


In Her Shoes
In Her Shoes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 519
Review Date: 9/2/2005


I really liked this. I'm a sucker for happy endings. Can't wait for the movie.


An Indecent Obsession
An Indecent Obsession
Author: Colleen McCullough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 10/8/2005
Helpful Score: 2


Shorter book by the author of Thornbirds. A good story - not quite as good as Thornbirds.


Lace II
Lace II
Author: Shirley Conran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/8/2005


CLassic follow-up to Lace. Not quite as good, but if you liked Lace, you have to read this.


Lake News (Blake Sisters, Bk 1)
Lake News (Blake Sisters, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 9/28/2005


Another good Barbara Delinski book. Timely and current, with the plot about media frenzy, invasion of privacy and fabricating news stories.


Mayflower Madam: The Secret Life of Sydney Biddle Barrows
Mayflower Madam: The Secret Life of Sydney Biddle Barrows
Author: Sydney Biddle Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/8/2005


A fun read - a juicy peek into the world of call girls.


Midwives
Midwives
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1153
Review Date: 10/7/2006


Loved it.


A Million Little Pieces
A Million Little Pieces
Author: James Frey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2143
Review Date: 1/6/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Amazing story. Was so impressed with the author's strength and success.


More Than Friends
More Than Friends
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 10/8/2005


Another good one from Barbara Delinsky. If you like her other books, this won't disappoint.


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4029
Review Date: 9/6/2005


I liked this book a lot - have wondered about the ethics of kids donating organs, etc. Covered both sides of the dilemma really well.


The Next Big Thing
The Next Big Thing
Author: Johanna Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 8/11/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Really liked this - very entertaining and funny. About a reality show where the contestants try to lose weight. We get a pretty good idea of the ups and downs thru the main character, Kat. Shows the diversity of women dealing with their own feelings about their weight issues, plus society's hang-ups. Kat finds out that her problems have less to do with her size and more to do with her attitude. Kat reminded me of Bridget Jones - if you liked that book you'll like this too.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: