June S. (sabayrac) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
31 Bond Street
31 Bond Street
Author: Ellen Horan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/27/2014


For an author's first time historical novel, I think she did well. I enjoyed the period in which it was written and the portrayal of characters. It was strong in story until the end ....then, as if hurried to finish, the details which was the summation of the murder never did wrap up strongly. I enjoyed the book and feel the author did a discredit to herself within the last chapters.


Adultery
Adultery
Author: Paulo Coelho
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/31/2015


I found this book to be disconcerting as I have read several others by this author. Previous books led the reader to think of a higher power as being a stabilizing force. This book had sex in a very raw form and then in the middle of that was a Godly sermon. I just thought it too much and too graphic for my taste as well as Out Of Balance!


Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Big Cherry Holler (Big Stone Gap, Bk 2)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 267
Review Date: 1/2/2016


2nd book in a series and the best. Life and marriage continues with ups and downs. Sooner than later Ave Maria had to come to grips with cracks in her marriage. A trip to Italy brought temptation very close..........
the real story is coming to grips with personal flaws and trying to mend a marriage.

I loved this book - hated for it to end. Loved the characters and the writing. Felt as if I wanted to live there and be friends.
I hope you won't pass this book up.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 1/1/2016


Book one with a sequel: A pharmacist in a small town, important and friends with everyone but without love. After discovering her real father and coming to grips that she was not who she thought she was, she made changes only to be turned around in a new direction with a proposal from a childhood friend - who would have thought?
The story continues (in a second book)..........with more twists and the same friends you knew in this book.
A book that I enjoyed because it was written like life unfolds. I felt like I knew the town folk as if I lived there.


The Birth House
The Birth House
Author: Ami McKay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 1/17/2016


The old midwives ways versus new birthing technologies in 1918 Nova Scotia. Potions and love, groaning cake recipe and the know how passed from from an old Midwife to a younger midwife in "learning". The bonding of ladies, husbands and life as it takes place with explosions, war and a molasses overflow.
So much feeling went into this book - it's not just a story of birthing babies, it's a woman's story of how life begins and the groans of giving birth.
Such a touching story and well written. Fortunately I have two copies of this book and I must keep one to treasure for another read!
Heart-warming!!


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1034
Review Date: 11/27/2015


The story wraps around 1942-1943 and Hitler's quest to rid Germany of the Jewish population. Although many review this book with 4 & 5 stars, I can only allow two stars. I plodded thru the book and found many questions as the story line seemed to duplicate or change what was already written. I understand the heartache, struggles and desperation of the time - but this book also confirms German's willingness to stand by and watch the Holocaust take place among the very business people and neighbors in the community. Complacency and Apathy!! I did not enjoy reading this book.


Clay's Quilt
Clay's Quilt
Author: Silas House
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I thought the story read a little slow - but nice reading. The family is based in the Southern traditions with love and sorrow. It's a story of how emotions emerge from within the inner self.
The death of a mother, emerging love, and realization of life's slow but eventual twists and turns.


Crazy in Alabama
Crazy in Alabama
Author: Mark Childress
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 2/12/2016


A crazy lady takes the reader on a crazy ride - a bit of hilarity and some graphic sex keeps you wondering how this lady is going to make it. It's a book that is hard to lay down because of the strangeness of it - but it is well written and you will find a lot of humor. Lucille always dreamed of being an actress but husband and children sort of got in her way - however, destined to be a "star" she begins her quest carrying a tupperware container from coast to coast bearing her husband's head.


Embers
Embers
Author: Sandor Marai, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 11/14/2016


Two boys were roommates from the military academy at age ten and for 20 years became as brothers, inseparable - yet, there is a marked difference in monetary and prestige which resulted in the most affluent fostering the hospitality. As they aged, it became noticed there were differences or small "cracks in the armor".
One marries and yet, still, there was a bond between the three....one goes to the military to serve then suddenly the other young man hastily leaves for the Tropics. Leaving behind questions........and life changed thereafter!

A great portion of the book is a soliloquy regarding the true definition of friendship, brotherhood and relationships, while at the same time leading this narrative toward reaching truth to questions harbored 40 years and 43 days during the absence of the other friend..........it's worthy of the read just in the fact you can certainly measure those relationships and friendships you have or have ever had - it's weighty and gives pause for thought!


Escape
Escape
Author: Carolyn Jessop, Laura Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/14/2012


When I read about the lives of women in a polygamous groups...how they are abused and mistreated as well as their children, I shutter to think this is all in the name of religion! How sad that they can't see that God is a loving God and not one all about confessions and pain, reprisals and being used as cattle.
Personally, I cannot understand why anyone would subject themselves to this type of treatment for any reason, cause, or person! Such a story of inhumane treatment only made me read fast to end this travail. I was sickened by this book.
I'm happy for Carolyn Jessop that she was able to escape from this family - bravo!! This book has certainly made me realize why the Feds have made raids on compounds in Texas and had Warren Jeffs on the Most Wanted List.


Falling Angels
Falling Angels
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 374
Review Date: 6/3/2012


Kids growing up ......friendship, politics and death. The events of life and how it affected two families and two best friends.


The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
The Giver (Giver, Bk 1)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 976
Review Date: 3/26/2016


Imagine a grey community with rules and regulations....everything in order....even conversation so polite. There is no emotion, no feelings and no love...until a new receiver is named. The Giver and the Receiver strike like and love...different for both! Then colors and feelings arise which changes the way you see and hear things - people are not who you think, things you have been told are lies. So escape is the only way.........to what?
Freedom and feelings, emotions and where love is felt and music is heard for the first time.
I think of this as a government controlled society..everyone in their places doing what is expected of them but it's just routines with no substance of real life!!!!


GodPretty in the Tobacco Field
GodPretty in the Tobacco Field
Author: Kim Michele Richardson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/13/2016


I loved this book and didn't want it to end.
This is a book of prejudices, poverty, small-town gossip and meanness.
RubyLyn is orphaned and an only child living with a grouchy uncle in 1969 Kentucky. Life consists of strict discipline, house chores, cooking and having to work in the tobacco fields. She is a loving girl growing into her teens and wondering what happened to cause her parent's deaths, and why her uncle is not more loving toward her. Other girls look at her as a "granny" because of her fortune telling art pockets. Mostly just wishes and random thoughts drawn out.

There are neighboring families with many children, but the closest friend to RubyLyn is Rainey who works the tobacco plants with her. As she watches what happens to the neighboring girls concerning boys and babies, she falls in love with Rainey.......but he, being black, is forbidden fruit.

Trouble comes and RubyLyn works to set herself free only to learn the truth of how her own fortune pocket came true.


The Golden Son
The Golden Son
Author: Shilpi Somaya Gowda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/19/2016


I really enjoyed the first book by this author and was excited to see another book written by her. Unfortunately I did not think this book was of the same merit. Family life in India and words in native language I find boring - I am not reading to have a language course. The book was about the favorite son becoming a doctor with different work and family struggles and lessons needed to be learned and the roads this took him on - American girlfriend, Indian childhood love, learning to fit in yet maintaining family values while struggling with a heavy work load. The book shared life in an Indian family and the effects of being a non-touchable outcast - cultural caste and status is very important.
I felt the book was a good read but the ending left one to wonder if a sequel follows or the writer tired of the long "road traveled" with the many struggles..


Good Night, Mr. Tom
Good Night, Mr. Tom
Author: Michelle Magorian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/6/2016


I have been a reader for most of my life and this book has moved me greatly. The changes that occur in an old grouchy man and a young abused child when love is shared is so genuine.
So touching that I nearly missed a Doctor appointment while sitting in the waiting room...and I will never list this book in the book club as it will be too touching to release.
I hope you will read it and experience what I have felt while reading this book.
Good Reading to you!


Gracie: A Love Story
Gracie: A Love Story
Author: George Burns
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/28/2016


Gracie was a woman with talent and much loved. She was the backbone of George Burns. Worth the read - it's sort of a love story.


Harvesting the Heart
Harvesting the Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 796
Review Date: 5/26/2012


A young lady seemed to have missed a link in her life ....a space left open by the fact her mother had left with no explanation when she was five. Life could not be as it should be until Paige had connected the dots ---there she answered the questions, am I like my Mother, will I abandon my family as well?
Once she found and lived with her Mother the cloud seemed to clear regarding herself and the love of home became very important. Most importantly she became important and necessary in her home with her own family. A story of rekindled love between husband and wife as Paige found her niche in life and her self-worth.


King Rat
King Rat
Author: Jame Clavell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2015


My favorite book of all time - one you won't forget....it leaves a lasting impression. In a Japanese Prison Camp everyone is equal trying to survive, until one Man figures out how to rise to the top. In his quest for power and greed, there is a touching side as he figures out how to feed the camp. The real impact of this story is at the end when the prisoners become liberated, once again everyone has an equal status but the one holding the power is alone and without power or riches - forgotten or hated?


Leaving Time: A Novel
Leaving Time: A Novel
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 6/28/2016


Can't say this was in any way a favorite of mine. The book tells about elephant behaviors and memory in the wild and sanctuaries and those documented behaviors. The story spins around two Scientists working with elephants, marrying and a child. The story twists around the child, Jenna, searching for her mother and concluding who died and why.
There is a psychic and a detective that aid in this search.........but the ending will surprise..


A Man Called Ove
A Man Called Ove
Author: Fredrik Backman, Henning Koch (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 9/26/2016


I laughed throughout the book - I think this is the funniest book I have read and I truly fell in love with Ove - he is so much like people I have known in various aspects throughout my lifetime - my grandfather, husbands father, etc.. Such an enjoyable story and one I will never forget.
Passed the book on to my husband.
It's a treasure.!


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: