Glenn H. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 81 - Page:
The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 537
Review Date: 8/23/2011


This book will leave you spellbound until the last pages as a who done it at the turn of the century. The members of this group of detectives and the new head of NY's police dept, Teddy Roosevelt, really become a team utilizing a new method to solve the killer of young boys as it drags you through the seedy bars and sex dens of the period. History, science, psychology, and good police work will keep your eyes glued to this book, and guarantee you will be recommending it like me.


Ambrose Bierce and the Queen of Spades (Ambrose Bierce, Bk 1)
Ambrose Bierce and the Queen of Spades (Ambrose Bierce, Bk 1)
Author: Oakley Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/24/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Ambrose Bierce is a muckraker reporter in late 1800's San Francisco whose literary target is the Southern Pacific Railroad. He and his fellow reporter Tom Redmond are faced with horror of a killer known as the "Slasher" for his method causing the rapid demise of ladies in the bay area. The book intoduces the reader to a group of individuals known as the Queen of Spades from the silver days of Virginia City. If you like mystery, intrigue, romance, the wealth and power of Nob hill elite, and history of this era this one's for you.


American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Among Us
American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Among Us
Author: Steven Emerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/16/2014


Want to know who these terrorist monsters are who bomb us because we are Americans? Read this tell all book and learn about who our enemies really are and the crimes of which they are guilty, you only have to read this book. There is a reason this was a New York Times Best Seller, the reason is the facts derived from exhaustive research imbedded in this book about the muslim terrorist who want to kill us. I was surprised and frightened at how our government is not protecting us.


American Scoundrel : The Life of the Notorious Civil War General Dan Sickles
Review Date: 5/3/2015


Place all the crimes in a hat and this guy could have been charged for almost any of them. He was a first class womanizer, thief, murderer, etc but he could beat all the charges because of his connection to the NY democrats's Tammany Hall. Yes, he was a politician extraordinaire in NY and elected to serve NY in DC as a congressman. He thought nothing of having affairs with untold number of women, but couldn't stand the thought of his wife having one affair mainly because she was tired of getting no attention from him while he was having a great time with multiple women and cheating people out of their money so he could live like a wealthy person. He was a first class American Scoundrel. The book allows us an insight into the business of politics from Van Buren to Lincoln.


An Untamed Land (Red River of the North, No 1)
An Untamed Land (Red River of the North, No 1)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 1/20/2013


2 families leave Norway for America to seek a better life by homesteading in the Dakota territory. Landing in NY the 2 Bjorklund brothers along with their wives and children instantly find the streets are not paved in gold. They catch the train for N. Dakota and get jobs in a small town until the men can find the farms of their dreams. When they start homesteading adversity, and the ability to overcome obstacles constantly thrown at them, close family ties, their hard work triumphing over those that choose the alternative, and good neighbors make this a wonderful book. I almost didn't read it thinking it might not appeal to my masculinity, but this one will appeal to all. I consider Snelling an author that makes the homesteading in N. Dakota as real to me as if I were one of the early pioneering families. I have already ordered books 2 and 3 of this series, this should give you insight into my pleasure i found within the covers of this novel. Read it I'm sure you shall enjoy it as much as I did.


Batavia's Graveyard
Batavia's Graveyard
Author: Mike Dash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/25/2012


In the 1600's Dutch were masters of the spice trade in the East Indies. This is their non fiction story involving the new Dutch ship Batavia's wreck with over 200 passengers on a small atoll near Australia on its maiden voyage. The ship's master and a small number of the crew in quest of help is able to sail from this wreck to reach the original destination leaving behind the rest of the crew at the mercy of a psychotic killer. The main story is how this mad man leaves only 80 people alive to be rescued. If you like history, adventures of the sea, and horror stories you will like this one.


Battle Flag (Starbuck Chronicles, Bk 3)
Battle Flag (Starbuck Chronicles, Bk 3)
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/12/2014


Sadly this is the 4th and last book of the Starbuck Chronicles. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading the entire series, wish there were more. The series starts off in Bk 1 with the Battle of First Mannasses, and ends up in this one with the Battle of Sharpsburg (Antietam). It is a historical fiction because it uses fictitious characters to tell accurate history.

Nathaniel Starbuck is a northerner who roomed with a rich Virginian, Adam Falconer, in college and has sympathy for the South. When the WBTS starts he is in Virginia and joins his friends father's Legion in fighting for the South. To keep the non historians interested Cornwell has injected the books with spies, camp followers, murder, love, paid lovers, pompous simpletons, and a writing style second to none. I have recommended the series to many, and now I'm recommending it to you.


The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-Day Sacrifice
The Bedford Boys: One American Town's Ultimate D-Day Sacrifice
Author: Alex Kershaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/3/2013


This is more than another WWII story it circles your whole being by involving the history of the town of Bedford, VA and its families who raised the men that were the first to be slaughtered on the beach of Omaha on June 6, 1944. You get a look of how the metal in these men was forged into fighting men possessing strong determination, love of country, and bond of brotherhood which caused them to face the German machine guns and body ripping shrapnel. We realize these weren't professional soldiers, but hometown boys that played baseball, dated the girls they knew from childhood, worked on the local farms and in the stores of this small town who wanted to live like you and I. They would rise to the call of their nation when called to defend it if it cost them their lives. Some had premonitions about their death, but this didn't deter them of their duty and desire to return to their families and loved ones in the little town of Bedford, VA. The author also allows us a tragic glimpse into the lives of those who shall never see them again. Kershaw at his best, I recommend it with vigor.


The Black Flower : A Novel of the Civil War
The Black Flower : A Novel of the Civil War
Author: Howard Bahr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This author has evidently been a reenactor in War Between the States battles. Howard Bahr has the commands, the anxious feelings, and all the small excitements one can only get from having "been there". This ads to the authenticity of the book coupled with the romantic feelings between a Southern couple makes it a winner. Read this book!


Blood and Thunder: An Epic of the American West
Blood and Thunder: An Epic of the American West
Author: Hampton Sides
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/10/2015


Set mainly in New Mexico following the life and exploits of Kit Carson's life with Gen Kearny, Fremont, and the Navajo Indians. You will realize why Kit Carson is so revered and respected by the Americans and the Navajos after reading this true story of his life.


Bonita Faye
Bonita Faye
Author: Margaret Moseley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 3/14/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Bonita Faye is from a small town in Oklahoma and is married to a mean old deadbeat near-do-well. When the need arises that she feels can only be settled by his demise, she "kills him a little bit". Her criminal act is not discovered and she meets one of the loves of her life at this time. With her new found wealth from the insurance policy she fulfills her lifetime ambition and goes to Paris, France making life long friends. To find out the REST OF THE STORY, you will just have to read it. You will find a lot of humor in "Bonita Faye", and I bet you will find it as enjoyable as I did, and recommend it to others as I have.


Buffalo Palace (Titus Bass, Bk 2)
Buffalo Palace (Titus Bass, Bk 2)
Author: Terry C. Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 9/15/2012


This is the second of the series written by Terry Johnston about Titus Bass and his exploits on his search of the buffaloes and the west. He arrives in St. Louis and apprentices as a blacksmith and meets a trapper who has returned from the west. Titus is enamoured by the tales of the buffalo, beaver, and Indians out there, and starts his epic journey to find what lies over the next hill or rise. I find the Titus Bass series addictive and enjoyable. Terry Johnston's writing shows a knowledge of the mountain men in his descriptive writing which makes it enjoyable for the reader.


Charlatan: America's Most Dangerous Huckster, the Man Who Pursued Him, and the Age of Flimflam
Review Date: 6/26/2012


This book follows the life of John Brinkly, a self proclaimed doctor that was actually a con-artist extraordinaire who started out as a snake oil salesman and then developed a "new" operation he proclaimed could cure anything from dandruff to prostrate problems. He seemed to almost escape the handcuffs of the law, until he became dogmatically pursued by the AMA quackbuster, Morris Fishbein. Follow his cons from his humble boyhood to a multimillionaire, you will probably enjoy it as much as I.


City of Thieves
City of Thieves
Author: David Benioff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 3/16/2015


A member of the Red Army and a 17 year old young man living in Leningrad during WWII become friends on a quest for an illusive prize to gain the favor of a powerful Russian Colonel. They help each other to become educated about Russian literature, people, and survival. They meet partisans which includes one known as the best sniper against the Nazis invaders. When you read the book which includes the horror inflicted upon the citizens of Leningrad by the siege, humor, sex, and some twists you might not see until they happen you will understand the meaning of, "It shall come to pass".


The Clearing
The Clearing
Author: Tim Gautreaux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/11/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I liked this book so much I loaned it to a friend of mine to read. He returned it with glowing thanks saying he is sure it is one of those he would probably enjoy reading again in a few years. I combines action and history in the way Tim Gautreaux fans expect and like. You will appreciate the "old time logging" of the stands original cypress as it really was.


Coal Black Horse
Coal Black Horse
Author: Robert Olmstead
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/10/2015


At his mama's direction a young boy starts a journey looking for his daddy who is fighting for the South in the War of Northern Aggression. It starts slow, but soon builds into a novel I could hardly put down as I became enthralled with the characters he met on his journey riding his cold black horse.


Cooper's Creek: Tragedy and Adventure in the Australian Outback
Cooper's Creek: Tragedy and Adventure in the Australian Outback
Author: Alan Moorehead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/25/2014


If the story of Lewis and Clark interested you the story of Burke and Wills, the first men to transverse the continent of Australia will grab your attention as it did mine. The description of the trials they encountered as well as the unusual fauna, geography, and animals in this land first seen by these explorers will keep you glued to this book.


Crack in the Sky (Titus Bass, Bk 3)
Crack in the Sky (Titus Bass, Bk 3)
Author: Terry C. Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/15/2012


3rd in the Titus Bass series written by Terry C. Johnston. Titus continues his exploits as a trapper and mountain man in this adventure written in a setting of the early 1800's. I like the research Mr Johnston has incorporated in his writings to make this mountain man series interesting and believable.


Dance on the Wind (Titus Bass, Bk 1)
Dance on the Wind (Titus Bass, Bk 1)
Author: Terry C. Johnston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/12/2012


Titus Bass, leaves his little family homestead run by what he considers an overbearing father in search of what is down the road and over the next hill. He gains and education about life in 1810 Kentucky as he journeys on a flat boat down the Ohio River to New Orleans and walking back up the Natchez Trail to search for St. Louis and what is on the other side of the Mississippi River. Titus gets his first taste of independence, a woman, Indians, an earthquake, and many other of his "firsts" in this well researched Johnson page turner. Of the Titus Bass books written by T. Johnson this should be read first, hope you enjoy it as I did.


Dancing at the Rascal Fair (McCaskill Trilogy, Bk 2)
Dancing at the Rascal Fair (McCaskill Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Ivan Doig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/24/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Story of 2 brave Scottish youths, Angus and Rob, leaving their homeland for America in search of security and adventure. Because of Rob's uncle Lucas is in the wilds of Montana, the owner of the Great Maybe Mine, and a saloon they end up homesteading near the little town of Gros Ventre which Lucas promises to become a boom town. The book is about their struggles to find their security, love, and in this search they find daily adventures by trying to survive in the threatening Montana weather by raising sheep. All great books have a great love affair and you will find one of the best in this one. I found the book difficult to put down as I became enthralled and captivated by this story of how they fought to overcome the almost insurmountable difficulties they faced. I recommend it to all.


1 to 20 of 81 - Page: