Rachael K. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 76 - Page:
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 8/20/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I just could not get into this book even though it was highly recommended by a family friend who usually recommends books I love. I'm sending it off to someone else who will hopefully like it having not finished it myself.


Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Author: Nick Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 10/10/2009


While difficult to get into, this book was a really interesting look into the life of Nick Flynn. It talked less about the shelter than I expected and more about his life events. The writing is a bit scattered and difficult to follow but once you get started it becomes charming and unique.


Bad Things Happen (David Loogan, Bk 1)
Bad Things Happen (David Loogan, Bk 1)
Author: Harry Dolan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 9/12/2010


Meh, this book was entertaining but not extremely challenging. I enjoyed reading it but didn't feel like i took much away from it and forgot it almost immediately.


Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 393
Review Date: 11/3/2006


I loved "Dress Your Family" but I could not get into this book at all.


The Beach
The Beach
Author: Alex Garland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 1/13/2006


A very neat book, reviewers who said that this book was like a 20-something's version of "The Lord of the Flies" were right on and it had a "Heart of Darkness" feel to it as well. At first it seemed like I was so close to the end but none of the action had happened yet but it turned out to be a swift ending that worked!


Black Like Me
Black Like Me
Author: John Howard Griffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 1/7/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This book was amazing, especially since it is real. I study sociology but Black Like Me should be required reading for everyone. It would be even more amazing if someone were to do a follow-up to see what things are like now but John Howard Griffin's work is just as powerful today as it was when his pen first hit the page.


Born on a Blue Day : Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant : A Memoir
Review Date: 10/10/2009


I really enjoy books that are written from the perspective of people with autism and this book was no exception. It's just really interesting to get a peak at how their minds work. Choppy getting started but easy to get into, this book was no exception. Daniel is an amazing person, anyone who works with people with disabilities should read this book.


The Boy In the Striped Pajamas (Movie Tie-in Edition)
The Boy In the Striped Pajamas (Movie Tie-in Edition)
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 4/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This book confuses me. It's written like it is for children, the story is about a boy and the writing is simple and to the point. But the subject matter clearly isn't for children. I'm not really sure who the target audience is supposed to be. I read it to finish it but I didn't really enjoy it.


But Inside I'm Screaming
But Inside I'm Screaming
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 1/7/2006


In all honesty I was not thrilled about this book. I found it to be predictable and the perspective was a bit confusing to follow.


Carrie
Carrie
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/20/2006


One of my favorite stephen king novels


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1949
Review Date: 9/26/2006


I read this book on one day, half on the treadmill at the gym and half at home that evening. It is a quick and easy read. The writing style didn't strike me as particularly interesting but simply raw and real. I've been told that it is a must read for child care workers and it was pretty much exactly what I had expected.


The Dancing Girls of Lahore: Selling Love and Saving Dreams in Pakistan's Pleasure District (P.S.)
Review Date: 10/31/2006


I could not get into the book at all and did not finish it


Downsize This!: Random Threats from an Unarmed American
Downsize This!: Random Threats from an Unarmed American
Author: Michael Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Michael Moore is always fun to read but must be taken with a grain of salt


Downtown Owl
Downtown Owl
Author: Chuck Klosterman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 4/4/2010


When I tried to read Sex, Drugs, and Coco-Puffs I didn't make it through 10 pages before I decided I hated the book. So when my book club chose Downtown Owl I was nervous. It turned out that I had nothing to worry about because Downtown Owl is the most fun book that I've read in a while. Quirky and fast but somehow still deep. I loved the way Klosterman had the omnipotent narrator but jumped around to different characters. I'm going to have to give Coco Puffs another try.


Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 515
Review Date: 11/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wow. I started to read Barrel Fever and was totally turned off to David Sedaris but I already had this book on the way. Thank goodness I gave him another chance, it was a fantastic, quick, and silly read! I'm going to have to give Barrel Fever another shot as well!


Dry : A Memoir
Dry : A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 717
Review Date: 9/20/2006


This was my first encounter with Burroughs. I had the book on CD and listened to it during part of my 16hr round trip drive to Baltimore from Boston. It was utterly entertaining and the time flew, I can't wait to read more of his work! Very fun but also very real. A great read/listen!


Dude, Where's My Country?
Dude, Where's My Country?
Author: Michael Moore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Michael Moore is always fun to read but must be taken with a grain of salt


Emergence : Labeled Autistic
Emergence : Labeled Autistic
Author: Margaret M. Scariano, Temple Grandin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/12/2010


I've been meaning to read Temple Grandin because I loved Born on a Blue Day and A Curious Incident With the Dog in the Nightime. Emergence was a quick read, but it felt almost like a chore. While the voices in Blue Day and Dog in Nightime were quirky and creative, Temple Grandin is a recovered autistic so that quirkyness that engaged me in the other books wasn't there. It was amazing to read about her life and what helped her along the way but it wasn't as entertaining as I hoped.


Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: A Savage Journey to the Heart of the American Dream
Review Date: 1/13/2006


I was very confused after reading this book but my boyfriend insists that it is the greatest book of all time so I had to give it a shot!


The Five People You Meet in Heaven
The Five People You Meet in Heaven
Author: Mitch Albom
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2508
Review Date: 1/11/2007


While I did not like "Tuesdays With Morrie" I loved "The Five People You Meet in Heaven." My problem with Tuesdays was that there wasn't much to the story other than the people talking, I like action. Five brought together the philosophy aspect with a storyline. A wonderful read.


1 to 20 of 76 - Page: