Christine J. (FitReader) - - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
100 Years of Solitude
100 Years of Solitude
Author: Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 9/26/2009


Essentially a tale in the rise and the demise of a hamlet in Latin America that could easily represent a multitude of such hamlets during the 1970s. These towns not only faced oppression from their own government but by US corporate business as well. The book was worth two close readings.


1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1634
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 1


"Big Brother," an abstract fear, became a real household presence in the United States. This is the testament to the brilliance of 1984, even in 2009.


The Abstinence Teacher
The Abstinence Teacher
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 9/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Perhaps this work of fiction may be unpalatable for some. But, I must say, it is entertaining to see how religion, like any ideology, can be an instrument of hypocrisy and manipulation.


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Tor Classics)
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (Tor Classics)
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/28/2009


Twain uttered, "It is by the goodness of God that in our country we have those three unspeakably precious things: freedom of speech, freedom of conscience, and the prudence never to practice either of them." I would be accused of being disagreeable if I did not appreciate the wit and conscience of Twain, especially as he engages his readers in a delicate discussion of racism in the United States.


Alexander Hamilton
Alexander Hamilton
Author: Ron Chernow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/30/2009


An illegitimate son...an immigrant...and the architect of the United States' Federal Reserve. The most successful immigrant despite the myth of the American Dream.


All the Pretty Horses (Border Trilogy, Vol 1)
All the Pretty Horses (Border Trilogy, Vol 1)
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 12/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The "cowboy" has been an exoticized icon that equates masculinity with ruggedness in appearance and simplicity of lifestyle...an idyllic image.

For this Los Angeles urbanite, McCarthy successfully extinguishes this pre-determined image in a brutal tale on the hardships of being and living as a cowboy.


The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay
Author: Michael Chabon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 417
Review Date: 9/29/2009


"NEWS FLASH:" Korean American female, age 30, reads "The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay" and now wants to be Kavalier or Clay!! Convinces Polish American female, age 52 with 3 children, to read "The Amazing Adventure of Kavalier and Clay." Now reads comic books.


American Sphinx : The Character of Thomas Jefferson
American Sphinx : The Character of Thomas Jefferson
Author: Joseph J. Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 10/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Popularly known for the sunny language of the Declaration of Independence, a Southern "gentleman", and a father to Sally Hemmings's children.

What is less popularly known is his inability to envision a United States of America as an industrialized and entreprising nation. A great foe to Alexander Hamilton.

Essentially, a well-educated man without the strength to act on his education when faced with questions that dealt with humanity and morality.


And the Money Kept Rolling In (and Out) Wall Street, the IMF, and the Bankrupting of Argentina
Review Date: 1/2/2010


Although capital is "good" for multiple reasons, Wall Street's "greed" in offering cheap and expensive financing can do the reverse and debilitate a stagnating economy.

Which goes to prove that "Greed is good" is not always the case as proven in Argentina's economic crisis in 2001.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 1/18/2010


The insatiable desire to kiss and touch a lover...the ache from that unfulfilled want is the centerpiece to McEwan's "Atonement."


Bad Land: An American Romance
Bad Land: An American Romance
Author: Jonathan Raban
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 2/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


As with any "romance," love for land is fatiguing and wearisome as the intense euphoria of possibilities become diminished with the brutal realities of economic and financial constraints.


Century of Struggle: The Woman's Rights Movement in the United States
Review Date: 1/28/2010


Ignorance allows individuals to boldly, publicly, and do I dare say stupidly, claim that "grass is always greener on the other side" when women encounter misogyny intimately and structurally.

Flexner's body of work denies such frivolous nonsense.


The English Patient
The English Patient
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 1/18/2010


Infidelity...perhaps not always a rapturous, thoughtless, and hurtful moment, but a consequence. A consequence from an imperfectly paired couple.


Girl With Curious Hair
Girl With Curious Hair
Author: David Foster Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/27/2009


"Intellectual caress" was the highlight of the book. I perhaps may not be intellectually suited for Wallace's approach to storytelling. Is there such a thing as too much creativity?

Yet, I do appreciate Wallace's use of the word "bedizen," which is a verb that means to dress or adorn gaudily.


How We Decide
How We Decide
Author: Jonah Lehrer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/20/2010


Social scientists, beware! An uncomfortable and bewildering read as it reduces many of our decisions on the material details of our brains, particularly the development of our prefrontal cortex!!


In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex
In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex
Author: Nathaniel Philbrick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 2/7/2014


A whale of a tale!!


1 to 16 of 16