Nancy H. - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
101 Essential Tips: Bonsai
101 Essential Tips: Bonsai
Author: Harry Tomlinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/4/2007


This is a small informative book of tips on doing Bonsai. I had great ideas on doing that but I found I don't have the patience.


1984
1984
Author: George Orwell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1633
Review Date: 2/11/2007


I have not read this book. But according to the back of the book it is "a startingly original and haunting novel that creates an imaginary world that is completely convincing."


The Calorie Counter: Revised and Updated 2nd Edition
The Calorie Counter: Revised and Updated 2nd Edition
Author: Annette B. Natow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/11/2007


It is a calorie counter. What else can I say. It shows you all the things you should NOT eat and of course, there are a few things that are good for you!


The CalorieKing Calorie, Fat & Carbohydrate Counter 2009
The CalorieKing Calorie, Fat & Carbohydrate Counter 2009
Author: Allan Borushek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is not a book you read and then pass on to someone else. It is one I keep handy all the time. Although I don't keep a record of everything I eat, it is nice to check the calories in things now and then. You would be surprised at the amount of calories in some things you eat often.


The Complete Word Game Dictionary
The Complete Word Game Dictionary
Author: Gorton Carruth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/24/2012


I love it!! Not sure if it has made me a great Scrabble player but then I had such a long way to go.....but I am getting there!
Thanks for sending the book.
Nancy


Review Date: 3/4/2007


I used this book a lot when I was raising my grandson who got diabetes when he was 5 years old.


Easy Style: Sewing the New Classics
Review Date: 3/4/2007


This book has a lot of good information in it about altering the patterns to fit and all the patterns are loose fitting so it is good for a beginner or those you like lots of room in the fit. This book says there are lots of patterns in it but they are not full size and have to be drafted out to the proper size. But it explains construction, etc.


Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Gifted Hands: The Ben Carson Story
Author: Cecil Murphey, Ben Carson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/1/2007


I think this book is wonderful. It goes to show that sometimes what we think is impossible really can be done. And I admire his mom for doing the pushing when he needed it.


The Gradual Vegetarian
The Gradual Vegetarian
Author: Lisa Tracy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Do you wat to cut down on eating meat or adopt a comletely vegetarian diet? This book helps you do it in stages so you can become a complete vegetarian or stop at any point


In Praise of Wolves
In Praise of Wolves
Author: R.D. Lawrence
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/11/2007


From the book's back cover:"insights into the cautious, curious, shy and mischievous creature. Rituals of aggression and submission, its capacities for cruelty and affection."


Inamorata
Inamorata
Author: Joseph Gangemi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/4/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Finch was hired to set "traps" to debunk psychics in the 1920s. I really enjoyed the first 3/4 of the book and then it seems to get muddled and left a lot of questions unanswered. I guess you are suppose to come to your own conclusions.


Indian America: A traveler's companion
Review Date: 3/4/2007


This book lists the tribes in different states, gives and address and information about each. It also has a separate map of the US and where the reservations and tribes are located.


Insight Guides Native America (Insight Guides)
Review Date: 3/4/2007


Lots of beautiful pictures in this book along with information.


Kids, Food and Diabetes
Kids, Food and Diabetes
Author: Gloria Loring
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/4/2007


This is a book of recipes, menus and practical advice for kids with diabetes. It sure helped me a lot when I was raising my grandson who got diabetes when he was 5 years old.


Motiba's Tattoos
Motiba's Tattoos
Author: Mira Kamdar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/28/2007


Mira Kamdar was born in the United States to an Indian father and a Danish American mother. In this memoir she rediscovers her family's story by tracing its journey from an isolated corner of India to the web-wired world of twenty-first-century America.


The Psychologist's Book of Self-Tests:  25 Love, Sex Intelligence, Career and Personality Tests
Review Date: 2/11/2007


I have not read this book.


Secret Ceremonies: A Mormon Woman's Intimate Diary of Marriage and Beyond
Review Date: 3/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a Mormon Woman's diary of the secret ceremonies she went through and her struggle to adhere to the religion and then to overcome her guilt feelings.


Ten Stupid Things Women Do to Mess Up Their Lives
Ten Stupid Things Women Do to Mess Up Their Lives
Author: Laura C. Schlessinger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 2/11/2007


I have not read this book.


1 to 18 of 18