Susan G. (SusanG) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 42 - Page:
Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Acqua Alta (Guido Brunetti, Bk 5)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 8/14/2008


One of the best of Donna Leon's excellent Brunetti series. Her interesting plot and thoughtful characters give armchair travelers a view of Venice, Italy from the inside.

SusanG


Bahamarama
Bahamarama
Author: Bob Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/6/2008


I enjoyed all of Floridian Bob Morris' books. This one is set in the Bahamas and gives you an insiders look at the culture and the people. Others are set in Bermuda and Jamaica. Always a good story.


Bone Mountain (Shan Tao Yun, Bk 3)
Bone Mountain (Shan Tao Yun, Bk 3)
Author: Eliot Pattison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/19/2009


Described accurately as "densely plotted and incredibly detailed induces Pattison's entranced readers to care deeply about his compelling characters and long-suffering Tibet". The book is a follow-up to The Skull Mantra about ex-Beijing police inspector Shan Tao Yun who is now on the run from the brutal Chinese army. Reading it takes work, but is worth the effort. You will never look at the glorious peaks of Tibet in the same way again.


C'est La Vie : An American Woman Begins a New Life in Paris and--Voila!--Becomes Almost French
Review Date: 7/23/2008


I enjoyed this book. You have to view this author's writing in the context of her expertise, shopping and dining. I have used her Born to Shop travel guidebooks(now published by Frommer's)for many years and for many cities and countries. They are excellent guides for shopping, dining, and what parts of the cities/countries will be worthwhile and which parts to skip. They are NOT guides for cultural activities, museums, historical places, etc. The best recommendations are for who has the best restrooms on your travels. This book is much more personal than the Born to Shop series.


The Chocolate Puppy Puzzle (Chocoholic, Bk 4)
The Chocolate Puppy Puzzle (Chocoholic, Bk 4)
Author: JoAnna Carl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 7/6/2008


I could not finish this book, although the series was recommended. The plot is contrived and I did not particularly like the characters.


Corpus Christmas (Sigrid Harald, Bk 6)
Corpus Christmas (Sigrid Harald, Bk 6)
Author: Margaret Maron
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Thi book is one of the NYC detective Sigrid Harald series, an earlier series by this author. I like the character very much and enjoyed this plot set in the art world. I am on the WL for the rest of the series.


Dating is Murder (Wollie Shelley, Bk 2)
Dating is Murder (Wollie Shelley, Bk 2)
Author: Harley Jane Kozak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 6/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the second book in the Wollstonecraft (Wollie) Shelley series. I liked this book more than the first one which I found to be very frantic/frenetic and hard to follow. The author seemed to calm down in this one, but still write a good story with interesting characters with some LOL parts. It is still helpful to read the first one for introductions to the characters and background.


Death by Design (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Death by Design (Inspector Ikmen Mysteries)
Author: Barbara Nadel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/28/2010


An exceptional book in an exceptional series that offers wonderful characters and sense of place. This book takes Inspector Cetin Ikmen from modern day Istanbul to London as an undercover agent in the battle against designer fakes and, in this case, terrorism. Nadel has a history of working in the mental health service in London and brings a depth to her character development.


Died in the Wool (Torie O'Shea, Bk 10)
Died in the Wool (Torie O'Shea, Bk 10)
Author: Rett MacPherson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 7/5/2008


A Torie O'Shea mystery, part of an interesting series involving geneaology and history. Smart, with interesting characters and a good plot, this story involves quilts. If you can, read the series in order.


Friends in High Places (Guido Brunetti, Bk 9)
Friends in High Places (Guido Brunetti, Bk 9)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 9/22/2008


Another tour through the internal politics of Venice, Italy guided by Commissario Guido Brunetti. A quick read and absorbing as always.


Fugitive Colors (Sigrid Harald, Bk 8)
Fugitive Colors (Sigrid Harald, Bk 8)
Author: Margaret Maron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/6/2008


Loved the NYC detective Sigrid Harald series. Every one was top notch plot and interesting characters.


The Great Husband Hunt
The Great Husband Hunt
Author: Laurie Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/11/2008


LOL funny, although sometimes you do not know whether to laugh or cry at the doings of rebellious Poppy and her shallow and superficial clan. Loved this book.


Harem (Inspector Ikmen, Bk 5)
Harem (Inspector Ikmen, Bk 5)
Author: Barbara Nadel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Barbara Nadel is my new favorite author. This book has an intricate plot and involved me in the life of fascinating characters. It gives a view of the rich culture of Istanbul, Turkey that you could never get by reading a travel guide. This is one of the Inspector Ikmen mystery series and as they are on my wish list, I have had to read them out of order.


Home to Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 4)
Home to Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 4)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 3/25/2008


Ave Maria comes "full circle" in this fourth book in the Big Stone Gap series. I had not read the first three in a long time, but enjoyed the characters, flaws and all, so much that I ordered the first in the series to read again.


Hostile Makeover (Crime of Fashion, Bk 3)
Hostile Makeover (Crime of Fashion, Bk 3)
Author: Ellen Byerrum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the 3rd book in the "Crimes of Fashion" series about Lacey Smithsonian, fashion writer for a Washington, D.C. newspaper. Each book gets better and this one was fun to read and lots better than some of the idiotic cozies that abound. The series reminds me of Elaine Viets Mystery Shopper and Dead End Jobs books.


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 797
Review Date: 11/20/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I agree with the other reviews in that it was an absorbing, well written story for the 1st two thirds of the book. The end just kind of dissolved to "that's it?". I did read the first chapter of her 2nd book, "The Likeness", and that was about Cassie before and after her involvement in the murder squad. So, that might give some more information about the aftermath of "In the Woods". I just was not sure if I felt like reading the whole book to find out.


Jamaica Me Dead (Zack Chasteen, Bk 2)
Jamaica Me Dead (Zack Chasteen, Bk 2)
Author: Bob Morris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/6/2008


As in Bahamarama, Floridian Bob Morris introduces us to great mysteries on different islands without seeming contrived. I enjoyed each one.


The Janissary Tree (Yashim, Bk 1)
The Janissary Tree (Yashim, Bk 1)
Author: Jason Goodwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/7/2009


This was a complex story set in Istanbul in 1836 when the sultan is preparing to announce sweeping political changes in the Ottoman Empire. The main character is Investigator Yashmin, a eunuch who is "both brilliant and near invisible" and the only person trusted to find out what is happening to upset the fragile balance of power of the sultan. Wonderful history, geography, characters,and delicious food all contribute to the unraveling of the mysterious circumstances. Yashmin reminds me very much of Inspector Ikmen in Barbara Nadel's series about modern day Istanbul. It is the first in this series and I look forward to the second, The Snake Stone.


Japanese Prints (Phaidon Giant Art Paperback)
Japanese Prints (Phaidon Giant Art Paperback)
Author: Richard Illing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/23/2009


This is an oversize paperback, published in 1978, with 106 Japanese prints from 1700 to 1900. They are in color and black and white and each has a history and where the original resides. They would be beautiful to frame or to study.


Lethal Legacy (Alex Cooper, Bk 11)
Lethal Legacy (Alex Cooper, Bk 11)
Author: Linda Fairstein
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 12/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have enjoyed all of Linda Fairstein's books, although I have found the "Assistant District Attorney in jeopardy" endings sometimes contrived. They are usually set in Manhattan and introduce me to fascinating areas of the city. The characters are always interesting. This story was especially good and concerns the iconic main New York Public Library which is not a lending library, but collections of rare books, maps and artwork for scholars and researchers to study. The preservation areas and politics of the trustees are especially interesting. It moved quickly and was worth the wait.


1 to 20 of 42 - Page: