Reviews - Chris S. (Snowball7470)

1 to 20 of 130 - Page:
Against Happiness: In Praise of Melancholy
Against Happiness: In Praise of Melancholy
Author: Eric G. Wilson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/23/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a very compelling study of American's obsession with being "happy" and the author has some really good points about why we should re-think this trend. The only thing that annoyed me some is that he uses big words quite a lot so I had to have the dictionary handy. Still, that didn't keep me from getting quite a bit from this little book. If you've every "battled" depression or bad moods, this is an important book for you to read. Especially if you consider yourself spiritual. I highly recommend it because it helps bring understanding and acceptance to the normal range of human joy and sorrow - and explains what can be lost if we settle for "content" or "happy"."


Agnes Nixon's All My Children: Erica
Agnes Nixon's All My Children: Erica
Author: Rosemarie Santini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 2/18/2006


"Published in 1980, this is book II of Agnes Nixon's "All My Children". It's 220 pages and includes the characters Erica Kane, Jeff Martin and Philip Brent. It spans the years 1972-1974 in the saga."


Always Dakota (Dakota, Bk 3)
Always Dakota (Dakota, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 2/12/2006


"Third in the Dakota trilogy."


An Old Friend of the Family
An Old Friend of the Family
Author: Saberhagen, Fred
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 2/2/2006


"This book picks up the thread of Dracula's adventures and is set in Chicago in 1979."


Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 1/24/2007


"Great read - very suspenseful! I look forward to the Lifetime movie coming up with Heather Locklear."


Asking About Sex and Growing Up
Asking About Sex and Growing Up
Author: Joanna Cole
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 2/23/2006


"We found this book very helpful in preparing for discussions with our son when he was younger."


Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Bad Cat: 244 Not-So-Pretty Kitties and Cats Gone Bad
Author: Jim Edgar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 3/26/2006


"Goofy pictures of cats, some are funny, some are really really weird. Not bad for a laugh or two."


Batman Begins
Batman Begins
Author: David S. Goyer, Christopher Nolan, Dennis O'Neil
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/2/2006


"Based on the eagerly awaited new feature film -- the exciting origins of the ultimate crime fighter!"


Beach Road (Large Print)
Beach Road (Large Print)
Author: Peter de Jonge, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 11/6/2006


"This is a large print copy."


Beautiful Braids
Beautiful Braids
Author: Patricia Coen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/9/2006


"64 pages, this is a small illustrated (with photos) guide to making all kinds of braided hairstyles! It's simple and very helpful!"


Beauty Fades, Dumb Is Forever: The Making of a Happy Woman
Beauty Fades, Dumb Is Forever: The Making of a Happy Woman
Author: Judy Sheindlin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 8/6/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very straight forward & interesting perspective from Judge Judy. She tells it like it is and I wish I'd had her advice at a much younger age. I liked this book and I'd recommend it especially to older teens and young women starting out. It might help a lot of women steer clear of some of the problems my generation has gotten into."


Before the Dawn (Dark Angel, Bk 1)
Before the Dawn (Dark Angel, Bk 1)
Author: Max Allan Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/19/2007


"1st in the 3 book set -- my husband says it's great and tells more than the tv series!"


Beloved Rogue
Beloved Rogue
Author: Penelope Williamson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/29/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book is an early work of Penelope Williamson (author of: The Outsider & A Wild Yearning etc.). The story is interesting and romantic -- however, I am a fan of her later work I found the writing to be choppy and not as smooth & clear as her other books. Still, the story is good and if you like historical romances you'll probably enjoy it!"


Beware the Child
Beware the Child
Author: Ruth Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/24/2006


"From the back: Naughty child, evil child, ghost child. A pretty teenager, a wild college girl, a mother of four.... Each has had a nightmare about a terrifying child. He sings to them. He clings to them long after the dream is over. Then he leads them to a dark, secluded place where his daddy punishes them. Policewoman Laura Bernhardt has had the dream. She knows a savage killer is on the loose. Who will listen when she speaks of a ghost child who died unborn...of an evil from beyond the grave? Who will hear the ghastly screams of the dying and believe her when she cries out..."


The Black Stallion Returns (Black Stallion, Bk 2)
The Black Stallion Returns (Black Stallion, Bk 2)
Author: Walter Farley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/2/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The 2nd book in Walter Farley's Black Stallion series. I loved these books as a kid!!!!! This is one of the best!"


Blood Oath
Blood Oath
Author: David Morrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/24/2006


"by the author of First Blood. From the back cover: Who are they? They rob his father's grave in the military cemetary. They murder the woman he loves on the highway. They hunt him through the cities and mountains of France. Peter Houston has sworn a blood oath to exact vengeance. And to stay alive. But first he must track down his tormentors. It is a discovery that will astonish him. And possibly destroy him."


Blood Rules (Medellin, Bk 1)(Executioner, No 149)
Blood Rules (Medellin, Bk 1)(Executioner, No 149)
Author: Don Pendleton, Mike Newton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/25/2006


"This is book one of the Medellin Trilogy."


Blue Smoke
Blue Smoke
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 663
Review Date: 2/20/2007


"Intense, suspenseful & very good."


The Bog
The Bog
Author: Michael Talbot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/24/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"From the cover: The Bog: To a small English village, it is a vast organic presence, as ancient as time itself and seething with hidden life and forbidden legends. To it's victims, it is a nameless horror beyond description, a razor-toothed evil, rising up from the murky depths to feast on human prey. To archaeologist David Macauley and his family, it is the ultimate scientific mystery -- and the ultimate experiment in terror....."


The Border Empire (Border Empire, Bk 1)
The Border Empire (Border Empire, Bk 1)
Author: Ralph Compton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 2/3/2006


"From the cover: Nathan Stone, the man they called The Gunfighter, lay dead in the dust of an El Paso street. The Sandlin gand kicked up that dust as they rode back laughing into Mexico, where the U.S. law couldn't touch them and local law didn't want to."


1 to 20 of 130 - Page: