Joann (j0j0ruca) - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Blood Red (Alliance Vampires, Bk 8)
Blood Red (Alliance Vampires, Bk 8)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 7/8/2009


What could possible ruin a bachelorette weekend in New Orleans? Vampires.
Lauren Crow is in The Big Easy with her fellow bridesmaid Deanna and the bride-to-be Heidi. The three friends get their fortune's read while out. Lauren becomes rather uneasy with what she has seen in the crystal ball. Who is that mysterious man she bumped into at the bar and has been showing up? Is he somehow connected with the rash of decapitated bodies that are being found?

All in all I found this a rather easy book to get through. It really pulled me in and I didn't want to put it down until I was finished.


The Convenient  Groom
The Convenient Groom
Author: Denise Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/30/2009


Dr. Kate is a marriage consultant who is on the rise to stardom - that is until she is julted at the alter. To add salt to the wound her book on finding "mr right" is also set to launch the same day as the nuptials. What is a girl to do? Since the identity of the groom had been kept a secret - it might just be possible to get a stand-in groom. Can Kate, who is use to giving advice to others on how to make a marriage work, make her "fake" marriage work?

This was a quick and light read. It was a bit predictable - but I loved the characters. I really enjoyed it.


Good Luck
Good Luck
Author: Whitney Gaskell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/3/2009


Lucy gets fired from her job. She in the midst of a sex scandal. Her clunker of a car breaks down AGAIN. She comes home early to find her boyfriend with another women in HER bed. Seriously, can life get any worse for Lucy?

On a whim she buys a lottery ticket on the way home from visiting a friend's house. The next morning the paper boasts that there was only one winner for the $87 million jackpot. Guess who has those six lucky numbers? Lucy.

You'd think with 34 million (a girl has to pay taxes on them winnings!) would solve everything - but it doesn't. Lucy tries to espace the media circus and reinvent herself with the help of an old college friend. Lucy soon learns that what she thinks she knows - she doesn't and she can't outrun her past.

This book is amazing. It is one of those "can't put it down I must read the next chapter..oh make it another chapter...ok just another" type of book.


Little Beauties
Little Beauties
Author: Kim Addonizio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/4/2009


Little Beauties is told from the perspective of three characters. The first is Diana. Diana is a mid-thirty year old who was recently seperated (not by her choice)from her husband. Diana's OCD controls her life. Jamie is the pregnant teenager who is unhappy about her current situation. Diana and Jamie cross paths and eventually their lives become involved. The third perspective is Stella, Jamie's unborn baby.

The book is a quick read


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1178
Review Date: 8/20/2009


I was given this book to read by one of my 7th grade students after I had made a comment about wanting to read the series. I held on to the book a few days before finally diving in. Twilight/New Moon had left such a sour taste in my mouth that I didn't think I was ready for another "teen vamp" story. I was wrong. I devoured the book in one night.

I won't bother going into a summary of the book - since there are plenty of reviews that do so. I will however state that as a middle school teacher (or anyone who has been behind a group of teens in the mall) - yes, students do talk and act like the characters in the book. A few years back we had a "blow job in the stairwell scandal" at one of our schools. I do love how the authors state "Of course there are girls who think it's "cool" to give guys head. Uh, they're wrong. Those of us with functioning brains know it is not cool to be used like that".

I think the authors did a great job of trying to represent TODAY'S teens. I can see why teens would like the book. I do plan on reading the rest of the series.


Math Hidden Pictures
Math Hidden Pictures
Author: Mary C. Hall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/1/2009


This black line reproducible is for addition and subtraction 1 to 10. It is geared towards 1st grade.

There are 20 pages of hidden pictures. The students solve the addition/subtraction problems and then color in to "reveal" the hidden picture. Hidden pictures include alion, whale, lamb, owl, and other animals Math facts are presented vertically and horizontally.

Great for reinforcing those math facts. Perfect to use in a center activity, as additional homework practice, or work for students to do when a substitute is in the class.


More Than Fiends
More Than Fiends
Author: Maureen Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/7/2010


Cassie Burke is a quick witted, single mom raising a teenage daughter while running a house cleaning business. On her 32nd birthday her destiny is revealed to her - she is to follow in the steps of her female ancestors and be the next Demon Duster. Who knew there were so many demons living in her little sleepy neck of the woods.

This is a light quick read with just a touch of steamy sex in it. I'm actually looking forward to reading the next installment.


Opposites Attract: The Icing on the Cake / The Short, Hot Summer / Pride and Prejudice / The Princess and the Adventurer
Review Date: 8/1/2009


This is an entertaining collection of 4 stories where the two characters fall in love upon first sight, try to fight off said feelings because of compatibility, and eventually give in to each other.

The Icing on the Cake - Sam has left behind his NY life to write and bake in Alaska. Sydney comes home from her wilderness tour guide gig to find Sam is her new roommate. They soon they discover they need each other's talents. Sam will teacher Syd to cook and cuddle. Syd will teach Sam how to fish and chop wood. Can two total opposites fall in love?

The Short Hot Summer - Preston has headed out to Alabama in hopes of a big corporation merger. Little did he know Mis Mamie at his B&B would be such a knock out. He is a little bit Wall Street and she is a little bit country.

Pride and Prejudice - a mix up in a hotel reservation has cartoonist Jackie and her little lap dog Priss sharing a room with dog handler Scott and his working dog Iowa. A bet leads Scott trying to teach Miss Priss to herd sheep. Priss and Iowa have fallen for each other - why can't their humans stop denying themselves?

The Princess and the Adventurer - Isabelle has left the comforts of San Fran to find her brother in the deep jungles of Mexico. Matthew steps in to help her locate her brother. It doesn't help that part of his pay will come in the form of the gold treasure they hope to find..or is Matthew after something else - like Isabelle's heart?


Past Secrets
Past Secrets
Author: Cathy Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 6/19/2009


I picked this book up at the FOL store on a total fluke - figured it would make a good summer read. Keep in mind that I'm more of a mystery & thriller type of gal. I'm so glad I did. I couldn't put the book down once I began it.

The story centers around 4 women of various ages that live/have lived on the same street. Each women has a secret that gets revealed as the book progresses. The characters and situations flow effortlessly.


Pride (Shifters, Bk 3)
Pride (Shifters, Bk 3)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 8/16/2009


Faythe is on trial for infecting and killing her ex-boyfriend. The Alphas have taken their trial up to a secluded free territory mountain top lodge. In typical Faythe fashion - trouble finds her. A tabby, captured in the surrounding woods, is brought to the group. If that isn't enough a group of misguided strays are set on claiming the free territory and the new found tabby as their own.

This series just keeps getting better with each book.


Reader's Digest Condensed Books, Volume 2, 1984
Review Date: 6/24/2009


This volume contains:
Arnie, The Darling Starling by Margaret Sigl Corbo and Diane Marie Barras
Night Sky by Clare Francis
The Canyon by Jack Schaefer
If We Could Hear The Grass Grow by Eleanor Craig


Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 1)
Real Murders (Aurora Teagarden, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 6/30/2017


I've had this novel on my TBR since April 2009 and I just finally got around to reading it (June 2017!). Such a quick and easy read. So glad I have the rest of the books in the series so I can just jump to the next one.


Salty Like Blood: A Novel
Salty Like Blood: A Novel
Author: Harry Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/2/2009


David and his wife Joanna head out to the shores of Virginia to visit his dying father. Their daughter Rachel vanishes. David's father dies. David and Joanna's marriage is on the rocks. Old flames and new potential ones enter the picture. Secrets are revealed. Revenges are plotted. This book has it all. If it hadn't had beenf or the fact I started reading the book late at night - I would have never put it down.

This book is everything I wanted The Shack to be and more - not the ending (won't spoil that) but wanting to know more about the characters and story line.


Season of Strangers
Season of Strangers
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 8/7/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Julie and and Laura are sisters. Both are abducted by aliens. Only Laura has reoccuring nightmares. Val, one of the aliens, is really interested as to why Julie is able to resist the testing. Patrick works alongside Julie. Patrick lives a fast lifestyle of women and drugs. He has a heart attack and Val is able to take over his body and we have a new & improved Patrick. Can Julie really beleive her sisters stories of being abducted?

I'll have to honestly admit the book was "meh". The first half was VERY boring and confusing. The scenes between the main characters and the going ons on the space ship diin't flow and were rather confusing at times. I stuck it out. I'd say after the initial set up of all the characters the book finally was enjoyable.


Sierra's Story (Degrees of Betrayal)
Sierra's Story (Degrees of Betrayal)
Author: Dandi Daley MacKall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/22/2009


I was pleasantly suprised by Sierra's Story. It was an easy read (book is written at about a mid 3rd grade level). I didn't put the book down until I finished it.

The novel is told in first person narrative. Sierra, the main character, is in the hospitol after an accident. The first few chapters are told from her perspective of hearing all that is going on around her but not being able to open her eyes, speak, or respond. At first her memory is a bit hazy but she slowly pieces together the events from that night. She learns that her boyfriend and her best friend have betrayed her. Once Sierra learns about this betrayal, she is determined to seek revenge on them and begins an elaborate planon destroying the two. Sierra's roommate from the hospital (an older god fearing woman) just might have some influence over her.

Ryun(Sierra's boyfriend) and Kenzie's (Sierra's best firend) side of the story are available in two additional books.


Stray (Shifters, Bk 1)
Stray (Shifters, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Vincent
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 391
Review Date: 7/3/2009


Faythe is a werecat attending grad school. Since leaving her father's ranch she had kept her distance from her pride - even though she does know that her dad does have someone keeping an eye on her at all times. One such watcher finally comes foward to bring Faythe home - against her own wishes - because tabbies are being kidnapped. Did the stray she just fought off on campus have anything to do with the missing tabbies? While back on the ranch she soon begins to enjoy all the perks of living as a werecat on a huge ranch that she couldn't enjoy while on the university campus. Old and new flames surface while Faythe learns that her father's intentions is for her to lead the pride one day. Sadly Faythe is still struggling with being independent from the pride and a slip up leads to her being captured. Can Faythe get it together in time to save herself and a few other precious tabbies?

I was really excited to start this series. The first four chapters really brought me in. The narrative flowed regardless if Faythe was in human or cat form. While reading it, I really felt that this was more a "mature young adult" novel


Tuck Everlasting
Tuck Everlasting
Author: Natalie Babbitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 4/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is truly one of my favorite books to read with my students.

After reading Twilight, I found that the two shared very similiar themes. A sampling of familiar themes I found between the two books were young love, the ability to live forever, and making difficult choice. Of course none of the characters in Tuck Everlasting are vampires - that we know of!

I have recommended this timeless classic to students who have read the Twilight series.


Using Big Books with Children
Using Big Books with Children
Author: GRAUBE
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 7/1/2009


Using Big Books With Children (teacher's Created Materials) is a geared towards pre-school to grade 2.

This reproducible book contains and introduction to big books and a parent letter about big books

Sample plans, reading activities, and across the curriculum activities are included for the following books:
*Humpty Dumpty (teacher-made big book)
*Mrs. Wishy-washy by Joy Cowley
*The Enormous Watermelon retold by Brenda Parkes and Judith Smith
*Why Can't I fly? by Ria Golden Gelman


Wait Till Helen Comes
Wait Till Helen Comes
Author: Mary Downing Hahn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 5/7/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Twelve year old Molly and her ten year old brother, Michael, have never liked their younger stepsister, Heather. Ever since their parents got married, she's made Molly and Michael's life miserable. Now that their parents have moved them all to the country to live in a house that used to be church, with a cemetery in the backyard. If that's not bad enough, Heather starts talking to a ghost named Helen and warning Molly and Michael that Helen is coming for them. molly feels certain Heather is in some kind of danger, but ever time she tried to help, Heather twists things around to get her into trouble. It seems as if things can't get any worse. But they do - when Helen comes.


1 to 19 of 19