Beverly L. (bevychap) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 152 - Page:
1,000 Gluten-Free Recipes
1,000 Gluten-Free Recipes
Author: Carol Fenster
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


oh wow. This was amazing - not just A pasta recipe, but a whole section. not just ONE chocolate cake, but a whole list. This cookbook comprehensively covers classic dishes, much like the traditional (not the gluten free) Betty Crocker cookbook... then adds other, creative gems like green tea cheescake or chocolate latte muffins. My only gripe is the adherence to a 'sorghum blend' for flour, as I typically stay away from the more expensive sorghum flour.


2003 Novel  Short Story Writer's Market
2003 Novel Short Story Writer's Market
Author: Vanessa Lyman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/14/2007


The essential guide. Content doesn't change much from year to year - the markets you'll want to submit to have been around more than a couple of years anyway.


3 Skeins or Less - Fresh Knitted Accessories
3 Skeins or Less - Fresh Knitted Accessories
Author: Tanis Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/24/2014


Beautiful, unusual patterns. Lots of lace, several sock patterns. Not for the novice, though.


The 360 Degree Leader : Developing Your Influence from Anywhere in the Organization
Review Date: 3/23/2011


I was hoping for a book on collaboration, but the strongest part of this book was the "leading up" section. I also enjoyed the "challenges" section, which talked about internal and external issues that may get in the way of being a good leader.

Overall the book was written in very short segments, presumably for the typical ADD upper management type, and some parts were a little trite. But it's worth a quick look, anyway.


500 Low-Carb Recipes
500 Low-Carb Recipes
Author: Dana Carpender
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 1/28/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Great inspiration for meat dishes, salads, vegs, etc. Not just for low carbers.


Accessorizing The Bride: Vintage Wedding Finery Through The Decades
Review Date: 1/23/2012


Good book, with lots of photography of actual vintage wedding dresses, but more of a history book than anything directly applicable to wedding planning. In other words, I was interested but not inspired.


The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Cakes & Cookies
The Allergy-Free Cook Bakes Cakes & Cookies
Author: Laurie Sadowski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/10/2013


This was an approachable and flexible cookbook with lots of options for making gluten-free items that are also dairy, egg, soy and corn free. Unlike a lot of other "allergy-free" cookbooks, nuts are generally not used. What the author does rely heavily on is quinoa and millet flours. About a third of the recipes contain fruit based ingredients(frequently oranges), and another third chocolate. There are also several pages of tips and tricks. Overall, this could be either a great starter cookbook, or a fun way for an experienced GF cook to branch out.


Allergy-Friendly Food for Families: 120 Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free, Egg-Free, and Soy-Free Recipes Everyone Will Love
Review Date: 10/25/2012


Exactly as described - a great collection of kid friendly recipes indexed by allergy type. If your kid only eats chicken nuggets, well, good luck to you. But if your kid is open to veggies and likes fun shapes and dipping stuff, this is a really great resource! Lots of pictures too.


An Apple for the Creature
An Apple for the Creature
Author: Charlaine Harris (Editor), Toni L. P. Kelner (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/12/2012


Specific to the Charlaine Harris "Sookie" short story - it was a completely mundane short story about Sookie visiting Hunter's school and anticipating a gunman coming to the school because of her telepathy. The characters (even Sookie) were totally flat, the ending predictable. This could have been a story about any characters, anywhere.


The Art of War for Women: Sun Tzu's Ancient Strategies and Wisdom for Winning at Work
Review Date: 3/7/2011


This was a good read, but left me wanting more. I think this was a natural outcome of trying to boil down a very complex work into a thin and easy to read volume.

The strongest points were:
Her list of 8 ways to repackage womanhood. (However, this might make some feminists' heads spin.)
Strategies for overcoming office jealousy
Discontentment as the root of creativity
Selling yourself first, then your ideas


BabyCakes: Vegan, Gluten-Free, and (Mostly) Sugar-Free Recipes from New York's Most Talked-About Bakery
Review Date: 6/29/2011


This is cute, and good for a gf vegan maybe, but not so good as a celiac cookbook. Half of the recipes used spelt and the other half used either an expensive gf baking blend or garbanzo/fava bean flour which is completely unavailable for me. Applesauce, agave nectar, coconut oil, and evaporated cane juice were other common ingredients. Oh, and chocolate. Lots of chocolate.

However the recipes were interesting looking and there was a lot more than just cupcakes.


The Ballad of Tom Dooley (Ballad, Bk 9)
The Ballad of Tom Dooley (Ballad, Bk 9)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 1/14/2012


Like 1860s era Jerry Springer. The narrator was just ... yucky. Although it was fast paced enough for audio, and well written, I couldn't get past the first two CDs due to the ick factor.


Barefoot in Paris: Easy French Food You Can Make at Home
Barefoot in Paris: Easy French Food You Can Make at Home
Author: Ina Garten
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/30/2008


This is one of those great cookbooks where everything you make "turns out". We've used it for entertaining and just for everyday cooking with yummy results. Not too many weird ingredients, either.


Best-Ever Exciting Recipes for Every Occasion Chicken
Best-Ever Exciting Recipes for Every Occasion Chicken
Author: Linda Fraser (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Every kind of chicken recipe you can think of - from easy mid-week meals to elaborate recipes - with lots of pictures and techniques.


Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Cooking
Betty Crocker Gluten-Free Cooking
Author: Betty Crocker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/20/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I suppose I should have seen this coming... but this entire cookbook was an advertisement for Betty Crocker cake mix, Rice Chex, gluten free Bisquick, and other products. Not a bad thing if that's what you're looking for, I suppose. But not every meal needs a faux-biscuit topping.


Bloodroot
Bloodroot
Author: Amy Greene
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 1/12/2011
Helpful Score: 9


Life's too short. I don't care how beautiful the prose (and it was lovely), how accurate the dialect (very accurate), or even the artistic value of the novel as a whole. After the first 50 pages, I just didn't want to read any more, and that was a good enough reason to stop.

Possibly the biggest contributing issue was the structure: it's the story of a girl named Myra, told from multiple viewpoints, starting with alternating narratives from the grandmother and a childhood friend. Both of these narrators ramble a good bit, so that by the 50th page (almost to the end of their turns as narrator) I knew very little about the subject character, and a whole lot about Doug wanting to poison a horse.

Oh, did I mention poisoning a horse? NOT - HELPING.


Brick Lane
Brick Lane
Author: Monica Ali
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 2/2/2009


This was one of those rare books I didn't even finish reading. I just felt like I had heard it all before, and knew exactly what was going to happen next.


The Bride Fair (Harlequin Historical, No. 603)
The Bride Fair (Harlequin Historical, No. 603)
Author: Cheryl Reavis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This was a well-written, easy read about the Reconstruction South. If you just can't read another Regency romance, give it a try...

The heroine is living with her dad, taking care of him, and they are providing a room to the Union army colonel who is in charge of the town. She is concealing a pregnancy, and hates Yankees. He has his own ghosts, as he was formerly incarcerated at the Confederate prison nearby. As you might guess, romance ensues.


Calm My Anxious Heart: A Woman's Guide to Contentment
Calm My Anxious Heart: A Woman's Guide to Contentment
Author: Linda Dillow
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/10/2010


I was looking for something to help with anxiety, maybe some daily positive affirmations, reassurance, etc. Instead, this CD focused primarily on being contented with what you have, gratitude, etc. And, at least as I experienced it, the tone was not comforting, but instead guilt-producing. After a couple of chapters what I was hearing was that if I was anxious or discontent in any way I was probably a bad Christian and should stop that immediately. NOT good for the ol' anxiety, so I quit listening.

So, overall, this CD probably serves its purpose, but for me, it was really not what I needed.


Captive
Captive
Author: Brenda Joyce
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/28/2007
Helpful Score: 1


As usual, Brenda Joyce manages a historical romance in a unique setting, with lots of action & sexual tension. Loved the harem stuff!


1 to 20 of 152 - Page: