Regina (virgosun) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 516 - Page:
77 Shadow Street
77 Shadow Street
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 4/25/2014


Despite previous reviews, I thought this was very much a 'haunted house' story with other way-out-there paranormal elements thrown in. After reading complaints of too many characters generating confusion, I went into the story making a list of the characters and their distinguishing traits to keep me sorted. I also referred to the handy floor plan to follow along. Even so, I didn't feel that pulled me outside of the story but rather enhanced it. I was swept away, creeped out, and went sleepless a couple of nights; all signs of an enthralling tale. My only disappointment was the final scientific explanation that took the shine off an otherwise spine-tingling and unearthly novel. 4 stars.


The Accidental Countess (Once Upon an Accident, Bk 1)
The Accidental Countess (Once Upon an Accident, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa Schroeder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 6/2/2012


At first, there's a lot of push and pull between Sebastian and Colleen since neither one wanted to be married period, and not just with each other. But as in the way with romance, once they learned more about the other, they easily fell in love. I liked the natural progression of that. The mystery of who was trying to kill off Sebastian and his line was a little predictable and contrived, but it's not so bothersome. I still saw how it brought the couple closer together. And, of course, the heated love scenes were a definite plus. The ending was a little abrupt, but this was still a sweet romance. 3.5 stars.


The Admiral's Penniless Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 1025)
The Admiral's Penniless Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 1025)
Author: Carla Kelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 9/22/2011


At first, this story seemed agonizingly slow. Sophia and Charles (the Admiral) truly meant to stick to a marriage of convenience so things were a little stilted at first. They were absorbing characters, but I could see how their banter, although sometimes overlong, was the author's way of them getting to know each other in a more average sort of way. It wasn't until more than halfway through that the story really started to pick up where I could see and feel their emotional investment each contributed to the marriage. And then the waterworks began to flow and I could feel the anguish of being prematurely judged. Overall, it turned out to be a wonderful love story, albeit more subdued, almost quiet, but definitely a powerful testament to the healing balm of love, forgiveness, and second chances. 3.8 stars.


An Affair Before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses, Bk 2)
An Affair Before Christmas (Desperate Duchesses, Bk 2)
Author: Eloisa James
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 12/2/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I felt there were too many story lines as well, though I really liked Fletch and Poppy, in spite of Poppy's naivete and that their story really didn't pick up until the last third of the book. Fletch was just precious! Still a very good work by E. James - she's still one of my favorites!


Alaska Bride On the Run (Harlequin Historical, No 999)
Alaska Bride On the Run (Harlequin Historical, No 999)
Author: Kate Bridges
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 8/10/2010


3 stars. Sweet, but unexceptional.


Algebra and Trigonometry: Structure and Method-Book 2
Algebra and Trigonometry: Structure and Method-Book 2
Author: Richard Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/23/2007


My sons loved this book! They were both able to follow the material through self-instruction (homeschooled) with minimal outside tutoring.


All About Seduction
All About Seduction
Author: Katy Madison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/2/2015


Very good read. Original plot; Caroline, in a loveless and childless marriage of 15 years to an old man is forced to have an affair for the sole purpose of begetting an heir for her husband's mill business. Jack, a mill worker, has loved her from afar for years. Unfortunately, his ambitious plans are sabotaged by his leechy family while he recovers from a horrendous mill accident. Jack and Caroline face many obstacles together, first of which is the real danger of their growing attraction, but they eventually find their HEA in a very satisfying way. A solid 4 stars.


All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue (Debutante Files, Bk 2)
All the Ways to Ruin a Rogue (Debutante Files, Bk 2)
Author: Sophie Jordan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/10/2015


I always eagerly anticipate a Sophie Jordan release, more so since a lost copy forced me to wait for a replacement. I began reading with a full smile, but then the story lost much of its shine, and I have to admit that I ultimately wrestled with rating this one.

The tale began as an unrequited love theme (one of my favs), which normally stirs up all kinds of personal conflict and opportunities for gut-punch emotion. Before long, though, this one left a weird taste in my mouth because the lead couple dragged out their antagonism for far too long. Their problems began when teen Aurelia, crushed after spying Max in a compromising situation, vents her disillusionment and hate onto paper with disastrous consequences. Believing she betrayed their friendship, Max, therefore, turned his back on her. When the story picked up briefly seven years later, and then a year after that, the motivation became enemies-to-lovers. Their early friendship was still in shreds, they were barely civil, bitter, and constantly snapping at each other. As teens, their childish behaviors were predictable, even understandable; however, as adults these are very tiresome.

I am not a fan of enemies to lovers, nor do I like reading romances where the main couple argues and tries to best the other, and, as in this case, often cruel about it. Am I really supposed to believe that they even liked each other, that Aurelia never stopped loving Max? Besides, Max was a randy goat and a womanizer. Thinking he could treat Aurelia as a constant one-night stand, using her for his sexual gratification, did not endear him to me. This was one of the few instances where the love scenes didn't feel so lovely. Also, I cringed a little when he used the "it's not you, it's me" line. Yuk. Subsequent events snowball quickly though a little too conveniently and not altogether convincing.

The second in the Debutante Files series is disappointing, so let this not be your introduction to Jordan. She has others that are much better and more satisfying (Wicked In Your Arms, Lessons From a Scandalous Bride). Too bad the unrequited love angle didn't angle toward another, less acrimonious, path.


An American in Scotland (MacIain, Bk 3)
An American in Scotland (MacIain, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Ranney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/27/2016


Jumped in with book 3 in series, and it's one awesomely adventurous story featuring several different settings: the meet-up in Scotland, a sea voyage across the Atlantic, slipping through the Union blockade into Charleston, and life on a cotton plantation; all well developed and equally engrossing. There was a nice balance of heartfelt romance, excitement, and danger without any yanking you out of the story. A great genealogical slant as well. Highly entertaining and recommended at 4.5 stars.


And the Trees Crept In
And the Trees Crept In
Author: Dawn Kurtagich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/25/2016


Surprisingly, this little gem of horror twists about in unforeseen ways, addressing underlying and wholly undetected issues all wrapped up in a nightmarish world. I didn't even see it coming. Riveting and enthusiastically recommended at 4 stars.


The Arrangement (Survivors' Club, Bk 2)
The Arrangement (Survivors' Club, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 9/11/2013
Helpful Score: 3


Another sweet, and tame, romance that borders on the dull. If you are looking for a passionate love story, this is not it. The character development, on the other hand, was well done and I especially liked Sophie's talent for quirky caricatures. Vincent and Sophie got on really well together but their romance didn't do anything for me. Yes, Vincent came to her rescue, twice, and that was sweet. But their romance was lackluster, somewhat like snuggling with a familiar blanket. 3 stars.


The Art of Duke Hunting (Royal Entourage, Bk 2)
The Art of Duke Hunting (Royal Entourage, Bk 2)
Author: Sophia Nash
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 4/23/2012
Helpful Score: 3


This story was at best annoying and at worst frustrating, yet it was sprinkled periodically with poignant scenes. How does an author make this work? She doesn't; it just turns out to be a rather average tale. It's a strange chemistry. Esme and Roman worked, but why do their best parts always have to be at the end? What didn't work for me was the overused curse plot that surrounds Roman's family. And this story was built entirely around this curse. It colored everything Roman did and felt and believed in. It made their marriage of convenience frustrating when it was obvious they could have really made a go of it. Esme's part in the curse felt thrown in, and when she finally made the big reveal, it was immaterial at that point. The ending was rather lukewarm, but at least certain facts about Roman's family were explained. Ultimately, I was able to finish this story, unlike the first one (The Duke and the Deep Blue Sea). However, it was far from satisfying. For me it was a lackluster 3 stars.


The Art of Sinning (Sinful Suitors, Bk 1)
The Art of Sinning (Sinful Suitors, Bk 1)
Author: Sabrina Jeffries
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 8/23/2015


With every first novel of a new series, I always am optimistic for an out of the ballpark experience, especially when the author is a bestselling fan favorite. Even more so when said series reintroduces compelling characters from a previous one. In The Art of Sinning, American Jeremy Keane, artist extraordinaire, gets his chance at love with his muse, Lady Yvette Barlow.

While enjoyable, it fell way short of my expectations. Jeremy and Yvette was a fine couple, but their romance rather skimmed the surface of what could have been a great love affair. Their insecurities and misconceptions about themselves is what grabbed me most; Yvette believed she was too plain, too big (of course, being a good hero Jeremy thinks she's beautiful), and Jeremy was convinced he made unsuitable husband material. Of course, for him this stemmed from his big secret: a previous marriage that ended badly and resulted in a family estrangement.

The big surprise, however, was the true meaning behind the painting (one that Yvette secretly posed for) which was Jeremy's subconscious on canvas. While it caused a flurry of misunderstandings, in keeping with good hero fashion, he made a quick scramble to make things right with Yvette.

As I said, The Art of Sinning was enjoyable but hardly a keeper. It could have been great, but it just wasn't--at least for me. I wanted more depth, less fluff. Pass this one on to your friend and hope for a more satisfying round of adventure with the second installment in the Sinful Suitors series.


As You Are
As You Are
Author: Sarah M. Eden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/5/2014


Wonderful, wonderful! I was half afraid this would be a christian romance because that's not my sort of thing, and I'm so happy it wasn't. This regency story was so good I was hooked from the first pages all the way through to the end. Corbin was the strong yet silent type of hero and painfully shy. Clara was an abused woman in hiding with her children. Watching Corbin struggle to get noticed by Clara was equally painful and endearing. I was cheering for him all the way. Clara endured abuse most of her life and her distrust of men was ingrained. Yet by the time she finally turns to Corbin when she needs rescuing, her utter trust in him is gratifying and moving. I usually prefer very sensual romances, and although this story was as chaste as a cloistered nun, I simply didn't care. The storytelling trumped all else. Highly recommended at 4.5 stars.


Awakening His Duchess
Awakening His Duchess
Author: Katy Madison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/15/2014


Four stars for originality; Saint-Domingue and the horrors of the slave rebellion, witch doctor spells, an aristocratic hero buried alive and turned slave. But it doesn't stop there; the star crossed lovers must endure their own subsequent hardships and are eventually reunited half a world away to work through their mistrust, suspicions, and soul-breaking loss. The story glossed over some of the secondary characters, and I would have liked to have seen more romance between Yvette and Beau, but given their history their portrayals were realistic. A well-written and intriguing story that I enthusiastically recommend.


The Bad Luck Bride
The Bad Luck Bride
Author: Jane Goodger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/24/2017


I'm hooked on the St. Ives Brides!
A sure delight for romance readers who devour secret loves and jilted brides! If you're looking to be swept away by passion, enjoy a bit of murder mystery on the side, and appealing characters all wrapped up in the lush seaside town of beautiful Cornwall (Can I just move there?), then make Alice and Henderson's story your next read. 4 stars.


Be My Prince (Royal, Bk 1)
Be My Prince (Royal, Bk 1)
Author: Julianne MacLean
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/4/2012


A quick-paced and entertaining read. This story could have easily been bogged down with convoluted plots to overthrow the royal family or with chapters of back story. Thankfully, the author revealed just enough for me to get the picture on what motivated the characters and to propel the story along smoothly. Because of their instant attraction, Alexandra and Randolph's romance was quick to take off. I love it when the hero is convinced early on that he wants to marry his lady; I find it incredibly romantic. However, their secrets, when revealed, created serious roadblocks into their relationship, which caused Randolph's trust issues to come to a head. Alex was quick to understand why Randolf lied, but he frustrated me that he was not easily convinced of her loyalty when it was obvious to me that she loved him.

Ultimately, enemies were flushed out, and even though not all issues were explained, it set the stage for the next in series with Rose's story. By My Prince is an enjoyable, refreshing, and satisfying tale. I happily rate it 4.5 stars.


The Beast of Clan Kincaid (Highland Warrior, Bk 1)
The Beast of Clan Kincaid (Highland Warrior, Bk 1)
Author: Lily Blackwood
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/26/2016


Compelling beginning of a new Highlander series featuring brothers who were separated by family tragedy and a heartfelt romance between Niall, the Kincaid laird seeking retribution and Elspeth, the daughter of the clan leader who stole Niall's birthright. Wonderful reading!


Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper, Bk 1)
Beauty and the Clockwork Beast (Steampunk Proper, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Campbell Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/29/2017


Steampunk Proper Romance--what the heck is that? Nor am I keen on shifters or vampires, but I am a fan of Allen's historical romances so I just jumped in. You should, too, because this is one spellbinding story that offers a unique twist on the Victorian age and cool gadgets, a terrifying ghost, an intelligent heroine, a broken hero, murder, romance--wow! I never thought that this combo could work but Allen proves otherwise. I loved it! 5 stars.


The Bedding Proposal (Rakes of Cavendish Square, Bk 1)
The Bedding Proposal (Rakes of Cavendish Square, Bk 1)
Author: Tracy Anne Warren
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/8/2015


I was a little hesitant to read the first in the Rakes of Cavendish Square series because I really wasn't in the mood for another bored young aristocrat looking for a little womanly distraction, which proves that even this seasoned romance junkie can occasionally sum it up wrong.

The Bedding Proposal is made of the stuff all romance readers crave. Let's review the checklist:

Is it romantic? Leo spends a lot of time in hot and heavy pursuit of Thalia, so yeah, check.
Is it sexy? Absolutely, and it's graphic enough to make you pant.
Are there any bad guys ready to stir up trouble? Definitely; a nasty ex-husband holding all the cards (I could relate).
Does the hero prove his mettle? Leo has an opportunity to defend his ladylove, which had my eyes glued to the pages.
Does it have any secrets that could nip a budding relationship if revealed? You betcha. But then every good romance should have at least one salacious secret hovering in the sidelines.

***Read my full review at www.devourthatbook.com***


1 to 20 of 516 - Page: